We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Hotel Boldon

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Hotel Boldon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 414: English reviews
Start your review of Quality Hotel Boldon
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

A very exciting night for all those health professionals nominated for a health award. The disappointing experience started from arrival at 6.30pm. Queue at the bar only one member of staff serving baring in mind 400 guests were to attend this annual event. As the evening progressed things just got worse by the minute. The staff worked hard and were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes741
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked Sunday lunch and to celebrate my birthday. The restaurant was well set out but lacked atmosphere. We all but one ordered pork, it was not sliced and looked more like pork chops. The vegetables were awfully. The deserts were very poor. My grandson ordered a burger but could not eat it as it was raw in the middle.Definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
Nicole V, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review

Dear Gordon My apologies for what appears to have been a very bad experience. I have checked with my restaurant team and I believe that nothing was said by your party on the day. I understand that some guests do not like to make a fuss, however I would be very keen to rectify this matter would you be kind...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff lovely. breakfast was lovely. Rooms were clean. Some boisterous people shouting in the night but beds were so comfy we fell straight back asleep. Shower was great not like a typical hotel shower. We went and bought swim wear because the pool looked so good and it didnt disapoint. Would definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keri U
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed as a two room booking so we could attend a family function in the area, the staff made sure we were in adjacent rooms . The rooms were lovely and clean , very comfortable and the shower had excellent power , complimentary tea and coffee and a really quiet location looking onto an open inner court. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izzy625
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found the accommodation and service to be excellent all round, nothing was too much trouble, everything immaculate ! We had three double rooms booked as we were travelling up from Kent for a funeral , check in was meant to be 14.00 hrs , but our funeral was at 13.15 , meaning no time to freshen up and change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baz R
Nicole V, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review

Dear Baz Thank you for your great comments- I'm delighted that we have been able to assist you during your stay. We hope to see you again under nicer circumstances Kind regards GM

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in quality hotels before and they have always seemed to be better than expected. The room was comfy with a luxury bathroom with toiletries and all the fittings you would expect. I didn't eat here as there is a large asda and restaurants just down the road

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
Nicole V, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review

Dear Craig Thank you for your review, we hope that you will return soon and dine with us. I can assure you that we are much better than the nearby retail outlets Kind regards GM

IRLANDA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent time in the spa area with use of pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Then took afternoon tea in restaurant. Well worth £15. Staff most helpful and nothing too much trouble, bringing extra sandwiches and tea when we hadn't even asked for them. I would recommend this afternoon to anyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J D
Nicole V, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review

Dear JD Thank you for your lovely review, your words will go along way to offer encouragement to the team. We hope that you will return soon Kind regards GM

leeds
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel offers great value, great quality & great service...I really cant fault the place. Although it is easy to get to, straight off the A19, it is situated on a maze of a trading estate. Yes it is slightly out of the way for non drivers, but, on the plus side it is close enough to Newcastle city centrre...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank homesie
Nicole V, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review

Dear Homesie Thanks so much for your very kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon Kind regards GM

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First the positives, and there are many. The staff are friendly, efficient and very helpful, all important if you are a senior citizen. The room was a good size with an extremely large bed, which I did not find very comfortable. There was an air conditioning unit in the room which was extremely noisy, and the instructions did not inform...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elizabeth R
GMQHB, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth My apologies that you felt the need to post this review as your coach driver, tour host and fellow guests have been very complimentary of the stay. The wedding had eaten earlier that day at 4.00pm so I cannot understand how you saw food being taken through to the function room, as the evening buffet for the wedding...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table of 8 for Mother's Day which included 3 Mams and it was a total disaster, we sat down at 2.30 orders were taking straight away 3 course plus drinks, our starters came out 40 minutes later which were nice but not even warm, after that it's like we weren't there nobody came to ask us if we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jarralad83
Nicole V, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review

Dear Jarralad I'm not sure why you have not been in direct contact with the Hotel, which is standard protocol for a complaint. We ask for deposits on all special occasions and events as otherwise we could end up turning away business and be left with an empty restaurant, we are not a pub and do not operate on passing...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Boldon
3.0 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
4.0 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
683 reviews
4.7 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
314 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
QHB - The North East's most 'fresh, funky chic...FOUR STAR' Hotel.The Quality Hotel Boldon is one of the regions newest and stylish hotels combining the standards and quality of a four star venue.Our unrivaled location is central to Newcastle, Sunderland, Durham, Washington and South Tyneside with easy access from all major networks and public transport. QHB needs to be on the top of everyone's list of places to visit!BedroomsIt's not all about hard work and no play... Here at QHB we have 82 en-suite bedrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi rules the airwaves and our 32" plasma TV's will keep you entertained. Great beds for sleepy heads, en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower, IPod Docking stations (on request) and digital TV. We also offer same-day laundry, toiletries, room service, hairdryers, ironing facilities and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities.The Grill & Lounge Restaurant, The heart and soul of QHB, a dining concept which is simple, offer the highest standard of service in a relaxed and unrivaled setting... A touch of sophistication with a fusion of Grill and Home-cooked inspired menu. With a wine list to match and a cocktail list that will leave you stirred but not shaken!Boldon Fitness, after one of our team gives you a quick induction on the state of the art, 28-piece cardiovascular and resistance equipment in our gym, you can wind down in our 15 metre heated swimming pool. We also have a Sauna for complete stress reduction, relaxation and all-around better health. Then lie back in our 12 seat Jacuzzi or steam away your worries in the fragrance Steam room. Perfect for those who need time to unwind and recharge before bravely heading out onto the corporate front line.Meetings & Conferences. We are a purpose built superior conference venue with state of the art facilities hosting events for a total capacity of 425 delegates. Eight versatile conference and banqueting suites are at your disposal for whatever event you may be planning. QHB also houses a dedicated conference floor which has five meeting rooms with secured access that can be hired exclusively with a dedicated conference lounge. All suites are equipped with air-conditioning, state-of-the-art AV systems and complimentary Wi-Fi. Car Park. Access to car park complimentary for all guests and residents. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Boldon

Address: Jct A19/A184 Witney Way | Newcastle/ Sunderland, West Boldon NE35 9PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > West Boldon
Price Range: $77 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Boldon 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Boldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunderland Quality Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Quality Hotel Boldon staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Old Penshaw, null, United Kingdom
10 months ago
27 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Hotel Boldon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Away from central courtyard .”
RigottiFamily, Feb 11, 2017 | Read review
“winter ask beforehand for your room to be ready and heated before your arrival”
crazykerry_12, Jan 30, 2017 | Read review
“Numbers higher than 04 or 05 on each floor should be OK, 01 & 02 can be noisy”
M5456SGmichaeln, Dec 17, 2016 | Read review
“Very friendly staff, good breakfast, Amazing Lusso Suite.”
tomasr23, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
“Rear outer rooms = quieter. Inner rooms face the atrium - drinking in the evening, Affect your privacy / sleep.”
AndrewW825, Nov 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question