We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Quality Inn By the Bay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Quality Inn By the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 192: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a 2 story older hotel. That is Not a negative. The first floor rooms open to the parking lot which is great for unloading and reloading luggage. We parked right by our door. The rooms are clean and roomy but not large. It had all the usual amenities.frig, microwave, coffeemaker, TV etc.plus a pool, and brkfst. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patteq
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are proud to know you enjoyed your stay. We are happy you found the rooms on the ground floor with exterior entrance very convenient. We are proud to know you enjoyed your clean and comfortable rooms as well as our friendly staff.... More 

Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No microwave in our room, but all the other normal amenities. Freshly painted in some common areas. Rooms facing the bay will have the best views, but may cost more. Pool, exercise room, and business facilities. Value good for the area.

Helpful?
Thank edq88222
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry your room did not have a microwave. We hope you had a chance to mention this matter to our staff so that we would have been able to deliver a microwave to your room. We are happy to know you found our location convenient... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is an older establishment, with a slightly musty smell. If your kids or you have mold allergies, look elsewhere! It was clean and the bed linens were high quality. The location across from the water was nice and easy access via car to downtown restaurants. Many doors open to the outside-but directly to the parking lot-made it feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorinda M
Grass Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

We rented a room for one night on 8/13/16. As soon as we opened the door we could smell a mildew or urine smell--weren't sure which--until we went in the (tiny, tiny) bathroom and found that the shower curtain reeked of mildew. Then, when I was washing my face, the sink backed up and wouldn't drain immediately. Once it went... More 

Helpful?
Thank sweatpea3814
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and shring your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, please accept my sincere apology for falling short of your expectations. I am sorry for the mildew smell you experienced that have seemed to be coming from the shower curtain. Our housekeeping team strive to make sure everything is checked with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and courteous. Unfortunately that's about the extent of what I can say positively about my family's stay here. The room wasn't cleaned very well and our sheets had quite a few stains on them. The food for breakfast was low quality and there wasn't much of it- it's first come first serve and they put very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding yur recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for falling short of your expectations. We are proud to know you were satisfied with our staff's service but we are sorry for falling short in our housekeeping department. We strive to offer a clean and comfortable hotel backed by... More 

North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

we were 'upgraded' to a suite due to some problem with the property...should have left instead. it seemed like the suite hadn't been opened in weeks or months - musty smelling and hot inside. (it was 92F outside when we arrived) only a small wall unit in the bedroom - not nearly large enough to cool the suite, so we... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnelrog
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Johnson, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback. On behalf of my entire team, please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations. We wanted to offer to upgrade you to a larger two room suite dur the our hotwater boiler system was having trouble and we ewanted to provide an better alternative. We... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

I made a reservation earlier tonight and even had a confirmation email sent to me. At 10:30 this evening I get a phone call that they cannot honor that price. I had already cancelled a previous reservation at another hotel and now I'm left without a room for a family vacation. I'm furious!!!! If you make a reservation be where... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Sir, When you made your reservation with us, my front desk agent tried to explain to you that our rates changed from weekday (Sunday through Thursday) to weekend (Friday & Saturday). You demanded to have the lower rate that was for Thursday to be applied to the Friday & Saturday night rate. My front desk agent was so shaken... More 

Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was cheaper. The room was clean, but no frills. The toilet and sink needed some work. Breakfast was pretty standard hotel food. This hotel was fine for one night, but I would not want to spend a week's vacation there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura7171
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your ecperience and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Ray M. Manager More 

Rock Mills, AL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Quality Inn in North Traverse City. There was one small air conditioning unit in the bed room in the back....and a box fan....I got the couch in the front part of room. The first night I thought I would suffocate. There was only a blanket for the couch and it was hot! Second night... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry you had trouble with getting the room at a comfortable temperature. I'm glad the second night was better. It is challenging when the only a/c unit in the room is located in the back bed room. We are happy to know you were satisfied... More 

Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

It was a haven in the summer time over priced hotel market in Traverse City . The Quality Hotel is easy to get to, it's right off of M31 across the street from the bay and It's probably an extra 3 to 4 mile drive into downtown from there. For lunch or dinner there is quite a variety of known... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank pattyann0724
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Patty, Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are proud to know you enjoiyed your stay from the location to downtown and area restaurant. We are in the process of updating and paiting the hotel. We are looking to get new furniture in the fall. We are also in the process of updating... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traverse City
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme – Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse...
#36 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.0 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#29 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $69 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay