We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 398: English reviews
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I had a pleasant experience at Spirit Mtn Inn. Our room was clean, fairly updated and was reasonably priced! We decided to book a last minute night away to see the lights at Bentleyville and visit our son who is a student at UMD. All other area hotels had their rates jacked way up; this hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngelaM65
Reviewed October 31, 2016

Beds very nice, but that's only thing I can say about this very expensive old hotel!! Due to a wedding nearby is why we stayed here, so that was close!! I could see paying this amount if I were in a bigger city, but this was way too much for an old facility!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregoryp9
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn! As a hotel we always want to know when guests were not completely satisfied with their stay! Due to Duluth being such a popular tourist destination we always try to keep our rates as competetive and fair as...

Pine City, Minnesota
Reviewed October 4, 2016

I was really excited for a last minute get-away with my little crew of 4. We knew it would be tough to find a room 10 days in advance during peak fall colors time, but we tried anyway. We found a room at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn (Red Roof Inn) and booked it up fast. It was a pool side...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HJOHNSON1012
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn! As a hotel we always want to know when guests were not completely satisfied with their stay! I want to apologize for the issues that you had with your room being poolside and the experience you had during...

Boise, Idaho, United States
Reviewed October 1, 2016

We stayed here for one night, and were first offered a free room upgrade. When we decided that room's view wasn't the best, they further upgraded us to a balcony. It is a very quiet hotel - doors close without banging. Yes, it's basic, but very pleasant. Beds are very comfortable and the room (with fridge and microwave) was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Suzanne S! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn! As a hotel we enjoy hearing the feedback from our guests. Thanks again for your review and we do hope to see you here again! Travis Assistant General Manager Duluth Spirit Mt...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Chanced staying here even after reading the reviews. It was tired looking and basic. It could really stand being updated as it has a lot of wear and tear showing from years of families staying. However, I found the staff very friendly. Location was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank museumfan68
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for the review museumfan68! I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn! As a hotel we are always looking for feedback from our guests so that we can focus on what our guests feel needs improving! Thanks again for your review and we do hope...

Largo, Florida
Reviewed September 18, 2016

If you need a cheaper place to stay in Duluth and just sleep and shower, this is okay. We had a basic room with fridge and microwave, tv was okay and bed's slept fine. As everyone states in the reviews, the internet does not work and we just gave up, so don't pretend it will. It met our needs for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dwight D
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn! As a hotel we always want to know when guests were not completely satisfied with their stay! I apologize for the issues that you experienced with the wifi. I have made sure to make my staff aware of...

Parker, Colorado
Reviewed September 10, 2016

I wish my fiance and family had checked reviews before we stayed here. I really don't like leaving bad reviews but this hotel needs a major update...pillows, mattresses, sheets. The mattresses are very old and uncomfortable, pillows lumpy. WiFi needs to be attended to. These are just simple (necessary) costs and maintenance of running a hotel and being competitive...even a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank haydencandice
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn! And we do appreicate the very kind words about our staff. Here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn our staff always goes above and beyond to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay. As a hotel we...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed August 31, 2016

We were on the 3rd (top floor). Good thing because the hotel had a lot of families w/small kids and we would have heard everything above us. The first thing we noticed was that the box springs were not covered. The sheets were very worn and thin. We asked for newer sheets to replace the worn ones. We did get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RockRoo
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn! As a hotel we always want to know when guests were not completely satisfied with their stay! I want apologize for the issues that you with your toilet and my staff not fixing that issue right away. That...

Reviewed August 27, 2016

We stayed for one night and were glad we had not booked more. The wifi does not work properly, and not at all in our room which was located not far from the reception.The decor of the room is very dated and tired, floors of the bathroom were painted with no tiles. We did not like the breakfast. Pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helgi Í
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn! As a hotel we always want to know when guests were not completely satisfied with their stay! I apologize for the issues that you experienced with the wifi. I have made sure to make my staff aware of...

Isanti, Minnesota
Reviewed August 25, 2016

The staff here were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was provided (including make-your-own fresh waffles), and there was a pool, whirlpool, and sauna. The pool area was very nice; it was odd that the whirlpool and sauna were in a separate area (not quite as nice), but we enjoyed all of them anyhow. We got lucky and got upgraded to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susieqsings
dsminn5, Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review

Thank you for the review susieqsings! I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Duluth Spirit Mt Inn! As a hotel we are always looking for feedback from our guests so we can constantly adapt and improve to provide a more enjoyable experience at our hotel. Thanks again for your review...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 32 in Duluth
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
6.9 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810-2127 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range: $64 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Minneapolis, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't stay on the pool level. The chemical smell is overwhelming.”
 of 5 bubbles HJOHNSON1012, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“Best views of Lake Superior are on the east side, any fllor - road noise isn't a problem at all.”
 of 5 bubbles suzannes703, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with southern view, may pay more, but worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles 853dwightd, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“Highest floor best or you will hear everything above you.”
 of 5 bubbles RockRoo, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
“We choose a 1st floor patio room - we were close to the pool and their extremely large deck to sit and enjoy the scenery.”
 of 5 bubbles 432cyndir, Aug 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay