We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 394: English reviews
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Chanced staying here even after reading the reviews. It was tired looking and basic. It could really stand being updated as it has a lot of wear and tear showing from years of families staying. However, I found the staff very friendly. Location was great.

Helpful?
Thank museumfan68
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you need a cheaper place to stay in Duluth and just sleep and shower, this is okay. We had a basic room with fridge and microwave, tv was okay and bed's slept fine. As everyone states in the reviews, the internet does not work and we just gave up, so don't pretend it will. It met our needs for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dwight D

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wish my fiance and family had checked reviews before we stayed here. I really don't like leaving bad reviews but this hotel needs a major update...pillows, mattresses, sheets. The mattresses are very old and uncomfortable, pillows lumpy. WiFi needs to be attended to. These are just simple (necessary) costs and maintenance of running a hotel and being competitive...even a... More 

Helpful?
Thank haydencandice
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn! And we do appreicate the very kind words about our staff. Here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn our staff always goes above and beyond to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay. As a hotel we... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on the 3rd (top floor). Good thing because the hotel had a lot of families w/small kids and we would have heard everything above us. The first thing we noticed was that the box springs were not covered. The sheets were very worn and thin. We asked for newer sheets to replace the worn ones. We did get... More 

Helpful?
Thank RockRoo
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn! As a hotel we always want to know when guests were not completely satisfied with their stay! I want apologize for the issues that you with your toilet and my staff not fixing that issue right away. That... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for one night and were glad we had not booked more. The wifi does not work properly, and not at all in our room which was located not far from the reception.The decor of the room is very dated and tired, floors of the bathroom were painted with no tiles. We did not like the breakfast. Pool and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helgi Í
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn! As a hotel we always want to know when guests were not completely satisfied with their stay! I apologize for the issues that you experienced with the wifi. I have made sure to make my staff aware of... More 

Isanti, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff here were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was provided (including make-your-own fresh waffles), and there was a pool, whirlpool, and sauna. The pool area was very nice; it was odd that the whirlpool and sauna were in a separate area (not quite as nice), but we enjoyed all of them anyhow. We got lucky and got upgraded to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank susieqsings
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for the review susieqsings! I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn! As a hotel we are always looking for feedback from our guests so we can constantly adapt and improve to provide a more enjoyable experience at our hotel. Thanks again for your review... More 

Elk River, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

We've stayed at this hotel twice with no problems. The beds aren't the most comfortable but the rooms are nice and clean and cozy. Front desk staff were very nice. Entrance to hotel is a bit hidden so you have to be very alert, especially at night.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Patricia L! We appreciate the very kind words about our front desk staff! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn. Thanks again for your review and we do hope to see you here again! Travis Assistant General Manager Duluth Spirit Mt Inn... More 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

The location of the hotel is great if you are skiing at Spirit Mountain. The layout of parking and entrances make it a bit difficult if you have a lot of luggage or have physical limitations. It's 15 steps down from parking lot to lobby, and if you are on 3rd floor as we were its 15 steps or so... More 

Helpful?
Thank D1234792
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback about your stay here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn Americas Best Value. I am very sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately with being build on a hill there are a few extra stairs than at most hotels. There is a handicap ramp located at our hotel that... More 

Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and haven't had any problems. Pillows are decent, pool is decent, and it's right off I-35. Only thing is, the bathrooms are a little small. It was decent for the price we paid. Hotel staff was really nice and that is very important.

Helpful?
Thank asdfjklkadfk
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review of our property! We always strive to go above and beyond for our guests. We appreciate the feedback about the bathrooms! We hope you have a wonderful rest of the year! And we hope to see you here again at our hotel! Thanks again, Travis Assistant General Manager Duluth Spirit Mt Inn Americas Best... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

This has got to be one the the cleanest and nicest motels we have stayed at in a long time. I can not think of a single thing that was wrong during our visit. The motel seemed to be full, but it was very quiet and relaxing. Great staff.

Helpful?
Thank Dawn K
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful words about our staff here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn Americas Best Value! We always strive to go above and beyond for our guests. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and as a hotel we are constantly trying to better ourselves. We hope you stay with us again in the future! Thanks again,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#18 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
6.9 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
6.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810-2127 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range: $69 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay