Embudu Village

Embudu Village

Traveler (3772)
Pool & Beach (957)
Water Bungalow Aerial View
Room & Suite (377)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Embudu
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.4
Value
4.4
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Embudu Village Situated in South Male’ Atoll, it takes 20 minutes’ speedboat ride from Velana International Airport to reach the island. This simple yet naturally beautiful private island is 3 km long and takes about 20 minutes to walk from one end to the other. Blessed with a beautiful white sandy beach, the island itself is an idyllic natural hideaway, with lush tropical vegetation and opal white beaches which can be considered as one of the most affordable resorts to enjoy the natural beauty of the Maldives. The hotel features beautiful 122 cozy rooms including Beach Bungalows and Water Villas. Being one of the first resorts in the Maldives, Embudu is famous for its stunning house reef and spectacular world class dive sites which 35 of them are in close proximity. Rays, sharks, turtles, morays and many other amazing creatures can be found in the house reef alone. With some of the most experienced dive instructors in the industry; Diverland – Embudu offers extensive range of scuba
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Spa
Baggage storage
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Billiards
Darts
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, German
1,452Review259Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 809
  • 484
  • 117
  • 26
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DavidandDiane wrote a review Mar 2023
Liverpool. UK.17 contributions93 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Embudu is a wonderful place. We stayed in a superior beach bungalow on full board and it was simply perfect.

From the moment we boarded the speedboat transfer at Male we found the staff to be attentive, welcoming and helpful. Within less than an hour we were being welcomed onto Embudu and checking in.

Rooms are basic but were all we needed. A fridge, saferty deposit box, kettle, two free bottles of water per day. No TV unless you are in a water bungalow, but who cares? This is paradise, so no TV is required. The surroundings beat any TV screen. Rooms are attended every day by the staff to clean if required and deliver the days free water. The man who looked after us in room 82 was brilliant. A big thank you to him.

My partner and I had a massage at Serena Spa. That was beautifully relaxing. My masseur immediately identified a shoulder problem I've had for a while but didn't mention. She really worked on it and it eased up a lot afterwards. Thank you ladies. We would definitely recommend booking a session at Serena Spa. I think it was the first time I'd relaxed properly since 2017.

The food on offer at Embudu is lovely. Plenty of variety to suit pretty much all tastes. My partner is vegetarian and still found the variety on offer to be very good. Do say hello to the wonderful Mr. Narinjana in the food hall and bar areas if you stay on Embudu. He is one seriously welcoming man and a credit to the resort. Always smiling, always helpful, always kind, despite the fact I think he works 25 hours a day.

All the staff we encountered at Embudu were amazing. The lads in the main bar are a joy to be around. It's almost unfair to name just one, because they were all fantastic.

I'd suggest taking a torch with you to Embudu. Some areas can be a little dark at night when you are walking to and from the restaurant and bar areas. A torch is also good for shark spotting from the jetty at night. I took a basic hammock, the type made from parachute material and can be bought online for about £20. I put this up in the coconut trees and had an absolutely wonderful time relaxing there. Oh, also take a quality mosquito spray. Most people seemed unaffected, but I was bitten many times. Also don't get complacent with the suncream. I used factor 50 and I still got burnt when snorkelling. The sun there takes no prisoners. Talking about the sun; make sure you check out the sunset at least once while you are there. In the right conditions it's stunning.

The natural habitat on Embudu is beautiful. A nice variety of trees and plants. You'll see geckos and small iguanas on land, flying foxes (fruit bats) flying over at dusk and an absolute wonderland under the ocean if you take your snorkelling or diving equipment. There are all kinds of tropical fish, reef sharks, turtles, Moray eels, rays and a whole lot more. Although we didn't use the Dive Centre we spoke to others who did. There are some nice diving/snorkelling trips on offer and the Dive Centre has a good reputation.

It's worth saying that Embudu is not a pretentious Maldives resort. If you want butlers fawning all over you then Embudu is not for you. But if you want to stay on a beautiful island in paradise, with genuinely good, welcoming and professional staff. If you just want to relax with other laid back holiday makers then Embudu is simply perfect and could be right up your street.

We've been to some amazing places over the years, but our time at Embudu has been the best of them all.

Thank you to everyone at Embudu Village who helped make our time there so special. We'll never forget you or your beautiful corner of paradise.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Take mosquito spray, high factor sun cream. Maybe a torch for getting around after dark.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded Mar 31, 2023
Dear David It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and We truly cannot thank you enough for such a lovely review you have shared about your recent with us. It always motivates us when our guests appreciate the efforts made by our team to provide a pleasant and memorable experience during their stay. It gives us great joy to know that you were impressed with the tranquil atmosphere and the natural beauty of our beautiful resort. We are very happy to know that we were able to deliver the best hospitality and go above and beyond your expectations. We are also grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness in extending brilliant service to you. We greatly appreciate your comments regarding the hospitality, service standard and fantastic food and beverage choices. Creating awesome memories for all our guests with unique experiences is what we strive for and getting to know that we achieved that with you is very special. Your kind words of appreciation towards our team means a lot to all of us. It truly feels wonderful to receive such feedback from our guests. I have shared your encouraging feedback with our entire team. I can assure you that this will motivate all of us to strive further for creating fantastic experiences for all our guests. Once again thank you for your kind words towards our property & team exceptional service. We look forward to the pleasure of your continued more visits and assure you of our best attention at all times. Rasheed Reservations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcel B wrote a review Sep 2020
Chisinau, Moldova20 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is a 3 stars resort with minimum 4 stars amenities. Beautiful clean beaches, very comfortable rooms, extraordinary kitchen and amazing staff. Rooms were cleaned every day and every beach room has very easy acces to the beach ( 10 m ). Chef was amazing, he was cooking our favourite food every day and was very careful at every detail. Waiters were extremely friendly and very well trained. As we spent our vacation during Covid time, we felt very safe, staff non stop wearing mask and desinfection at the highest level. They made us a very sweet surprise as i had my birthday during this period. They were so careful, that they even put candles on the cake. They offer a lot of excursions. It is an amazing place for snorkeling: a lot of baby sharks, turtles and all kind of fishes that you can ever imagine. Island has a lot of secluded beaches which offer a lot of privacy, it is very green, you feel like you are in a jungle. Transfer was extremely cheap comparing to other resorts. Overall, we would highly recommend to everyone this unbelievable experience and for sure we will be back.
P.S : The best Indian food in our life 😍.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded Sep 17, 2020
Dear Guest We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing a fantastic review regarding your stay with us. It is wonderful to know that we were able to make your stay memorable from the time of you arrival until your departure. We are extremely happy to know that our team was able to deliver you a great hospitality and excellent service by going above and beyond your expectations by providing you the best care and attention which made your holiday the best experience ever. Also great to know that you liked the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. We also greatly appreciate your comments regarding the quality and variety of our food provided by our team of talented chefs. it is also great to know that you had a amazing snorkeling experience in our beautiful house reef around the island with rich marine life. We always try to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful Embudu memories. During the new normal our highest priority is to ensure health & safety of our guests. We have given Covid 19 training to all our employees to increase self-awareness and deliver the enhanced health and safety focused service with confidence to each and every guest and team members. We would like to thank you for your kind words of appreciation of Covid 19 prevention measures taken by the hotel. We are so grateful to receive your appreciative comments about the excellent service of our team which made your experience in the resort an extraordinary one. Thank you for your heartfelt recommendation. It is always our pleasure to have you as our valued guest and taking care of you. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay with us in the near future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isis Pérez wrote a review Oct 2020
Madrid, Spain9 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very worried about going on holiday in this pandemic time, but we found the best way to enjoy and be safe. First of all, to travel to Maldives you must have a negative PCR. Then in Embudu Village, they will take your temperature and you will have to fill in some forms. There is hand sanitizer in every area of the island. Guests have to wash their hands and use the hand sanitizer before entering the restaurant. The waiters and chefs wear face covers and face shields. You must wear a face cover to go to get the food. You never touch any food, the chefs will serve you. And the same with the drinks, the waiters will refill your drink.
There is social distancing between the tables in the restaurant.
The restaurant has amazing food, with a different theme every night. There is a plethora of dishes to choose and very nice desserts.
There are no crowds in Embudu, there is limited occupancy and you will be on your own in the beaches or walking around the island.
In the beautiful white beaches in Embudu you will find a relaxing place to stay, the light blue sea will call you to take a bath.
There are fantastic spots to snorkel, with a very rich reef and a incredibly animated Coral Garden. Unfortunately the corals are bleached because of the global warming but it won’t be a problem to see plenty of fishes, sharks, morays, stingrays, sea stars and all kind of amazing sea life.
If you find all of this attractive you have to meet the staff. They are for sure the best part of the island, they are always caring for you trying to make your stay the best as possible.
The F&B manager, Niranjana will take care of all your needs in the restaurant, always treating you with a smile and making you feel like you are in your own home.
Our waiter Thasleem, was very lovely and helpful.
And the chef Sarath Akila, a great professional, who cooks deliciously and give all his kindness in all what he makes.
I would highly recommend you Embudu Village if you are looking for a gorgeous and safe holidays, even in these hard times. I will come back to this paradise.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded Oct 11, 2020
Dear Guest. We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing an excellent feedback regarding you stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and make our guest feel at home while being away from home. And it is wonderful to know that we were able to make your stay memorable from the time of you arrival till your departure. We are always happy to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories. We are indeed happy to know that our amazing team were able to deliver you true welcome service and maintain the great care of you during your stay. We are delighted to know you had fabulous stay with us and enjoyed the excellent services, quality and variety of food provided by our talented chefs. We are grateful for your compliments towards our staffs, whose kindness and helpfulness in extending brilliant service to you.staffs are one of our hotel's greatest strengths and I promise to congratulate them all on behalf of you for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel.It is an honor for us to know that we were successful in reaching your expectations. We are happy to know that you had a fantastic snorkeling experience in our beautiful house reef around the island with amazing marine life, like turtle’s Manta rays and many more. During this pandemic time our highest priority is to ensure health & safety of our guests. We have given Covid 19 training to all our employees to increase self-awareness and deliver the enhanced health and safety focused service with confidence to each and every guest and team members. We would like to thank you for your kind words of appreciation of Covid 19 prevention measures taken by the hotel. We thank you for your kind words of appreciation on our hospitality and services.it was our pleasure to take care of you. Thank you for your heartfelt recommendation. It is always our pleasure to have you as our valued guest and taking care of you.We look forward to welcoming you back for another relax stay with us in the future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalia B wrote a review Sep 2021
Moscow, Russia41 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We are now resting on Embudu for 10 days, in a water house, number 406. In January we liked the rest and diving, so we decided to return in September. There was no compliment to the cohabitation. In general, we were satisfied with the rest, but I want to draw the attention of the hotel management to a number of points.

Unfortunately, we see that the monitoring of the island has become worse. I am attaching a photo of the undocked pipe on the walkway leading to the water numbers 409-412, from which water is constantly gushing. We approached the hotel staff, paid attention to this, no reaction.

The water bungalow itself is very old and not followed. There are large cracks in the doorway in the room. The plumbing is in poor condition. In the refrigerator, the holders on the refrigerator door were broken, the umbrella and flashlight were broken, they were replaced at our request. The water pressure is weak, there is always a lot of water on the floor after taking a shower, the bathroom design is poor. In January we were in an improved superior, this room was much cheaper, but newer at the same time.

Disappointed this time by the diving center. Up to 30 divers gather on the boat, it is very uncomfortable, such a crowd of people is dangerous during a pandemic. The boat is not washed, all in the sand, the divers themselves are trying to put things in order, after the dive they do not offer any more coconut, as it was before, it would be nice for divers, they have to put on a cylinder on their own, since there are a lot of divers and very few staff. The quality of the dive itself suffers as there are so many divers on the dive at the same time.

I also noticed that it became worse to clean the island itself, a lot of withered foliage, and they do not remove pieces of coral from the beach.

Room cleaning has also become superficial, compared to January, towels are changed, often without reporting them, bed linen is almost not changed, the floors are not swept well.

On the eastern spit there are sun loungers with torn mattresses and a broken umbrella. Also near the lagoon you can see that in some places there are no umbrellas.

The food remained good. This makes me happy. Only the first half of our stay had very little fruit and a very meager selection of fresh vegetables. The service in the restaurant and bar is good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded Sep 27, 2021
Dear Natalia We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us again at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We absolutely value and appreciate your feedback as it helps to evaluate what is important for our guests. We are disappointed to hear that in some areas we were not able to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience that you faced during your stay. This situation you had mentioned is not the usual standard of service that we provide to our guest. We strive to ensure that every guest is provided with the best possible service and remarkable experience with us. We are committed to achieving maximum guest satisfaction and appreciate comments such as yours. Please be assured your feedback is important to us and has been highlighted to our Team for further action and improvement. Once again please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We will surely work towards improving your experience during your next visit. Allow us the opportunity to serve you again. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shima wrote a review Dec 2020
Tehran, Iran2 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was our first visit to Maldives and we were lucky to choose Embudu as our holiday Island. We were really impressed by Maldives and its people. Maldives handle the pandemic situation very well. Also the resort taking a good safety measures, the staff always wear face masks, F&B staff and housekeeping staff wear face shield along with face masks. First we stayed in beach front room 34, the room was excellent in good location. Room attendant Usmaan clean the room everyday and he maintained the cleanliness very well.

