We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

333 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 126: English reviews
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Honestly, I read the reviews here after I booked and was concerned enough to bring a few things mentioned in some reviews. But, as the new manager responded "give them time to fix the problems" and they certainly have. No smoke smells, clean and comfy rooms, soaps and other small needs in the clean bathroom. We took advantage of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank matrixgord
Hominy, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's an older motel, across the street from Lake Superior, right on Superior St. The room was no frill/no thrills, but clean. It has great views from the patios on top of the building with tablet b lets & chairs. It's next to an antique shop, by a Lake Superior magazine shop (lots of great souvenirs available!) We also enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Denise P
VoyageurManager, General Manager at Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Denise. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and such a great time in Duluth. We hope you come back to visit us soon. Audra Erkelenz-General Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our visit here! It's located within walking distance to Lakewalk Park and the casino! Easy access to highways and there is an excellent view of Lake Superior from the top deck. The staff are very very friendly and accommodating. Brenna helped us throughout our stay and even when we had an issue at arrival the hotel manager came... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
VoyageurManager, General Manager at Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Brenda! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope you will visit us and Duluth again soon. Audra Erkelenz. - General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is Duluth's hidden gem if you can look past the older exterior and interior. The aged rooms are part of the charm, I think. Staff was extremely helpful, supplied us with lots of blankets and towels. The parking is tight, but if you ask for a room on the third floor, there is a parking garage right next to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pragmatica27
VoyageurManager, General Manager at Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Pragmatica27! We appreciate your review. As part of the new management, I can say that you will see positive changes with the Voyageur in the future. We hope to see you again very soon! More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I loved staying at this place! The amenities were VERY basic, but you get what you pay for, right?!? I loved the convenient location, the "ocean" views, rooftop patios, and convenient parking. The only complaint I have is that my non-smoking room smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
VoyageurManager, General Manager at Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Jennifer B! We appreciate your review. I'm happy to hear you had a great stay! Being able to look out at the "ocean" is definitely a must, when staying in Duluth. We hope you visit us again soon. Audra E. General Manager More 

Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

Upon checkin we were given a parking permit for our vehicke to be place on dash board. After being away all day returning 7PM the there were no parking places. Near our room number there were three vehicles with no parking permits. We requested hotel management hono the policy and make a parking place for us. The front desk said... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mouette19

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Houghton, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

This motel is a terrible place to stay, Bring your own stuff for shower, bed, and other purposes. It is the most expensive motel without any continental breakfast. You can drink only black coffee free of cost. Rooms are old and bathrooms are terrible.

Helpful?
Thank Keshab9
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

We stayed here for two nights. We booked it because it was cheap & close to the wedding that we were attending. I knew that I booked that room that it was older property and was dated. I read the reviews and thought that is sounded okay for the price. I don't know if we just got a bad room... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank picassogirl33
VoyageurManager, General Manager at Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, responded to this review

Dear Picassogirl333, I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. I would like to express that we have undergone a very recent change in management and we are absolutely on the path to make this property one that can offer a clean and fabulous stay. If in the future, if you do find yourself in Duluth again,... More 

Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

If you are looking for elegance or many stars, this is not the place. But if you are looking for a reasonably priced and clean room, with free parking and fast wifi, hot water and a super comfortable bed, then the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn is just the ticket! The front desk staff was helpful and made checking in and leaving... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank belindac
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

Stayed 2 nights with 3 other couples. I will admit I'm used to more upscale accommodations, but this wasn't too bad. First it was CLEAN. All of the rooms seem to be different, some look like up north cabins. My room wasn't like that, it was just a basic, small functional room. Worst thing was the thin curtains, no blinds,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Janet N
VoyageurManager, General Manager at Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you had a nice time at the Voyageur. Since we have had a change in management, I am happy to say that there will be a lot of changes taking place and I hope that you come back in the future to see the difference! We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
0.5 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#14 of 34 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located near the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth's historic Old Downtown. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, theaters and entertainment, Canal Park, Fitger's Brewery Complex, Fon du Luth Casino, as well as major hospitals and clinics. Full Cable and Showtime, bring your laptop - we have wireless internet access! Standard rooms, some with lake view, whirlpool lodge rooms with fireplaces, rough log furniture, pine walls and wonderful views of Lake Superior. Free continental breakfast and a friendly staff. Enjoy your stay at Voyageur Duluth Lakewalk Inn! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Address: 333 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range: $86 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Voyageur Lakewalk Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Voyageur Lakewalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay