We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
11 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$446
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/18/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$446
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/18/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$353
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/19/22
eDreams$446
Booking.com$446
Orbitz.com$446
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2875)
Pool & Beach (735)
Room & Suite (300)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Embudu Village
Updated 10/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Embudu Village Situated in South Male’ Atoll, it takes 20 minutes’ speedboat ride from Velana International Airport to reach the island. This simple yet naturally beautiful private island is 3 km long and takes about 20 minutes to walk from one end to the other. Blessed with a beautiful white sandy beach, the island itself is an idyllic natural hideaway, with lush tropical vegetation and opal white beaches which can be considered as one of the most affordable resorts to enjoy the natural beauty of the Maldives. The hotel features beautiful 122 cozy rooms including Beach Bungalows and Water Villas. Being one of the first resorts in the Maldives, Embudu is famous for its stunning house reef and spectacular world class dive sites which 35 of them are in close proximity. Rays, sharks, turtles, morays and many other amazing creatures can be found in the house reef alone. With some of the most experienced dive instructors in the industry; Diverland – Embudu offers extensive range of scuba
Read more
Property amenities
Internet
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Spa
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Billiards
Darts
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, German
1221Reviews222Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 647
  • 442
  • 98
  • 22
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ralf R wrote a review Oct 16
1 contribution
We stayed in Embudhu Village for 7 nights just to dive. We had a bungalow and that was nice and clean although the bathroom was rather small but still a reasonable size. Our flight left in the night. We had to clear out bungalow in the morning at 09:30 but the hotel gave us another free bungalow for the day until the last transfer left at quarter to five. The buffet was more then enough and great but the quality of the meat varies from day to day and was not always to our taste. The quality of the all inclusive long drinks and liqueur is only on a all-inclusive-average level. So in our view it doesn't make sense to book all-inclusive. The staff at the diving center is very friendly and helpful. They even close the site in the evening depending when the last divers are coming back from the reef. The rates for six days are rather high compared to other dive sites, e.g. in Thailand. There is an offer to have the second week for free which is a fair offer than. So we would recommend staying for at least 10-12 days to make use of that offer. We did 17 dives and did not have the feeling we have seen close to everything around the atoll. From very tiny things up to turtles, reef sharks, eagle and manta rays we saw all sizes at the reef. There was a lot of plankton in the water limiting the visibility but attracting a lot of fish. There are usually two half day boat tours each day. As mentioned we did not try these as we were busy at the reef and cannot comment on them. The dive sites does not offer tea or other beverages as we are used to by others. But that may be due to the fact that most divers are all-inclusive guests. We can imagine to come back when we have seen other spots on our list. But as mentioned we would recommend to stay two weeks to have a relaxed Diving experience and make use of the second week offer.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't book All inclusive and stay for at least 12 days
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ralf We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing a beautiful feedback regarding your recent stay. We continuously strive to ensure all our guests have a remarkable experience with us and beautiful Embudu memories. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to know that you had wonderful experience with us at our beautiful resort with its tranquil atmosphere and greenery. The natural beauty significantly contributes to the charm of our property, we are also happy to know that you had amazing snorkeling and Diving experience in our beautiful house reef around the island with its rich marine life. Furthermore, we are truly happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations in regards to hospitality, service and the food quality as we as staff friendliness. Our aim is to ensure that our guests are always given the best care and comfort they deserve. We cannot thank you enough for your very kind words and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Natalia B wrote a review Sep 2021
Moscow, Russia33 contributions19 helpful votes
We are now resting on Embudu for 10 days, in a water house, number 406. In January we liked the rest and diving, so we decided to return in September. There was no compliment to the cohabitation. In general, we were satisfied with the rest, but I want to draw the attention of the hotel management to a number of points. Unfortunately, we see that the monitoring of the island has become worse. I am attaching a photo of the undocked pipe on the walkway leading to the water numbers 409-412, from which water is constantly gushing. We approached the hotel staff, paid attention to this, no reaction. The water bungalow itself is very old and not followed. There are large cracks in the doorway in the room. The plumbing is in poor condition. In the refrigerator, the holders on the refrigerator door were broken, the umbrella and flashlight were broken, they were replaced at our request. The water pressure is weak, there is always a lot of water on the floor after taking a shower, the bathroom design is poor. In January we were in an improved superior, this room was much cheaper, but newer at the same time. Disappointed this time by the diving center. Up to 30 divers gather on the boat, it is very uncomfortable, such a crowd of people is dangerous during a pandemic. The boat is not washed, all in the sand, the divers themselves are trying to put things in order, after the dive they do not offer any more coconut, as it was before, it would be nice for divers, they have to put on a cylinder on their own, since there are a lot of divers and very few staff. The quality of the dive itself suffers as there are so many divers on the dive at the same time. I also noticed that it became worse to clean the island itself, a lot of withered foliage, and they do not remove pieces of coral from the beach. Room cleaning has also become superficial, compared to January, towels are changed, often without reporting them, bed linen is almost not changed, the floors are not swept well. On the eastern spit there are sun loungers with torn mattresses and a broken umbrella. Also near the lagoon you can see that in some places there are no umbrellas. The food remained good. This makes me happy. Only the first half of our stay had very little fruit and a very meager selection of fresh vegetables. The service in the restaurant and bar is good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Natalia We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us again at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We absolutely value and appreciate your feedback as it helps to evaluate what is important for our guests. We are disappointed to hear that in some areas we were not able to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience that you faced during your stay. This situation you had mentioned is not the usual standard of service that we provide to our guest. We strive to ensure that every guest is provided with the best possible service and remarkable experience with us. We are committed to achieving maximum guest satisfaction and appreciate comments such as yours. Please be assured your feedback is important to us and has been highlighted to our Team for further action and improvement. Once again please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We will surely work towards improving your experience during your next visit. Allow us the opportunity to serve you again. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Dhananjeyan wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Such a nice island... Very near from the male airport. They gave a very good discount in speedboat transfer fee... In shallow water - we had seen sharks and other fishes.. Good for snorkeling.. Saw plenty of fishes and the guy who took us for stingray snorkeling was awesome and he helped us a lot.. Food was good... Limited menus for Indians. But overall food is good.. Spacious rooms with good view to the beach. Have not seen smile in waiters face. They guy in diving center is not that helpful person. Guys in the reception are good and very helpful and responsive
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Suggest to experience both -- Water villa and Beach bungalow..
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Dear Guest We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing a lovely feedback regarding your recent stay We are delighted to know that overall you had great stay experience with us and enjoyed our beautiful resort with its tranquil atmosphere and the natural beauty. We are also happy to know that you were satisfied with location, facilities and the accommodation. it is also great to know that you had an amazing snorkeling experience in our beautiful house reef around the island with rich marine life. On the other note we thank you for sharing your concerns. We are committed to making a difference every day, and appreciate comments such as yours. Please be assured your feedback is important to us and has been highlighted to our Team for further improvement. Once again thank you for your feedback. And look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Adam K wrote a review Sep 2021
12 contributions11 helpful votes
My review for Embudu village is based on what I wanted to read, something for those who come with a real interest in seeing fish and enjoying the natural world, from beginners (people with little swimming experience) to fully comfortable divers. In short, this island has it for ALL levels. I feel this is important as I was looking for the same thing for my partner who had little swimming confidence/ experience. Embudu is surrounded by a fantastic house reef which on the outside can be quite deep, but on the inside of the reef you can be swimming in knee deep water and still effortlessly see unimaginable amounts of tropical reef fish of all colours and varieties. If your confidence isn’t high then you can easily start in the shallow pools and gradually get deeper to 1 meter+ without taking much risk (n.b: always be careful underwater and get advice from dive school where necessary). There are multiple external trips to see stingrays, nurse sharks (Wow!), turtles etc that will simply blow your mind. Not all trips are for beginners, but the right guide will ensure you are safe. An example of this would be the trip to stingray city in which my (by now fairly confident) partner was able to wear a lifejacket and hold onto the rope attached to the boat and she had exactly the same wonderful experience as I did. For more experienced swimmers and divers, the outer reef offers many hours of opportunities to swim with turtles, rays, sharks, morays, and much, much more. Guides snorkeling and diving tours are available for all levels with Diverland, the onsite dive company, and are super helpful with any form of advice. There are soo many great dive sites within close proximity so divers will be very well looked after. My advice for all would be to have a look at the trips available at the beginning of your stay to see what interests you, whether it be dolphins watching, fishing, snorkelling etc as there may only be one of each activity per week, so it’s best to get an understanding of what’s available before the week