We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Destinia.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2818)
Pool & Beach (735)
Room & Suite (300)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Updated 10/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Embudu Village
Updated 10/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Embudu Village Situated in South Male’ Atoll, it takes 20 minutes’ speedboat ride from Velana International Airport to reach the island. This simple yet naturally beautiful private island is 3 km long and takes about 20 minutes to walk from one end to the other. Blessed with a beautiful white sandy beach, the island itself is an idyllic natural hideaway, with lush tropical vegetation and opal white beaches which can be considered as one of the most affordable resorts to enjoy the natural beauty of the Maldives. The hotel features beautiful 122 cozy rooms including Beach Bungalows and Water Villas. Being one of the first resorts in the Maldives, Embudu is famous for its stunning house reef and spectacular world class dive sites which 35 of them are in close proximity. Rays, sharks, turtles, morays and many other amazing creatures can be found in the house reef alone. With some of the most experienced dive instructors in the industry; Diverland – Embudu offers extensive range of scuba
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Internet
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Spa
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Billiards
Darts
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, German
1199Reviews216Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 632
  • 439
  • 95
  • 22
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AdeleBecker wrote a review May 2021
New York City, New York11 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice and very simple. Laid-back and relaxing. I liked the vibe of the island a lot ( reminds me my old backpack travels so South Asia) The food was simple, authentic and tasty ( but the gap between lunch and dinner time is huge, and it’s honestly not any options to eat something there other then in the bar, and honestly it’s not good). The reef is fantastic, diving is cheap, the resort is super close to Male which is definitely great thing especially after we arrived from 1 hour flight away resort). So main things which are problematic personally for me. Everywhere are ashtrays, a lot of people smoking around you any time day and night, no coffee machine on the island ( supposed to be one in the bar but it’s broken and nobody tried to fix it for so long). Very slow wifi and no TV at least Synthetic beddings could be the problem , especially if you have sensitive skin or any problem with synthetic, no music on the island ( it will be so wonderful to add some music to the restaurant area), and there is no woman who is working in resort ( I havent seen any) , only guys everywhere. What could be little bit uncomfortable for women in my opinion. Other then that everything is good, especially for low prices and kind and warm ppl who work there. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Adelebecker We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We absolutely value and appreciate your feedback as it helps to evaluate on what is important for our guests. We are delighted to know that overall you had a great stay with us and loved our beautiful resort with its tranquil atmosphere and natural beauty of the island. We are also happy to know that you have enjoyed snorkeling and Diving in our beautiful house reef around the island with rich marine life. On the other note we regret to hear that in some areas were unable to live up your expectations during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenient caused. We are committed to making a difference every day, and appreciate comments such as yours. Please be assured your feedback is important to us and has been highlighted to our Team for further action and improv of our services. We thank you once again for your feedback. We will surely work towards improving your experience during your next visit. Allow us the opportunity to serve you again. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Double-L-Dizzle wrote a review May 2021
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo15 contributions26 helpful votes
The main advantage of this hotel is that from a marine life perspective its second to none, you really can see pretty much everything there in the house reef, I've seen more here than anywhere else. Its also very laid back, natural and rustic, in a way feels more real than the finely manicured 5 star resorts. The other advantages that I can see are that its only about 15 mins from Male to very easy to access and finally that the price is very reasonable when compared to higher star resorts. One other thing I was really impressive was how quick the resort were to respond to emails in advance of the stay and how helpful they were. Finally we had some specific requests and the hotel took these into account. This is a lot more than I can say for other resorts I've dealt with... I think it was a mistake to stay at a 5-star resort first, which we did last year. The level of service and accommodation is very different. You don't really receive an enthusiastic welcome but I get that its kind of the concept of the island; laid back with a rustic feel. While I wasn't bothered, my wife was alarmed by the no. of ants in the room, maybe we were unlucky. What was an issue for all of us were the no. of mosquitos biting throughout the day not only at night. While I understand that the resort is trying to keep a rustic vibe going, it might be worth doing some fogging if possible as these beasts prevented us from relaxing in the hammocks/sunbeds outside of the villas. I dont know how this would affect other wildlife on the island but the higher end resorts do it. My other suggestion would be to have some chill out music in the dining area, it was somewhat lacking in atmosphere. Other than that nice resort.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guests We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We continuously strive to ensure all our guests have a remarkable experience with us and beautiful Embudu memories. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to know that you had wonderful experience with us at our beautiful resort with its tranquil atmosphere and greenery. The natural beauty significantly contributes to the charm of our property, making it an oasis of peace and serenity. We are also happy to know that you had amazing snorkeling experience in our beautiful house reef around the island with its rich marine life. Furthermore, we thank you for your kind words and compliments shared towards our property and team’s exceptional service. Our team is highly motivated to accommodate the needs of our valuable guests, such as yourself, with the utmost care and services rendered straight from their heart. Our aim is to ensure that our guests are always given the best care and comfort they deserve. Thank you for sharing your concerns and suggestions. We regret to hear that you have encountered some difficulties from ants & mosquitos. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I have shared to our team and will certainly assist us to improve our services. We are truly happy to know that you had a joyful stay with us. And we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
ancksha86 wrote a review May 2021
Carinthia Region, Slovenia6 contributions4 helpful votes
Čute Little Island with own house reef close to Male. There are variety od species to be spotted there: many fish, turtles, sharks, stingrays, even whale Shark was spotted very nearby. No need for any shoes in this island as the sand is super soft. Especially great were our table waiter Moosa and Room boy (bungalow 29). With both we had chats in fluent english and they did their job relly great! Moosa cleared the table with super speed, remembered our names and morning coffee preference, and the room boy tolerated well our mess and made it sparkling again. The food is good, although there were some meals where only fish was available, no other meat options. I would add fresh fruit to every meal (many things are canned). Covid-19 measures are strict, so self service is actually "one points, waiter /cook gives". I would recommend the hotel management to ban the gloves and rather reinforce strict hands desinfections as gloves loose their ability to prevent microbe spread, especially when hands are sweaty (pretty much from all the staff, and it is difficult to watch), so gloves are actually useless in this case. (I am a doctor and speak from hospital experience)! Also visirs could equally safe be replaced with glasses!! Superior beach bungalows have big nice bathroom and a very cold aircon. Only problem - all our neighbours smoked outside and the smoke entered bedroom quickly. Massages good but a bit pricy. Big minus: the beer is waaaaaay too expensive. I didnt buy any (9usd). If the price was e.g. 4 usd, it would be acceptable. Bring own water. A bottle is 3 USD (9 bottles in Male are 5USD). Younger 1 L per dat per person. Another warning: beware in what currency you will be charged. In my case if the conversion from USD is made by the hotel, it would cost 406EUR, but my bank charged me only 376EUR. So always state you want to pay in USD. They dont ask, they automatically convert and take provision. Also we went for a fishing trip, which was nice, we caught 4 big fish and a shark which was let go ofcourse. The fish were prepared for dinner next day and were very good. BUT: We were 2 adults and 2 kids. As we showed up at the reception, the guy told us we will be charged for 4 adults as we are the only participants. I protested and thereafter they charged us as stated in pricelist. Friends of ours showed up with a voucher paid more than 2 weeks prior to their arrival. On their arrival they stated they never received the money. After double checking, it turned out they did.. So these financial transactions that try to make a fool out of a guest werent leaving any good impression. Except for that it was nice!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to know that overall you had great experience with us and enjoyed our beautiful resort with its tranquil atmosphere and amazing house reef around the island with its rich marine life. We are also happy to know that you are satisfied with the services, staff friendliness and Covid safety measures taken by the hotel. Thank you for sharing your concerns & suggestions. Please accept our sincere apologies any inconveniences that you faced during your stay. We are very saddened that you have left with such a negative impression of our services. We are committed to achieve maximum guest satisfaction.Please be assured your feedback is important to us and has been highlighted to our Team for further improvement. With regards to the price of beer, we sell a beer 4 - 5$ maximum. Not for 9$ Also price of beverage menu are display at the bar counter. With regards the card payment there is option to pay in US Dollar or Euro and before we collect the card payment we always ask the guest to select currency which they prefer to pay in U$ dollar or Euro and we collect the payment according to the guest wish. With regards to payment of your friends. We received their booking through online. As per hotel policy guest must pay upon arrival or hotel must receive the payment prior to arrival of the guest. Guest is correct. They had paid to the Travel agent, but the travel agent did not do the payment until guest arrive to the hotel. After we make several calls agent did the payment. Once again thank you for your feedback. Our aim is to ensure that our guests are always given the best care and the comfort they deserve. We will surely work towards improving your experience during your next visit. Allow us the opportunity to serve you again. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Zoltán wrote a review May 2021
Prague, Czech Republic11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I have stayed for 6 days recently on magnificent Embudu island, it has been an unforgettable and awesome vacation! Embudu Village is a beautiful authentic hotel with outstanding facilities. The whole island is kept clean all the time, the staff is very helpful, polite and attentive to the smallest details. I felt personal attention to my needs all the time. The room is cleaned every day, there is drinking water prepared every day, the park and the beaches are also neat and tidy. Gardeners were so nice and selfless as they offered me fresh coconut. Meals are rich, diverse and tasteful. Service is outstanding, staff at the reception, in the restaurant as well as in the bar is very professional. The cocktails are wonderful! The view from the sunset terrace is magnificent. The house reef is well taken care of, I have seen many different species including octopusses and baby sharks. Covid regulations are observed but not disturbingly, the PCR test has been done professionally too. Overall, an unforgettable experience, thank you Embudu Village for making my Maldives holiday truly amazing and wonderful!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded May 11, 2021
Dear Zoltan We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing a lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. We continuously strive to ensure all our guests have a remarkable experience with us and beautiful Embudu memories. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to know that you had unforgettable experience with us at our beautiful resort with its tranquil atmosphere and the natural beauty. Furthermore we are truly happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations in regards to hospitality, service, cleanliness and the quality and variety of food provided by our team of talented chefs. Thank you for your kind words and compliments shared towards our property and team’s exceptional service. Our team is highly motivated to accommodate the needs of our valuable guests, such as yourself, with the utmost care and services rendered straight from their heart. Our aim is to ensure that our guests are always given the best care and comfort they deserve. We are truly happy to know that you had a joyful and memorable stay experience with us. It was certainly our pleasure to take care of you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Damjan B wrote a review May 2021
Ljubljana, Slovenia3 contributions2 helpful votes
At the arrival (on sunday) they tried to scam us, saying our accommodation is not paid by our travel agent and if we want to check-in we have to pay (despite paying to our travel agent). We called our travel agent who confirmed that the arrangement has been fully paid. The reef is poor, full of dead coral and lacking marine life. Lots of plastic waste in the water and on the beach. Food is bad, no fresh fruit beside water mellon and banana. Will never go again. Try to avoid!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded May 11, 2021
Dear Damjan We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We absolutely value and appreciate your feedback as it helps to evaluate on what is important for our guests. We regret to hear that in some areas were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenient caused. We are committed to achieving maximum guest satisfaction and appreciate comments such as yours. Please be assured your feedback is important to us and has been highlighted to our Team for further action and improve the quality of our services. Once again thank you for your feedback. We will surely work towards improving your experience during your next visit. Allow us the opportunity to serve you again. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$199 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
embudu village hotel emboodhu finolhu, embudu village male, embudu village hotel male
LOCATION
MaldivesKaafu AtollSouth Male AtollEmbudu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Embudu Village
What are some of the property amenities at Embudu Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Embudu Village?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Embudu Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kinkao Thai Bistro, Kebab & Kurry Maldives, and Café del Mar Maldives.
Does Embudu Village have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Embudu Village offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Embudu Village located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.02 miles away from the center of Embudu.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Embudu Village?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Embudu Village?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mulee Aage (6.5 miles).
Does Embudu Village have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.