On our third day we met Mr.Ahmed, Assistant Housekeeper whom we asked about the water villas and he recommended us to experience one of the water villa and we moved to a water villa 407 on our last two days. The water villa was amaizing and very comfortable with additional amenities.Through the glass on the floor we were able to see fishes as well. Thanks to Mr.Rasheed, FO Manager who gave us very special rate. The food in the restaurant was superb and thanks to Mr.Niranjan who take a good care of the food.

All the staff are very friendly well groomed, special thanks to Mr.Ahmed, Asst.Housekeeper who always looks very professional and friendly, whenever we met always use to chat about Maldives and the resort and he has good knowledge and experiences in the industry. Finally we will recommend all our friends to visit this beautiful Island. Hope we will come back one day.
Shima & Michael
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded Dec 14, 2020
Dear Shlma and Michael We were honored to have you stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives for your fist visit to Maldives and thank you so much for sharing an excellent feedback regarding you recent stay. We are delighted to know that you has a superb stay with us and were very satisfied with all the services and warm hospitality and that you reward us with so much praise. We are indeed very grateful for your kind comments. Our guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that. Thank you for pointing out the safety measures that we have taken. During the pandemic our highest priority is to ensure health & safety of our guests. We have given Covid 19 training to all our employees to increase self-awareness and deliver the enhanced health and safety focused service with confidence to each and every guest and team members. We are very pleased to know that you did liked the rooms we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. Moreover, we would like to thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, for their friendliness, helpfulness and for their contribution to you whilst staying with us. I will certainly share your positive feedback with the entire team. We thank you for your excellent remarks and heartfelt recommendation on our hospitality and services. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again to Embudu in the near future. Kind Regards Rasheed Reservations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amina W wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Embudu village is a 3 star hotel but feels like a 5 star.

You take a 20 minute boat ride to the beautiful island. The sand is soft and lovely to walk on and the sea water is crystal clear. You can see all different types of exotic fish and baby black tip sharks, fruit bats and also crabs.

The beach bungalow is very clean and spacious, and easy access to the beach with a lovely view.

A huge thank you to all the amazing staff members at Embudu village, who are so friendly and respectful, always a smile on their faces and always willing to help and go the extra mile; we don't drink alcohol so they were happy enough to make us amazing mocktails from fresh fruits, also giving us fresh coconut water which was so sweet.

The restaurant manager Niranjana was helpful and lovely and always visiting each table to ensure all guests were happy. All tables have a waiter who brings your drinks and the buffet style restaurant offers a variety of different meals, exotic fruits and sweet desserts.

They offer a variety of excursions but due to Covid only able to do a few such as dolphin cruise, night fishing and sunrise fishing. They also offer a Covid test and the results are next day.

Embudu village is an affordable resort and we are glad we chose this for our honeymoon. We can't wait to go back again to this magical paradise on earth.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded Jan 24, 2021
Dear Guest It was a great pleasure having your Honeymoon stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and we congratulate to you.it is our pleasure in making each of our guests' visits "fantastic & memorable, especially when it comes to special occasions. It is wonderful to know we were able to make your stay memorable from the time of you arrival until your departure. We are extremely happy to know that you had fantastic stay with us and our team was able to deliver you a great hospitality and excellent service by going above and beyond your expectations by providing you the best care which made your holiday a memorable one. Moreover we are pleased to know that you liked the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. We also greatly appreciate your comments regarding the quality and variety of our food provided by our team of talented chefs. Thank you for your kind words and compliments shared towards our hospitality and team’s exceptional service. We are very much committed to serving our guest with sincerity, care and passion in order to ensure that each guest has a memorable stay experience with us. And we are indeed happy to read that our amazing team were able to deliver the true hospitality. We cannot thank you enough for your very kind words and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again for another wonderful stay with us in the near future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KamalaKannan R wrote a review Nov 2020
36 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was quite a pleasant stay at Embudu to spend your leisure trip there at the Maldives. We stayed at the overwater villa and it was one of the best moments of our life. We were greeted by their representative at the airport, and it is a 15 minutes speed boat trip to the Resort. The food was one of the best things to be experienced at the resort. We had half branch and they always made sure we eat the fullest of our meals.

