We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Rapids

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hotel Rapids
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed here due to a last minute change in hockey venues. Most places were booked. This place was very economic compared to others in the area. Front desk was very friendly. There was a flat screen TV, nice towels, and the AC worked great! It was 90 degrees so that was key! The beds were very comfortable and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sara W
Zumbrota, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Glad I stayed at this hotel! The lower price was great as I had to be in town a few nights on a budget. Comfortable bed. Very clean room. Nice, fluffy towels. Very helpful and friendly staff. Things are a bit rough around the edges right now, but they are obviously working hard to make it a very comfortable place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita-AW5450
Clinton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

I stayed here in 2015 and came away with the feeling that for the price, I couldn't have done a whole lot better than Hotel Rapids. In fact, last year I stayed at another hotel in town a couple nights before, was charged a little more, and felt that place was terrible in comparison. Fast forward to this summer, and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Decent clean room, decent prompt maid service. Terrible WIFI. The hotel consists of 2 buildings and we were in a room in the second building. The Wifi was spotty (even with the boosters). When we mentioned this the guy working said there was nothing he could do about it. Not in a bad or mean way...just in a truthful resigned... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smillie-girl
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We are working on our internet issues. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

I almost skipped this place because of the old bad reviews. I'm glad that the lady who works in the area wrote hers. All the other hotels in area were full and well over $100. I tried this little place to avoid driving more. It was older, but redone and very clean. Wireless, refrigerator, and microwave, and flat screen TV... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn T
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

I’m working in the Grand Rapids area from out of town. I’ve heard ALL the “Horror Stories” for sure. I also know that this place is under new management, and working hard at it. I stay there by the week and don’t ask for much, but I find they work hard to meet my request when I do. They’re also... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank IronworkerThankUDave
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

got a aarp discount on the room,very dated,but cozy & everything worked,bibbest & only complaint was the very uncomfortable bed.was like dumbo the elephant sat in the miidle.we both rolled towards the middle all night.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
Management response:

We've currently replaced all of our old and damaged mattresses. More 

Port Mcnicoll
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I go through Grand Rapids MN about twice a year and have stayed at this motel before. It was never a great location but it was reasonable for the money involved. This time it has gone downhill significantly. The first clue is there are virtually no lights on the exterior - (at 7 pm in Nov) –... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JustAnOldGuy
Management response:

We are sorry to hear that you will no longer come to our hotel. Hotel Rapids is under new management and has undergone many changes since your stay. More 

Elkmont, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We reserved a room 06-26-12 for 08-9-10-11 2012 in Grand Rapids MN. Upon arrival there was a sign on the door, 'no breakfast',, that was why we registered. Pine Grove in the West end does not have that. Next we get to the room and the odor was overbearing - we aired it out the best we could,, only to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
Management response:

We are sorry to hear that you will no longer come to our hotel. Hotel Rapids is under new management and has undergone many changes since your stay. More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Everything was outdated, the TV was from 1996 and the color on it was so bad, couldn't watch it at all. There were bleach stains on the carpet, stains on the lamp shade, our blankets had holes in them, their website stated they offer a continental breakfast, but when we got arrived there was sign on the door saying they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dewdrop75
Management response:

Hotel Rapids is under new management and has undergone many changes since your stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
2.0 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Timberlake Lodge Hotel
Timberlake Lodge Hotel
#3 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#7 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hotel Rapids

Address: 311 US Highway 2 East, Grand Rapids, MN 55744 (Formerly Budget Host Inn Grand Rapids)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Price Range: $63 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay