We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Budget Host Inn

Expedia.com$86*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$99*
$86*
Great Deal
$99*
$99*
$86*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Budget Host Inn
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 21: English reviews
Start your review of Budget Host Inn
 Click to rate
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and found the rooms to have everything we needed. Nice and clean. The owners were really nice and great to deal with. Would definitely come back here when we return to Detroit Lakes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

I travel for work a lot of the time in Detroit Lakes... I stay here every time I'm in Detroit Lakes and I've never had a bad experience.. rooms are very clean and nice.. the owners of the hotel are very friendly and are there when you need something..Very good people!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DDstroud
Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and for the price this was a great place to stay. The room was clean, the shower was hot and the bed was comfortable. Oh, and the staff is super friendly. We periodically make trips to Detroit Lakes and I'll definitely stay here again. This is a family run motel. They clean the rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janette J
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Reviewed June 6, 2016

The staff is very friendly, always welcoming, and kind. The rooms are very clean. I have stayed in two different rooms at different times and both were decent size. Large bathroom in one and a nice little kitchenette in the other. Could make dinner in room which was nice. There was plenty of parking. From the outside it may put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barrettbrittany19
Melrose, Minnesota
Reviewed May 31, 2016

I made a reservation directly thru TripAdvisor and they made a very big mistake. I requested a 2 bed room. I was given a 1 bed room when I got there. The front desk was so accommodating, they gave us the cottage, at I'm sure at a very difference is price. They didn't charge me the difference, which I'm sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carnut113
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed October 9, 2015

Stayed here for the night and the free Wifi was not very good connection and the front desk said that it was working fine and my computer must be the problem. Lame excuse for poor Wifi. Need to update this whole place as we will not be back any time soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

First of all we would like to thank you for posting the review and we are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations Mr.Douglas . Now as you may recall we had come to your room to fix the issues on your laptop with regards to your WIFI and your smartphones were already connected to WIFI and...

Chocowinity, North Carolina
Reviewed October 3, 2015

Our room was large and clean. Did not expect the refrigerator and microwave, so that was a pleasant surprise. The manager at check-in and check-out was extremely friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay E
Cochrane
Reviewed September 23, 2015

Ok this is not a 5 star resort but it provides all you need for a very good price. The owners are friendly and very accomodating. I would stay here again. It's well worth checking into this charming motel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank out4goodtimes
Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

This room was the most disgusting thing I've ever laid my eyes on. We paid $150 to set our bags in while we attended a wedding. We tried getting our money back, if not all at least a break. The lady at the front desk was rude and said there wasn't anything she could do about it. We ended up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dannielle W
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry we did leave up to your expectations ,but we request you to call us and let us know what did you find that was so `DISGUSTING` in the room as we know that our property is little old but the rooms are kept very clean and are inspected everyday , We will wait to hear back from...

Roseville, Minnesota
Reviewed August 12, 2015

The owners are wonderful people, very polite and accommodating. The room was quite small, but we just needed it for sleeping between our active days! It had a microwave and refrigerator, which were BIG plusses. It was very clean and quiet while we were there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoGoGo48
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

Thank you and we certainly appreciate your business .

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#4 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#7 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Holland House
Best Western Plus Holland House
#2 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a value Hotel located less then a mile from the Detroit Lakes public beach. What you can expect from our hotel are clean room with microwave ,refrigerator and coffee maker in all rooms,we do offer free continental breakfast (not hot) during summer months,free WIFI,great service,free mini golf for guests staying at hotel with the RATES YOU CAN SLEEP WITH . Thank you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Address: 895 Highway 10 E, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-4218
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Price Range: $72 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Host Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Budget Host Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Great price!”
barrettbrittany19, Jun 6, 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose any!”
janewS6876OZ, Oct 8, 2014 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
TabithaM807, Sep 29, 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$86* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$99
TripAdvisor$86
Travelocity$86
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates