We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 424: English reviews
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Given the building's industrial history, ceilings are super high. Great price for a true two-room suite that allows pets. Layout of our room was living room / kitchenette, then bathroom and closet, then a bedroom with closed door. Separate TVs in living room and bedroom. This layout is ideal for a family with small child(ren), allowing the baby/toddler/kid to fall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markbuc03
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

It was a cheaper option for staying in canal park in the summer... hotel wasn't great but location was awesome. The staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel needs updating and feels like a warehouse. We had super loud neighbors too. But if you are going for a fun night out in canal park and want to save a little money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
Pine City, New York
Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

We were discouraged on the fire alarm going off acouple times the first night,we spoke to others and they heard it happens a lot. Uproar door card wouldn't work had to reset them.Noisy people during the night running down the hallway. But the mornings paid off,Great breakfast!!!!Over all we'll go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sassy781
MN
Reviewed October 26, 2016

I had stayed at this property a number of times when my company was headquartered in Duluth. This is really a god hotel and its location is hard to beat. The rooms are large, the amenities are outstanding, and I always get a kick out of seeing how they've transformed this old building into a unique hotel property. A couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davenak3
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see again in the near future!

Prior Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

We were excited to stay at the Suites but disappointed upon entering the lobby. I wish we had cancelled on the spot. The smell from the pool overpowers the lobby. The 4th floor smelled like smoke. We found the two bedroom spacious but dark and outdated. In one of the bedrooms the only window was covered with grease face/handprints on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McRoadster
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing your review. We appreciate all comments and use them to make the changes, that makes us better. We do apologize for anything that was not satisfactory during your stay and will work hard to make sure those issues are corrected Thank you again.

Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here two times I like the big rooms and nice pool and sauna great price nice old time suite if you are not looking for new this is a great hotel full size kitchen in rooms 14 ft ceilings lot of space a great deal

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pogos H
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review! We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon!

Langdon, North Dakota
Reviewed October 13, 2016

I thought this hotel was awesome. It wasn't anything fancy, but it had so much character and definitely had the "cool" factor. The rooms themselves were slightly outdated, but everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was nice to have a separate living area/kitchen and I liked how the bathroom was also set up separately from the bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adben16
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write your review! It's appreciated!

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed October 10, 2016

I went to Duluth for a conference recently, and since we booked our hotel at the last minute, we went with the cheapest one at that point. We had never heard of The Suites Hotel, but sounded good enough! This hotel used to be a warehouse, and it has now become a hotel. The suites are spacious but very dark...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaraPL8
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments!!

FARGO
Reviewed October 7, 2016

We wanted a hotel that could accommodate three couples traveling together and The Suites gave us that option. It's great to be able to have three separate bedrooms while sharing a common area. Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Plus, they have a nice hot breakfast that's included, too. We enjoyed being right in Canal Park so that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAREN A
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! Sounds like you stayed in one of our 3 bedroom condos. They are awesome spaces!

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed October 2, 2016

I love this hotel. It's right by canal park, near lots of restaurants and shops. The location is great and the rooms are clean. Beds are comfy and they have an amazing hot breakfast in the morning. The breakfast is the best I've had at any hotels in Duluth. They serve a huge selection of food. They have laundry rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny H
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! The hotel has a lot of charm and we appreciate your kind comments. I didn't think we are haunted, but who knows about the spirit world....Thanks!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#13 of 33 in Duluth
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2305 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range: $105 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Suites Hotel in Canal Park staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Mound, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Suites Hotel in Canal Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view, otherwise you will probably end up with an interior room (no windows).”
 of 5 bubbles davenak3, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a window.”
 of 5 bubbles adben16, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“If you dont mind not having a view go ahead and choose a room without outside windows their just as nice but much cheaper.”
 of 5 bubbles , Oct 2, 2016 | Read review
“Watch which room you are picking, internal room do not have windows.”
 of 5 bubbles 655elisek, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“No lake views, but even numbers overlook the harbor/Irvine ship. Some rooms have no windows; the website notes them.”
 of 5 bubbles 27JeanG, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay