We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City

1614 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Visit hotel website
2 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Travelocity
$89
View Deal
Free cancellation until 10/05/19
Reserve now, pay at stay
Grandstay.com
$100
View Deal
ZenHotels.com
$100
$88
View Deal
SAVE $12
Reserve now, pay at stay
Orbitz.com$89
Expedia.com$89
Hotwire.com$89
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (59)
Room & Suite (59)
Pool & Beach (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, MI. We know there's no place like home, but with our updated furnishings, room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on GrandStay to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style Grand Start breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals
548Reviews3Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 285
  • 174
  • 56
  • 16
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I love this hotel! They are smaller but the rooms are always clean and the staff is extremely accommodating. We have stayed here on more than one occasion and they never disappoint. We brought a large group in January and then stayed as a couple again in February. You can’t beat the price either.
Read more
Response from grandstaytc, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay at the GrandStay Traverse City. I'm so happy to hear of your experiences and am honored that you have returned time and time again to enjoy our amenities and hotel. We know you have a lot of options when traveling and am so happy that you have enjoy and keep returning to the GrandStay. Looking forward for your next visit!
Read more
Smaller hotel, helpful staff. Used the swimming pool and hot tub, strong chlorine smell but clean. Rooms were decent size and clean. Poor ventilation, our bathroom vent did not work so the room had a musky smell even with the AC on. Within walking distance to most major attractions.
Read more
Response from grandstaytc, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Responded Aug 16, 2019
Thank you for your recent review of the GrandStay hotel1. I'm so happy that you found the accommodations wonderful and you enjoyed your stay. I will have our maintenance department address the ventalation issue in your bathroom to see why it was doing that. Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Read more
This was the cleanest and nicest hotel that we stayed in during our weeklong Michigan vacation. Room was large, clean and bright. Common areas were kept up in excellent condition. Nice breakfast selection and eating area. Very friendly and helpful staff. There was a guest laundry available. Free wifi service was fast. I have mixed feelings about the location. On the plus side, it is right next to DQ and Pirates Cove - so the kids will love being able to walk to get a treat and play mini golf. On paper it is right across from the water. However the road is actually a very busy 5 lane highway. Traffic is extremely heavy, bumper to bumper during peak hours. The only real beach access is a 1/2 mile walk down to a pedestrian bridge. Downtown can be a hectic 10-15 minute drive.
Read more
Response from grandstaytc, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Responded Aug 11, 2019
Thank you for your recent visit to the GrandStay. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodations were very nice. We are very proud of our hotel and love to make vacation memories for our guests. While on maps it shows we are across the water, we do not advertise this as you can see there is no public access to the water except for the state park down the street. For the safety of our guests we do not recommend crossing the road except for the designated cross walks. The city does offer free shuttle service through our bus system to the downtown for all hotels on US 31. I hope that we see you again very soon while you enjoy the Traverse City area.
Read more
This was our first time in Traverse City. We really didn’t expect to be in an older hotel that sits on a busy road. The hotel is also far away from the real downtown area of Traverse City. We got to our room and I went to the bathroom and was grossed out. The bathtub looks moldy but the front desk told me “the paint was peeling off.” The corner of the tub area looked filthy and moldy. The front desk was friendly and moved us to another room. This room is less moldy but as we were getting ready for bed, our neighbor was taking a shower and the noise through the wall was drowning out the tv. This hotel is overpriced and in dire need of renovation. The pictures are from the first room they tried to put us in today.
Read more
Response from grandstaytc, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Responded Aug 8, 2019
Hello Missy. I am sorry that you felt the hotel was overpriced and not to your liking. We take pride in our hotel and our guests and am sorry that you felt otherwise. Our staff attempted to rectify the situation by moving you rooms and am disappointed that you were still unhappy. I wish you would have contacted me prior to make this right for you as we were under the impression your party was happy. As for our location from downtown, we are 3.5 miles from downtown Traverse Ciy! Thank you again for your review and wish you much happy travels.
Read more
Many times in TC and first time staying here. Location is good but dislike turning left onto the main road from anyplace on that strip of road. Breakfast options average at best- not bad- just average. I've seen far worse in almost 20 years of business travel. Not much for hot offerings and didn't see bacon during our stay- just that run of the mill weird looking sausage. Nice that they yogurt was well stocked and two flavors to choose from- too bad it was all the Yoplait with the high fructose corn syrup. Room was nice and clean. I didn't hear neighbors but wife said she did. if you want to freeze in your room the climate control allows you to do that. Place was clean and staff didn't make you wonder where they were hired from. Felt we and our property were safe. Would stay here again. You can do a lot worse in TC.
Read more
Response from grandstaytc, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Responded Jul 28, 2019
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I'm happy you found the hotel to your liking. We are proud of our hotel and are glad that you were able to find out heating and cooling system was working properly and allowed for your own settings. We unfortunately do not offer bacon on our breakfast, however offer the scrambled eggs, Jones Farm Sausage, Make-your-own waffles and more with our hot breakfast display with a full line of cold/hot cereals, pastries, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, bagels, breads and more. Our breakfast has been enjoyed by many and I'm sorry that it was not to what you wanted. I do wish you much success in the future travels.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
americinn traverse city, americinn hotel traverse city
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
AmericInn Traverse City
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganTraverse City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing