We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn on Lake Superior

Save
Share
350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$127
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/16/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Hotel
Booking.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Expedia.com$127
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (356)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (251)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 11/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Inn on Lake Superior
Updated 11/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 34 hotels in Duluth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Blackwoods Catering are among the luxurious extras setting The Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Game room
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1,713Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,110
  • 353
  • 127
  • 84
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MegJans wrote a review Nov 15
Fishersville, Virginia14 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Let’s start off with the good. The view. Customer service was responsive. But that’s it. We got to our original room and there was mold all over the shower, it also smelled like smoke. We called down to the front and they sent someone up to clean it but it was a bigger problem. So they switched us. We wanted views of the lake. And the room they switched us to was larger. Still had to call and report mold all over the shower curtain, dried up rice and other food on the ground. Just gross. And um, not much confidence during Covid. There was clear leaks from the ceilings, black marks on the ceilings, etc. For $191 a night, I expected much nicer. I can imagine things have been hard with the “times”. But just because you can’t “update” doesn’t mean you can’t clean and meet/exceed expectations. This outdated hotel has MANY areas of improvement. If you stay, also hope it’s not when you have neighbors because you hear everything at all hours of the day. Needless to say, I can’t see us staying here again. It’s 2020, Covid, cleanliness should be priority. Making an experience special to bring guest back should be a goal. This was a major disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Ltwifeforlife wrote a review Nov 4
3 contributions
We arrived on the afternoon of Halloween. The room we were given was not cleaned and we were upgraded however the upgraded was dingy and dirty. We’ve waited years to stay here and it was a huge let down.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Scott wrote a review Nov 3
8 contributions
Stayed for two nights. Hotel was nice. Pool was good. Sheets and bed were super comfy. Staff friendly. Only did a grab and go breakfast which was blah. The price was very affordable for this time of the year. Other than that, would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Cherrie M wrote a review Oct 2020
Minnesota123 contributions25 helpful votes
We have stayed at The Inn comfortably many, many times ever since it first opened, but on our most recent visit, we were not comfortable. Our room just felt dirty. (The toilet plunger outside our door was the first clue.) Furniture was shabby. There was dust. The carpet outside our third floor corner room was stained and ugly. I’m afraid that this formerly lovely property has gone downhill. The location couldn’t be better, the staff is friendly, and we love the balconies, but we probably won’t be back until Covid is eradicated. If you will take a minute to compare Covid cleaning protocols for The Inn on Lake Superior and the neighboring Hampton Inn, I think you will see what I mean. The first is all about face masks and s’mores, while Hampton Inn’s protocol gives careful details about cleaning procedures. We are fully aware that the industry has had a very hard year and we sympathize. But dirt can be removed. Furniture can be shampooed. The Inn can be returned to its former pristine condition. We would so love to see you all clean and shiny again, as you once were.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolyn Caskey, Guest Services / Front Office at The Inn on Lake Superior
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Cherrie, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so sorry we let you down your most recent stay. 2020 certainly has been a difficult year with the lake-walk construction and new Covid-19 restrictions. We are adapting and making changes as we receive guest feedback. I am so sorry for the cleanliness issues you encountered, and will personally make sure we are doing a better job dusting while cleaning our guest rooms. Unfortunately, all of our capital improvement projects have been pushed to 2021, but we are looking forward to the improvements coming our way next year. Thank you again for your feedback, if you have any additional comments or concerns please feel free to reach out to me directly. Thank you. Carolyn Caskey Director of Guest Services
Read more
Stacy H wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
I can’t say enough good things about this hotel, from the location and property amenities, to the wonderful staff who are so friendly and willing to make you feel like home, this is our new “go to” hotel in Canal Park!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolyn Caskey, Guest Services / Front Office at The Inn on Lake Superior
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Stacy, I cannot thank you enough for your kind and encouraging words. We are so honored to be your go to hotel in Duluth. We cannot wait for your next stay! Sincerely, Carolyn Caskey Director of Guest Service
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$110 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the inn on lake superior hotel duluth, hotel on lake superior, lake superior inn, on lake superior duluth, lake superior hotel
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaDuluth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
174
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Inn on Lake Superior
Which popular attractions are close to The Inn on Lake Superior?
Nearby attractions include Lake Superior Art Glass (0.06 miles), Aerial Lift Bridge (0.3 miles), and Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inn on Lake Superior?
Conveniently located restaurants include Northern Waters Smokehaus, Vitta Pizza, and Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Inn on Lake Superior have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Inn on Lake Superior offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Inn on Lake Superior located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Duluth.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Inn on Lake Superior offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.