We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Grand Portage Lodge and Casino

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Portage
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Grand Portage Lodge and Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 178: English reviews
Mandan, ND
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Lodge during some construction going on. The room smelled and looked clean and it was quiet and comfortable. It was right on the beach, which was nice. They have nightly campfires during nice weather and there was a playground for the kids. It is right beside the road so it was easy to find. The restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank ndschloss
Withee, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped at casino to check it out. Very small casino. Customer service was non-existent at best. We've never been to a casino that was so dead; per say. Was under construction at the time, but won't go back based on our first visit

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy P

Travelers are raving about these Grand Portage hotels

Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First off this is the only place around so it's here or a long drive anywhere else. Yes construction continues but that's understandable. The rate is reasonable and the rooms are nice and clean. BUT smokey! I guess we had a smoking room even though I wasn't given the option on the online reservation. It didn't say the room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property will be beautiful when construction is complete. Until then, it's a bit inconvenient to get around. The staff are VERY accommodating and above average with customer service. We were pleasantly surprised with the high level of guest service we received at this property. The lake front is beautiful and includes a nice playground and fire pit. The restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karin S
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed the lakeside fire and the lovely facility that is the lodge. We enjoyed dinner in the main dining room and it was excellent. The room was sparkling clean, spacious, non smoking and offered 2 very comfortable Queen beds. We were lakeside on the 2nd floor which is serviced by an elevator. My wife enjoyed the 2 vanity... More 

Helpful?
Thank James T
GPLodgeManager, General Manager at Grand Portage Lodge and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you making the drive up the North Shore to visit us. I hope that you took advantage of the free play in the casino and by signing up for the Player's Club you will get our monthly newsletters showing all of our specials for rooms, dining and casino promotions in the future. I... More 

Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The ONLY complaint in the past was the upper parking lot, because of harsh winters I accepted the parking lot condition as "NORMAL". This summer while construction crews were replacing parts on HWY 61 the casino had their parking lot resurfaced. This business continues to reinvest, to keep this property fresh and up to date.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
rhinelander wi
Level Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife nd I stayed here recently with friends. We had one of the suites and it was well worth the couple of extra bucks to get it. It is a two room suite with a living room with a couch, tv, Electric fireplace, table for 6 and a wet bar. It has a view of Lake Superior from both... More 

Helpful?
Thank rhinelandermike
Ames
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was looking forward to supporting the tribe by having lunch in the casino dining room. I was very disappointed! The wait for food was very long, the food was poor, and the no smoking area was full of smoke. I won't return.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
195 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lobby and other public areas of this property was in a remodel. Temporary hallways and confusion. Looks like it will be very nice when finished. My room was already remodeled, new everything and I slept very well. even though the casino, bar and restaurant allowed smoking I could not tell in my room. If you want to gamble you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
GPLodgeManager, Manager at Grand Portage Lodge and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mark, I'm sorry you were disappointed in your stay. As you mentioned, we are undergoing a major renovation and when we open the new Lobby and Casino in a couple months we will no longer need the temporary hallways. We will also have Blackjack tables along with our additional slot machines. Thank you for your... More 

Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
394 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

8 of us on trip around Lake Superior. The rooms were large and clean. Vast amount of parking. Only glitch was addition being put on, but no big deal and obviously necessary. Great view of the Lake with chairs and fire pit out near the beach. Be careful walking in the grass however, as this is obviously a favorite place... More 

Helpful?
Thank TLV007
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Grand Portage Lodge and Casino

Address: 70 Casino Drive, Grand Portage, MN 55605-4403
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Portage
Price Range: $39 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Grand Portage Hotel Grand Portage
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing