We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 177: English reviews
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am a OTR truck driver , the whole staff meet my every need, the food and accommodation are excellent I want give thanks mostly to DOUG,JEN,LIZ,SASHA,AND MOST OF ALL BRINDA. I will plan on vacationing here with my family and tell my friend thanks again see you again DOUG

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjbieghtol
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the holiday inn this weekend. The staff was very friendly especially our morning server in the restaurant. We did not get her name but she was super friendly and even remembered our kids orders the next morning! But I will say that the pool levels must of been off. The chlorine smell was really bad and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly L
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Holly L, thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that our staff was memorable but disappointed that we had an issue in our pool area. Just so you know we have an automated pool system but our staff also checks the levels when we open the pool, around noon and around...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a nice stay at this hotel. The front desk staff were efficient and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. We used the fitness center, pool and hot tub during our stay which were all great facilities. The lakeside dining room was lovely, we had breakfast there each morning and the service was fantastic. One bad thing I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seaoh11596
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

seaoh11596, thank you so much for your 5 star review of our hotel and I appreciate you understanding that we were extremely busy and some people did not receive the service they are accustomed to. Going forward we will do a better job of staffing in the bar when we have a popular event like the snowmobile races. Once again...

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were here for a hockey tournament. They have an awesome happy hour. We needed adjoining rooms and Joe at the front desk was above and beyond helpful in making that happen for us! If you go ask for Joe!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldingmann
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Idingmann, Thank you so much for your 5 star review of our hotel and staff. Joe is part of our management staff and often gets mentioned for excellent guest service. I will be sure to share your comments with him and we look forward to serving you again soon. Douglas Anselmin General Manager

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed December 14, 2016

Joe was great at check-in. Very friendly and efficient. The service at the hotel is great. If you need anything the staff is more than willing to help. The rooms are adequate, older hotel but has been updated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BC0307
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

BC0307, thank you so much for your 5 star review of our hotel, our staff and specifically Joe. We put a lot of focus on taking care of our guests and it sounds like we did just that with you. Just so you know I am currently in the process of replacing our beds with top of the line Simmons...

Reviewed December 13, 2016 via mobile

Thank you for making my business experience great! Rooms were clean, beds were comfy, pool was clean, hot tub was hot, food was good and our waitress Joey is delightful. We will be back again soon! Much appreciated!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Braelyn M
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Braelyn M, it was absolutely our pleasure making your business experience great, that is what we do. Thank you for the 5 star review of our hotel and staff member, Joey. I will be sure to share your comments with Joey and the rest of the staff and we look forward to making your next trip just as memorable. Douglas...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed December 13, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this location for two weeks. The food was very good but the servers were the best I have seen in any hotel. Front desk staff went a step further to make sure all was taken care in a professional and timely manner. Yes, the hotel may need an update in the dinning room but food and servers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank opalmajr
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

opalmajr, Wow! What an outstanding 5 star review of our hotel and staff. Thank you. And thank you for noticing the "truly Hi-Speed WiFi" we have installed throughout our property. We made quite an investment to ensure we have the fastest internet of any hotel property in Detroit Lakes. I will be sure to let the staff know that they...

Reviewed December 8, 2016

We had an event at the Holiday Inn banquet center. From the beginning of planning the event to the day of the event they were very helpful every step of the way. The hotel rooms & restaurant were great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chad K
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Chad K, thank you so much for your 5 star review of our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with the Tripadvisor community and we look forward to help making your next event even more successful. Don't forget that with new snow and the Detroit Lakes mountain ski area open, the winter time is a...

Divide, Colorado
Reviewed November 11, 2016

The service was great, rooms very nice and clean. Having a walk out balcony overlooking the lake was fantastic. The food was very good and the receptionist at the front Jen, was super nice. I'm looking forward to staying here in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terryconard51
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

terryconard51, thank you so much for your very comprehensive, 5 star review of our hotel and staff. Winter is right around the corner and we have a great place to visit after we get some snow on the ground. Detroit Mountain offers a brand new downhill and cross country ski facility and there are miles and miles of snowmobile trails...

Brussels
Reviewed November 10, 2016

At the front desk, Nicole took care of us with a smile. We checked into a room that had only a mediocre view - no lake. Back to the desk I asked for a lake view room, and Nicole made it happen in a minute. The sunset was beautiful and so was our room. Thanks, Nicole

 Report
Helpful?
Thank strandra
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

strandra, thank you so much for your 5 star review of our hotel and staff. We have one of the best views of Big Detroit lake of any hotel in Detroit Lakes and 700 feet of sandy beach as well. The Holiday Inn is the largest as well as the only hotel in Detroit Lakes with a full service restaurant...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#6 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
20 reviews
24.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hawley
19.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located on the north shore of beautiful Big Detroit Lake. The hotel has one hundred and three sleeping rooms. There is a seven hundred foot stretch of sandy beach and free docking facilities available for our summertime guests to enjoy. We are adjacent to miles of beautifully groomed snowmobile and cross-country ski trails. Our indoor recreation center offers a swimming pool, whirlpool, Sauna, video arcade and fitness center. Our outdoor amenities include children's playground, picnic area, bicycles, kayaks, canoes and paddleboats. We also offer pontoons and fishing boats for rent at our marina. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes

Address: 1155 Hwy 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Price Range: $97 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes Hotel Detroit Lakes
Detroit Lakes Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Grand Forks, ND

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Lake View rooms are a must”
 of 5 bubbles BC0307, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“Get a Lake side room. Great view”
 of 5 bubbles 435chadk, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
“The room was just the right size for what I needed, King room with walk out balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles terryconard51, Nov 11, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles strandra, Nov 10, 2016 | Read review
“Request a lakeside room unless you are enamored of Hwy 10 and an active railway.”
 of 5 bubbles SeaStock, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question