We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Country Inns to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
Alexandria, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A/C did not work in our room & we were given a fan so opened our window until someone was smoking just outside our room. We were so uncomfortable we did request to move to another room. This room had working a/c & a ceiling fan that did not function. The rooms had a strange odor. This hotel needs a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
1 Thank heathercT8780TW
Billings, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've worked at several hotels and managed one for 5 years and stayed in many. I've never been so disrespected by a hotel rep before. It was 10pm when we arrived. I first called to see if their pool was open and how late it was open until. Deb, the lady working said they were open until midnight. great! we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Skyler H
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear about the way that you were treated by a member of our hotel staff. We do apologize that you were given false information regarding the pool and that you were not asked the proper questions when making the reservations. We also want to say how sorry we are that your room was not up... More 

Travelers are raving about these Detroit Lakes hotels

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had a review on their website which mysteriously disappeared. I stayed at this hotel a year ago and was pleased so thought I would try again. This time I was very unhappy. The landscape around the hotel showed weeds growing throughout all the rocks. The front desk person was not very friendly. When I got up to my room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deb H
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes and the Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group will work diligently to ensure any claim is fully investigated. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. More 

Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Large rooms with fridge and microwave. Bed linens smelled clean, pillows weren't over stuffed. (A little to flat for my hubby) TV had a large tube tv with poor color. The fan in the bathroom did not work, not pleasant. When I did a final check upon leaving, I checked for anything possibly dropped and found an old shriveled orange... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bonzi84
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

The decor and furniture is very outdated. The brass bed was not brassy in spots from so many people touching it. The lampshades were all broken. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling and the pink tiles on the floor were dirty. On a good note, the sheets, pillowcases, and cotton blanket were all clean and smelled slightly of bleach... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Very old TV sets....bring your own flat screen...lotsa cobwebs around bldg. exterior....too much$$ for what you get......needs...tiny microwaves...put the fridge on top of the counter instead of the floor updating

Helpful?
Thank Rick A
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We appreciate your patronage and apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay, in regards to the overall cleanliness and condition of your room and the hotel. We will review the conditions of your room to make sure all rooms are up to standards. Your feedback is very beneficial and will help... More 

Hallock, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

This hotel is in a good location and the lobby area looks good. However our room needed work. The worst was the musty smell! All the other things are easy, cosmetic fixes. Old brass headboards, boxy tv, and old pictures make the room seem very outdated. The comforters were way too small for the beds. They looked like maybe a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Corinne L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#5 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#6 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
18.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House
#2 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes

Address: 1330 Highway 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Price Range: $100 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Detroit Lakes
Detroit Lakes Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay