We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Somerset Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Somerset Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had to book this hotel very last minute, and after staying here, I am not surprised that it was the only thing available for our family. Room was spacious, but outdated. The onsite restaurant was, I hate to say, awful - had both breakfast and dinner there. Food was greasy, overpriced and nothing special. This area north of Detroit... More 

Helpful?
Thank MomOfEMM
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm in the middle of a 3 day stay here, and if I weren't here with on my corporate rate, I'd probably move hotels for the price. As others have said this is an extremely out dated hotel. That aside there are many places where they could improve: 1. the current pillows are lumpy and polyester - almost impossible to... More 

Helpful?
Thank PattersonBoston
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations with regard to some of our small details, but glad to know that our staff was "professional and friendly." You’ll be happy to know that we're making some updates to the items that you had concerns with. We're changing out some of our current work-out equipment... More 

Merrill, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was dirty, wifi is very slow. The onsite restaurant is expensive for the food quality. It is very outdated. It was probably the nicest place around in the 80's. Front desk people and hosts in restaurant are not very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Scott M
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our Front Desk Staff would have gladly moved your room had we known that you were not happy with your accommodations. We also have a "hotline" (this information is in every guestroom) that connects directly to our General Manager and had you opted to use that function, I am certain that... More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Somerset Inn because I wanted to spend the entire day at the mall and it was great! I am extremely particular and requested a very clean and quiet room . I stayed in room 813 and next time I will request the room across the hall because the only problem was that I heard all of... More 

Helpful?
Thank 99Diane
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this very kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location, our food and our staff are some of our biggest assets. You'll be happy to learn that we are engaging in a guest room renovation early next year. Our new guest rooms are going to match the look and feel of... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel attracted us due to its proximity to Summerset Collection. It has nice lobby.The room seemed clean, but bathroom was fairly dated with sticky bathtub. The noisy/old-style air conditioning woke us up in the middle of the night. We were completely exhausted from constant noise so we packed and left at about 5 am. We just did not feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank tony f
Boynton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016

We stayed at this property for only one night when we had to make last minute reservations to stay someplace after driving all night for a death in the family. Hotels were booked solid but we were able to get a room at Somerset. This property reminds me of old school quality. You can tell it was once a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Comitis
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

We have been staying here for family functions the last 3 years, and the staff is on top of things all the time. We always ask for 2nd floor and usually get it, really all the time. In the last month we have stayed at least 10 days, with family in connecting rooms. I could not ask for a better... More 

Helpful?
Thank patcooper2016
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Dear patcooper2016, Fantastic!! We appreciate your thoughtful review of our Hotel; and we especially thank you for taking your time to share your experiences at the Somerset Inn. We could not ask for a more considerate guest!! We look forward to seeing you during your next visit!! Thank you for choosing our Hotel. Kind regards, The Somerset Staff More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

I've stayed here twice for business reasons and decided I should give my take on it. The hotel is dated but clean. The rooms are a good size, clean, flat screen tv, dated otherwise. The king bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom was clean and everything worked. I ate at the restaurant and tried the salmon for dinner. It was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Biztraveler2222
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

For me very correct price/quality ratio. Hotel easily accessible, near to shopping mall and number of restaurants. Nice breakfast, restaurant is not spectacular but quite solid. Heating noisy but is not that strange in the US :) Rooms are clean

Helpful?
Thank miguelito1968
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Dear Miguelito1968, Thank you for taking time to write a review of your experience at the Somerset Inn. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future! Kind regards, The Somerset Staff More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

As other reviewers have said, the Somerset Inn won't win awards for fabulousness. But the staff is very helpful and accommodating and the rooms are very clean. Free parking and a good location make it a perfectly serviceable place to stay in the Detroit suburbs. Excellent shopping mall very close by.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Dear NancyM, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Somerset Inn. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, hopefully you also liked our recent public space renovation, and our extraordinary location. Please visit us again soon. Kind regards, The Somerset Staff More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
1.5 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the comfort of the fresh and stylish guest rooms equipped with high speed and wireless internet, flat screen TVs, voice mail, coffee and tea makers, hairdryers, iron and boards, large work desks, dressing and make-up mirrors, marble countertops, and modern decor. Some guest rooms over-look the picturesque garden patio or the Somerset Collection mall, and others have a panoramic view of the small, but scenic, executive golf course. The Somerset Inn's own Crumpets Restaurants is a popular local eatery where local business leaders can be seen frequently. In-room dining is also available. On-site cardio room, lobby computer and a quaint but comfy lobby Bar and Grille. Located adjacent to the magnificent Somerset Collection shopping mall. Complimentary parking. 3/4 mile west of I-75 on Big Beaver in Troy, Michigan. There is no longer the pool that TripAdvisor lists incorrectly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset Inn

Address: 2601 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084-3390
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Price Range: $122 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Somerset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Troy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay