We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Gilbert Plains
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here just overnight, the place was clean and we felt very safe. There was myself, hubby and two kids. Breakfast was good and the breakfast room was immaculate. You got quite a few options for breakfast. However it was a little pricey coming in at 135.00 for the night.

Helpful?
Thank TCX51114
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

I'm a travel nurse from out of town and this is where I've been staying the last 2 months. I can honestly say that I don't have a single complaint about this place at all. The manager/owners are absolutely wonderful and go above and beyond to accommodate and are quick to address any complaints one may have. VERY clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stefanie W
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Hi Stefanie, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We always hope to provide our guests with the best experience possible, and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are in town! More 

Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

My husband and I stayed at this motel for two nights, we have a motorcycle and it was rainy. The owner offered to take us wherever needed and check in was honestly the friendliest check in we have ever experienced. Breakfast had a nice selection and was well supplied. Room was clean and beds were comfortable, but what sold us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelly L
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Shelly, We appreciate the time you took to write a review about your recent stay with us at Americas Best Value Inn Detroit Lakes. We understand that excellent customer service can take a great trip and make it even better - that is what we try to do with every guest who walks through our doors. Take care, and... More 

Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016

Stayed here twice in the last month. Price is really good for the area. Rooms are clean and bed is comfortable. We did the breakfast once and it is on the slim side. However if watching your budget it serves the purpose. There is a Perkins next door if you want a full breakfast. We would stay here again. If... More 

Helpful?
Thank elyquilter
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear elyquilter Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your stay at Americas Best Value Inn Detroit Lakes. We truly appreciate your open and honest feedback about your experience we strive to provide value with clean, affordable rooms. We look forward to your next stay. More 

North Dakota
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016

This is an old style motel that they've tried to update. It also has smoking rooms which nearly sent us over the edge at 10:00 when someone nearby was smoking. The breakfast is weak and poor selections. They do have a waffle maker but it was so crusted with the last person's waffle we didn't want to try to get... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NDakGirl
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear NDakGirl, Thank you very much for your sincere review of your recent stay at Americas Best Value Inn Detroit Lakes. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your feedback about our breakfast and the hotels smoking rooms. I will take your comments into consideration for improving... More 

Cloquet, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2016

I never saw the room but my daughter stayed there. She was working at Wee Fest when she came down with the flu. She and 3 girlfriends were working and the festival and camping in a tent. I talked to her on the phone around 7 PM. She became so ill, she just laid in the tent and made multiple... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin J
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robin J, Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn in Detroit Lakes and taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm glad to hear that your daughter enjoyed her stay and that we could help we take pride in catering to our guests needs. Take care and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Cloquet, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

First of all the hotel was very clean and came with all the amenities! Plus it was cheap. I got everything I needed and more. But more than that the management was incredible. They go above and beyond for customers. I would recommend a stay here for anyone! Would gladly return. The manager personally picked me up, brought me things... More 

Helpful?
Thank akjohnson123
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Akjohnson123 Thank you for taking the time to write a review your delightful comments and compliments are well appreciated. We strive to go above and beyond to provide clean room, affordable price, and supreme customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay. More 

Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

This Inn is under new ownership since December, 2014. My wife and I stayed here Labor Day weekend, September, 2015 and had a very nice stay. The Inn has new carpeting throughout and recent redecorating. Our room was very clean, quiet and very comfortable. We were totally satisfied with every aspect of our stay here! I returned to stay for... More 

Helpful?
Thank dincau
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dincau, We always appreciate encouraging comments left by our guests the most important people in our world as hoteliers. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be warm and accommodating. We strive to make every stay memorable and look forward to seeing you... More 

Cottage Grove, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

The hotel was very clean and comfortable, but most of all the owner Paul and his wife were so friendly and went out of there way for us. We would love to go back and would stay here with out a doubt. Very reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Becky L
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Becky L, My wife and i feel honored by your kind comments and appreciates that you took the time to share them on TripAdvisor. As hoteliers our mission is to ensure guest satisfaction and create memorable moments in Detroit Lakes Minnesota. Please come and visit us again warm regards. More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago while on a trip for work. The hotel was very clean, very comfortable and everyone was very friendly. I enjoyed chatting with Paul, the manager, very much. The free breakfast was great. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Timothey G it a pleasure to hear that you had a memorable stay with us at Americas Best Value Inn Detroit Lakes and thank you for praising our rooms and service. We invest a lot of time in effort to train our team to ensure the highest level of personalized guest experiences. All the best and hope to see you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#6 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#4 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
22.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 400 Morrow Ave, Hwy 10 & US 59, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-2212
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Price Range: $98 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay