We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter

Save
Share
15739 Audubon Way Highway 371 North, Baxter, MN 56401-6959
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
HIExpress.com
$180
View Deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Lol.travel
$180
$168
View Deal
SAVE $12
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (81)
Room & Suite (33)
Pool & Beach (18)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Updated 08/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 8 hotels in Baxter
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter is home to the fun and exciting Three Bear Waterpark. Reserve a Waterpark Package & enjoy over 30,000 sq. ft. of water fun, including 3 water slides, lazy river, activity pool with water walk, zero depth Spray Deck with 1000 gallon dumping bucket, family hot tub, and adults only hot tub! A visit to the waterpark can really work up an appetite! Stay the day and grab a bite to eat at Three Bear Grill then onto more fun at Grizzly Arcade Room with a ticket/redemption & prize counter. Business travelers will enjoy our great business amenities such as free high-speed Internet with wireless and hardwire access, fitness room, 24 hour business center, complimentary business services such as FAX and print at the front desk, complimentary beverages for all Priority Club members, corporate quiet floor and discounted access to the FitQuest Athletic Club located 2 blocks behind the Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter.We are conveniently located to all attractions the Brainerd Lakes Area as to offer; closest hotel to Brainerd International Raceway, minutes away from Legacy Golf Courses, Paul Bunyan Trail, and Paul Bunyan Land.We are dedicated to satisfying every guest's needs and desires for an extraordinary Brainerd Lakes experience. Business or Pleasure we ll be right for you!We ll see you soon at the Holiday Inn Express in the Brainerd Lakes Area!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Water park
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Lazy river
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Estonian, German, Indonesian and 1 more
245Reviews6Q+A47Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 99
  • 87
  • 31
  • 11
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Fearlessbutter wrote a review Sep 15
Bloomington, Minnesota123 contributions28 helpful votes
Stayed one night on our way up north. The location is close to stores & restaurants. Check in was easy & appreciated they tried to adhere to Covid precautions. However the room could have been cleaner. Hair in bathroom, spill in the fridge, makes you wonder if they really are cleaning any better. Did not have the breakfast as the options were pretty limited & you have to order ahead to get it by 8- it just didn’t work with our schedule but again appreciated they were trying to adhere to social distancing. Beds were fine, a little highway noise can be heard but other than that it’s fine.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
misssarahg wrote a review Aug 2020
Indianapolis, Indiana218 contributions120 helpful votes
Originally booked 3 nights while in town visiting family. We amended our stay after night #1! This hotel is located in a prime tourist location, but severely run down and needs HELP! It does have the waterpark, which we didn’t partake. Overall, it just felt grungy. The elevator was filthy. They need to get rid of the carpet due to the waterpark foot traffic, because the whole place smelled musty. The room was musty, as well. Our room was not clean. There was all kinds of “crumbs” and debris around the base bed. We decided to stay elsewhere for our remaining two nights. Pretty disappointing for a Holiday Inn property and for $200 a night. This was a one and done for us!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi misssarahg, We welcome feedback from our valued guests like you. It is good to know you found our hotel location beneficial for your trip. We aim to exemplify a worry-free environment by providing a pleasant hotel experience and efficient services. I am sorry for any uneasiness you may have experienced because of the issues with the general upkeep of the hotel and the cleanliness standards of your room. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience. Your overall comments are taken seriously, and I'll make sure to pass it to the relevant departments for their review and action. To discuss this further, I sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you. Best, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
suzb_00 wrote a review Jan 2020
Fargo, ND326 contributions92 helpful votes
I've stayed at this location before several times but this is the first time I've experienced an issue. My fridge's freezer was filled with ice/frost and it should have been defrosted because the fridge wasn't cooling. So I defrosted it the first night I was there. Plus the bathroom sink drain was slow to the point I could barely turn the water on without it filling the sink up. These are things that should be fixed before someone stays in the room. They are things housekeeping should clearly see when then clean the room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Responded Feb 2, 2020
Hello suzb_00, Thank you for choosing to stay with us among your many hotel options. We greatly appreciate your willingness to share your feedback. We strive to continue being your top hotel choice where you can have a simple, engaging place to rest and recharge, and I am happy to see the almost-perfect score you've given us on both our staff's service and on your sleep quality. It is also great to know that you frequent our hotel. I am really sorry about the fridge not defrosted and for the bathroom sink issues encountered. Know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously improve our hotel and service for a more elevated hotel experience. We'll be delighted to welcome you back so we can provide you with a more refined hotel experience. Best, Kenneth F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Becky0103 wrote a review Oct 2019
Panama City, Florida74 contributions26 helpful votes
The worst place ever!!!! Entry is congested with families going to a water park and laser park that is part of the hotel. So check in is not without the challenge of screaming children, bathing suits, coolers, etc. After getting keys to room, we proceeded to the strangest elevator o have ever seen. Looks like a bank vault. I was so grossed out by our room. Dark, dark, dark, dank, and awful. Not the cleanest, but no where else to stay. I had something bite me all around my neck that night. Ugh. This could not have been a Holiday Inn built property. Just the IHG product were b thought in. The beds were uncomfortable, flooring was dark and dirty. Try your best not to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Responded Oct 7, 2019
Thank you Becky0103 for taking the time to review our property. I'm very sorry to read about your displeasure in our property, We do our very best to limit traffic to the front to assist our hotel guests prior to any outside guests, we will certainly work with our staff to better address to ensure people are being helped promptly. I'm sorry that you did not like your accommodations; I wish we would have had the opportunity to address that while you were onsite, we must certainly would have done our best to fix the matter or switched you to a better suite to suit your needs. We did have the availability to do so. Based on the information provided through the review site we inspected each room, as we want to ensure any possibility of insects are taken care of immediately. Thankfully we did not find anything, but will continue to monitor. For everyone's safety please don't hesitate to bring questions of bites to staff attention right away, so we may address it; that would be my recommendation for any future travel at any property. Again I'm very sorry that you had a distaste for our property, we will do our very best to improve for future guests. Safe Travels, Thomas V Manager
Read more
Travel97 wrote a review Aug 2019
Marion, Iowa19 contributions2 helpful votes
It’s a nice hotel. It’s well kept, clean, okayish breakfast, waterpark, laser tag, and friendly service. But there’s way to many kids. I don’t know if they walls are just thin, but I could hear kids running in the halls all night. I could hear full conversations and kids crying in the room next to me. Unfortunately, I was here for work and couldn’t choose my hotel, so I got stuck here. I didn’t sleep the time I was there. Oh, the kids also tried to come into my room many times.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Responded Sep 10, 2019
Hello 297deving, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay. I'm glad to see that the upkeep of the room is up to your standards. It's nice to know that you liked your breakfast to start your day! We’re committed to delivering True Hospitality for everyone and it seems that some lapses made a negative impact on your experience. I'm sorry to hear your discomfort due to noise disturbance. This is not the experience we want you to remember us. I shared this with our local management. I'm sure that the required actions will be fulfilled for the enhancement of the service. We hope you'll give us another chance to host your stay again and we'll do our greatest to make your next visit impeccable as it can be! Safe travels, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$107 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express hotel and suites brainerd-baxter, holiday inn baxter, baxter holiday inn, holiday inn express baxter
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaBaxter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter?
Nearby attractions include Three Bear Waterpark & Craguns Laser Tag (0.02 miles) and Craguns Laser Tag and Three Bear Waterpark (0.01 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter?
Conveniently located restaurants include Prairie Bay Grill, Grizzly's Wood-Fired Grill & Bar, and Boulder Tap House - Baxter.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, Indonesian, and Estonian.