Since there are only a few guests, we able to spend our time very well at the resort and we almost felt like the entire resort belongs to us :D

I would strongly recommend this resort if you wish to have less speed boat transfer charges and close to the airport.

We almost felt at home... Thanks to Rasheed for such kind hospitality and support whenever required during our stay.

Paradise at Earth and its Maldives, then its EMBUDU VILLAGE!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms on the overwater villa near Diving Center
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded Nov 4, 2020
Dear Kamala It was a great pleasure to welcome you to Embudu Village Maldives and Thank you so much for sharing a lovely feedback regarding your recent experience with us. We are delighted to know you had fabulous stay with us and thank you for your compliments about rooms and atmosphere as well as for the services rendered in the facilities throughout your visit. Also we are very pleased to know that you liked the water villa we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. We also greatly appreciate your comments regarding the quality and variety of food our team of talented chefs provided. We are very much committed to serving our guest with sincerity, care and passion in order to ensure that each guest has a memorable stay experience with us. And we are indeed happy to read that our amazing team were able to deliver the true hospitality We are indeed thankful for your positive remarks and recommendations, We are glad that we were able to create a ‘home away from home’ experience and to take care of you. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francisco T wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my first time at maldives, but certainty not the last. The rooms are very clean and with an amaizing view, the house cleaning crew were very helpfull on all type of requests. The meals were top, with many sorts of food, and the staff was 5 stars! Always very worried about the covid safety and cleaning. A must go spot!!
Thank you for all Embudu village
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded Nov 28, 2020
Dear Guest We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing a lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories. We are extremely happy to know that our team was able to deliver you a great hospitality and excellent service and were able to meet your expectations during this pandemic. We greatly appreciate your comments regarding the quality and variety of food provided by our team of talented chefs. We also happy to know that you did liked the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. During the pandemic our highest priority is to ensure health & safety of our guests. We have given Covid 19 training to all our employees to increase self-awareness and deliver the enhanced health and safety focused service with confidence to each and every guest and team members. We indeed very grateful for your kind compliments towards our beautiful island. We are truly happy to know that you had a joyful and memorable stay experience with us. It was certainly our pleasure to take care of you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great holiday with us in the near future. Kind Regards Rasheed Embudu Village
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paige P wrote a review Mar 2022
8 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this amazing resort on the 12th of March for 12 nights, and it just wasn’t long enough. We didn’t want to leave.

Cannot fault a thing from getting the speed boat to the Island which took around 20 minutes.

We got checked in and told where everything was there’s a board with trips on sadly the trips to different islands were not available due to covid. We only went on the dolphin trip as we didn’t fancy the fishing trips. The Dolphin trip is amazing you must go on it!! We went on it twice as the first time we didn’t see any but we are so glad we went the second time. There is also a spa on the island which we didn’t visit but it is nice as nothing is forced upon you.

We went to diver land once for a beginners dive me and my partner it was great, but the rest of the trip we was happy snorkelling on the coral where we saw sharks, turtles and many different fish. We also hired a canoe which everything was reasonably priced we took our own snorkel which was well worth it.

The resort manager was always around in the restaurant at meals times always friendly and helpful. I had a problem with my eyes on holiday and he told me to go see the dr which was nice as we didn’t know there was one on the island. The Dr was helpful and not expensive.

The restaurant was brilliant and loads to choose from, lovely range of food and we never really had the same thing twice. Our waiter Fazel was lovely and was always on hand when we needed anything.

Everyone on the island was lovely, helpful and hardworking from the Gardners to the cleaners and waiters everyone worked so hard to keep the Island the great place that it is.

We stayed in the water villa and I would highly recommend it, lovely waking up to the view of the see and looking through the glass in the floor at the fish.

We won’t hesitate to go back brilliant holiday we don’t know why it’s only 3 star!
Thank you Embudu
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded Mar 28, 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to share an excellent feedback about your recent stay experience with us at Embudu Village Maldives. We are thrilled to read your positive comments and happy to know that you had an outstanding stay and have found our warm hospitality and service standards to be consistent enough to merit continued visits to our hotel. Creating awesome memories for all our guests with unique experiences is what we strive for and getting to know that we achieved that with you is very special. I have shared your encouraging feedback with our entire team. I can assure you that this will motivate all of us to strive further for creating exceptional experiences for all our guests. Once again thank you for your kind words and compliments shared towards our property and team’s exceptional service and certainly we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future Reservations Manager Rasheed
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chrisintha M wrote a review Oct 2021
6 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 1st island holiday and it really exceeded our expectations. We stayed at Embudu Village for 7days and enjoyed every bit of it. The staff are friendly and accommodating. A special thank you to Niranjan and Karthik for their kind service at the restaurant. The food was excellent quality and good variety with a large variety of desserts. Something for everyone's palette with the buffet meals. Rooms were very well kept, we stayed in the superior bungalow Room 32 which I believe was the best room on the island. The view was excellent with our own little cove/grotto which we loved. Rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed. The island itself offers tranquil settings with the grounds cleared up of all foliage every day, for the perfect rest and relaxation getaway. Adequate indoor activities like table tennis, billiards and darts however I feel the pool table and dartboard are in need of an upgrade now. Lots of activities like diving, fishing and snorkeling for the avid water lover. Beautiful bar area with evening entertainment. All in all, we loved our stay there and definitely want to return. Thank you to Rasheed and Team for making our stay so perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Best room is room 32. Excellent view , a little grotto with trees in the water. Situated at the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohamed Rasheed, Guest Services / Front Office at Embudu Village
Responded Oct 31, 2021
Dear Chrisintha We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us at Embudu Village Maldives and sharing a lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. We continuously strive to ensure all our guests have a remarkable experience with us and beautiful Embudu memories. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to know that you had superb experience with us at our beautiful resort with its tranquil atmosphere. Furthermore, we are truly happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations in regards to hospitality, service and the quality and variety of our food provided by our team of talented chefs. Thank you for your kind words and compliments shared towards our property and team’s exceptional service. Our team is highly motivated to accommodate the needs of our valuable guests, such as yourself, with the utmost care and services rendered straight from their heart. Our aim is to ensure that our guests are always given the best care and comfort they deserve. We also thank you for sharing your suggestion. Please be assured your feedback is important to us and has been highlighted to our Team and will certainly assist us to improve our facilities. Once again thank you for kind words. It was certainly our pleasure to take care of you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Marta_Cana
Mantua, Italy6,967 contributions334 helpful votes
Hi, in Embudu there are 3 different types of accomodation: standard room (only for diving clients), Beach villa and water villa.
Answer from Mal J
Llanelli, United Kingdom91 contributions58 helpful votes
Book and go all inclusive, drinks on all of the Maldives islands i have stayed at are expensive. One of the best competitive priced travel agents around at the moment are Travel Republic, same group as Travel bag but cheaper this month and both are very reputable, i have used them for many years. We have stayed a few times on Embudu and you wont go far wrong although we have booked another island for next year just to try something different,
Answer from Kulendra R
5 contributions
I have left the island by 11 am because I wanted to spend some time in Male so I went by the early boat. You may leave the island according to the boat schedule and your flight time.
SuuS_NL asked a question Apr 2023
Alkmaar, The Netherlands94 contributions34 helpful votes
Is the resort on the same time as Male or is there a time difference?
Answer from MenniMarco
Faenza, Italy79 contributions22 helpful votes
the same time
desiberko wrote a tip Jun 9
Sofia, Bulgaria59 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The garden vila have not good vew and some of them are very nice, very close to the generator in the island "
Read full review
joanne wrote a tip Apr 2024
20 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring plenty to do in the evenings as it gets a little dull with not much to do. "
Read full review
Christophe wrote a tip Mar 2024
Gland, Switzerland4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing to avoid it's all perfect"
Read full review
Mal J wrote a tip Feb 2024
Llanelli, United Kingdom91 contributions58 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just arrive and unwind"
Read full review
Sharon N wrote a tip Feb 2024
Cambridge, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"room 17 great location"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Embudu area.
PRICE RANGE
$276 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
embudu village hotel emboodhu finolhu, embudu village male, embudu village hotel male
LOCATION
MaldivesKaafu AtollSouth Male AtollEmbudu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EMBUDU VILLAGE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Embudu Village
What are some of the property amenities at Embudu Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Embudu Village?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Embudu Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hard Rock Cafe Maldives, Kalhu Odi, and Jiao Wu.
Does Embudu Village have airport transportation?
Yes, Embudu Village offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Embudu Village located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.02 miles away from the center of Embudu.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Embudu Village?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Embudu Village?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mulee Aage (6.5 miles).
Does Embudu Village have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.