disappears whilst you’re enjoying the sunshine. Tip: best to buy a reasonably priced snorkelling set before you travel to save a few dollars when you arrive. As for the island itself, this is my third time and I love it. If you want 5 star and are the sort of person who would complain about soup being 2 degrees cooler than ordered, then perhaps it’s not the place for you. It is a very relaxed, friendly environment where people can unwind, enjoy the privilege of being in the Maldives and just let their hair down. It has a wonderful informal vibe, yet the staff are brilliant, everything is clean and you can’t really ask for much more. The beach bungalows are all a very comfortable in size, well air conditioned and, I guess, at no point is accommodation more than about 10-15m from the beach and the wifi was better and more reliable than expected. Buffet Food options were slightly reduced compared to last time but this changed as the week went on. I later realised that Covid protocols have affected numbers of guests on islands and food quantity will have probably been adjusted accordingly. This is changing now as I believe they have switched to full occupancy. Either way, so much variety and I was very happy! Final point, this is the first time I have been in monsoon so didn’t know what to expect. The truth is that the weather during monsoons doesn’t have a schedule so you may find yourself running for shelter from the rain, however this didn’t generally last more than 10 mins at a time and about 90% of our holiday last week was dry.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Dear Adam We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us again at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing a lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. We continuously strive to ensure all our guests have a remarkable experience with us and beautiful Embudu memories as always. We are delighted to know that you had fantastic stay experience with us again and enjoyed our beautiful resort with its tranquil atmosphere and amazing house reef around the island with its rich marine life. Furthermore, we are truly happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations in regards to hospitality, service and staff friendliness as we as Covid safety measures that we have taken. Thank you for your kind words and compliments shared towards our property and team’s exceptional service. Our team is highly motivated to accommodate the needs of our valuable guests, such as yourself, with the utmost care and services rendered straight from their heart. Our aim is to ensure that our guests are always given the best care and comfort they deserve. We are truly happy to know that you had a joyful experience with us. And look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Yavanika Badri wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Best resort!! Everything is on point! Abundant number of fishes, baby sharks and a Stingray were seen surrounding our water villa. Food is really delicious ( Better than the 5 star resort I ve been to previously).Staff are really polite and keep the island very clean. A nearby spot called Stingray city is one of the best things my eyes has ever seen!! Safety measures were taken very strictly on the island. Corals around the islands have plenty of sealife if you want to scubadive/snorkel. They also have excursions like dolphin cruise, island hopping and night fishing. You must experience one of them atleast! They even have badminton, volleyball and some other games to play. Overall a really good experience ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Dear Guest We were honored to have you stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and thank you so much for sharing a beautiful feedback regarding your recent stay. We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories. We are extremely happy to know that our team was able to deliver you a great hospitality and excellent service by going above and beyond your expectations by providing you the best care and attention which made you stay one of the best holidays ever. Our top priority is the wellbeing of our guests and team members, by ensuring the most effective hygiene and safety measures are in place across all areas of the resort to face during these challenging times. Furthermore, we greatly appreciate your comments regarding the quality and variety of our food provided by our team of talented chefs. it is also great to know that you had an amazing snorkeling experience in our beautiful house reef around the island with rich marine life. Thank you for your kind words and compliments shared towards our hospitality and team’s exceptional service. We are very much committed to serving our guest with sincerity, care and passion in order to ensure that each guest has a memorable stay experience with us.guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that. Once again thank you for your kind words. it was certainly our pleasure to take care of you during your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$199 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
embudu village hotel emboodhu finolhu, embudu village male, embudu village hotel male
LOCATION
MaldivesKaafu AtollSouth Male AtollEmbudu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Embudu Village
What are some of the property amenities at Embudu Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Embudu Village?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Embudu Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kinkao Thai Bistro, Kebab & Kurry Maldives, and Hard Rock Cafe Maldives.
Does Embudu Village have airport transportation?
Yes, Embudu Village offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Embudu Village located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.02 miles away from the center of Embudu.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Embudu Village?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Embudu Village?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mulee Aage (6.5 miles).
Does Embudu Village have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.