We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Budget Host Inn

895 Highway 10 E, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-4218
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Budget Host Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I travel for work a lot of the time in Detroit Lakes... I stay here every time I'm in Detroit Lakes and I've never had a bad experience.. rooms are very clean and nice.. the owners of the hotel are very friendly and are there when you need something..Very good people!!

Helpful?
Thank DDstroud
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night and for the price this was a great place to stay. The room was clean, the shower was hot and the bed was comfortable. Oh, and the staff is super friendly. We periodically make trips to Detroit Lakes and I'll definitely stay here again. This is a family run motel. They clean the rooms.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janette J
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

The staff is very friendly, always welcoming, and kind. The rooms are very clean. I have stayed in two different rooms at different times and both were decent size. Large bathroom in one and a nice little kitchenette in the other. Could make dinner in room which was nice. There was plenty of parking. From the outside it may put... More 

Helpful?
Thank barrettbrittany19
Melrose, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

I made a reservation directly thru TripAdvisor and they made a very big mistake. I requested a 2 bed room. I was given a 1 bed room when I got there. The front desk was so accommodating, they gave us the cottage, at I'm sure at a very difference is price. They didn't charge me the difference, which I'm sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank carnut113
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
239 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Stayed here for the night and the free Wifi was not very good connection and the front desk said that it was working fine and my computer must be the problem. Lame excuse for poor Wifi. Need to update this whole place as we will not be back any time soon.

Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

First of all we would like to thank you for posting the review and we are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations Mr.Douglas . Now as you may recall we had come to your room to fix the issues on your laptop with regards to your WIFI and your smartphones were already connected to WIFI and... More 

Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

Our room was large and clean. Did not expect the refrigerator and microwave, so that was a pleasant surprise. The manager at check-in and check-out was extremely friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Kay E
Cochrane
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

Ok this is not a 5 star resort but it provides all you need for a very good price. The owners are friendly and very accomodating. I would stay here again. It's well worth checking into this charming motel

Helpful?
Thank out4goodtimes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

This room was the most disgusting thing I've ever laid my eyes on. We paid $150 to set our bags in while we attended a wedding. We tried getting our money back, if not all at least a break. The lady at the front desk was rude and said there wasn't anything she could do about it. We ended up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dannielle W
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry we did leave up to your expectations ,but we request you to call us and let us know what did you find that was so `DISGUSTING` in the room as we know that our property is little old but the rooms are kept very clean and are inspected everyday , We will wait to hear back from... More 

Travelers are raving about these Detroit Lakes hotels

Roseville, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

The owners are wonderful people, very polite and accommodating. The room was quite small, but we just needed it for sleeping between our active days! It had a microwave and refrigerator, which were BIG plusses. It was very clean and quiet while we were there.

Helpful?
Thank GoGoGo48
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

Thank you and we certainly appreciate your business . More 

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

We were asked upon exiting our vechicle if we wanted some Jello shots by a group of 20 something men that were sitting in chairs outside their room and appeared very drunk. When entering our room we noticed a terrible smell of what can be called a porta potty and found the refrigerator open and not working. The noise from... More 

Helpful?
Thank debdew10
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review .We are exetremely sorry the hotel was not upto your expectations. First of all we do not allow partying and noise at our porperty ,so we are requesting you to call the hotel let us know what day and room number you stayed in and we will be happy to look into it. Secondly on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#5 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
24.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hawley
19.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a value Hotel located less then a mile from the Detroit Lakes public beach. What you can expect from our hotel are clean room with microwave ,refrigerator and coffee maker in all rooms,we do offer free continental breakfast (not hot) during summer months,free WIFI,great service,free mini golf for guests staying at hotel with the RATES YOU CAN SLEEP WITH . Thank you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Address: 895 Highway 10 E, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-4218
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Price Range: $83 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Host Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay