We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Quality Inn By the Bay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Quality Inn By the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 189: English reviews
Grass Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented a room for one night on 8/13/16. As soon as we opened the door we could smell a mildew or urine smell--weren't sure which--until we went in the (tiny, tiny) bathroom and found that the shower curtain reeked of mildew. Then, when I was washing my face, the sink backed up and wouldn't drain immediately. Once it went... More 

Helpful?
Thank sweatpea3814
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and shring your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, please accept my sincere apology for falling short of your expectations. I am sorry for the mildew smell you experienced that have seemed to be coming from the shower curtain. Our housekeeping team strive to make sure everything is checked with... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff was very friendly and courteous. Unfortunately that's about the extent of what I can say positively about my family's stay here. The room wasn't cleaned very well and our sheets had quite a few stains on them. The food for breakfast was low quality and there wasn't much of it- it's first come first serve and they put very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding yur recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for falling short of your expectations. We are proud to know you were satisfied with our staff's service but we are sorry for falling short in our housekeeping department. We strive to offer a clean and comfortable hotel backed by... More 

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

we were 'upgraded' to a suite due to some problem with the property...should have left instead. it seemed like the suite hadn't been opened in weeks or months - musty smelling and hot inside. (it was 92F outside when we arrived) only a small wall unit in the bedroom - not nearly large enough to cool the suite, so we... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnelrog
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Johnson, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback. On behalf of my entire team, please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations. We wanted to offer to upgrade you to a larger two room suite dur the our hotwater boiler system was having trouble and we ewanted to provide an better alternative. We... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

I made a reservation earlier tonight and even had a confirmation email sent to me. At 10:30 this evening I get a phone call that they cannot honor that price. I had already cancelled a previous reservation at another hotel and now I'm left without a room for a family vacation. I'm furious!!!! If you make a reservation be where... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Sir, When you made your reservation with us, my front desk agent tried to explain to you that our rates changed from weekday (Sunday through Thursday) to weekend (Friday & Saturday). You demanded to have the lower rate that was for Thursday to be applied to the Friday & Saturday night rate. My front desk agent was so shaken... More 

Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was cheaper. The room was clean, but no frills. The toilet and sink needed some work. Breakfast was pretty standard hotel food. This hotel was fine for one night, but I would not want to spend a week's vacation there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura7171
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your ecperience and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Ray M. Manager More 

Rock Mills, AL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Quality Inn in North Traverse City. There was one small air conditioning unit in the bed room in the back....and a box fan....I got the couch in the front part of room. The first night I thought I would suffocate. There was only a blanket for the couch and it was hot! Second night... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry you had trouble with getting the room at a comfortable temperature. I'm glad the second night was better. It is challenging when the only a/c unit in the room is located in the back bed room. We are happy to know you were satisfied... More 

Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

It was a haven in the summer time over priced hotel market in Traverse City . The Quality Hotel is easy to get to, it's right off of M31 across the street from the bay and It's probably an extra 3 to 4 mile drive into downtown from there. For lunch or dinner there is quite a variety of known... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank pattyann0724
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Patty, Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are proud to know you enjoiyed your stay from the location to downtown and area restaurant. We are in the process of updating and paiting the hotel. We are looking to get new furniture in the fall. We are also in the process of updating... More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

We had another good stay at The Quality Inn by the bay. They don't hane a shuttle so it cost us $30 to go down town and back. Everything was good as per previous visits. Clean and well kept. The breakfast is still very meagre, not even bagels. We skip the breakfast and go other places. Wifi worked well.

Helpful?
2 Thank Summer5
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are proud to know you enjoyed your stay but are sorry the hotel does not have shuttle service. For the most part we are centrally located but it does help if shuttle service was provided by the hotel. Also, we are sorry you did not enjoy... More 

Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

First time staying at this property and we weren't sure if any of the favorable reviews were believable or not. turns out they were ast his hotel was better than expected from the friendly staff, clean room, well lit and ample parking, the convenient location and general overall value. We arrived earlier than planned and the front dest staff allowed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shrewdgrud
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback. Thank you for deciding to stay with us and we are proud to know you were pleasantly surprised by the level of service you received from our friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms and the overall convenience of our location. We are proud... More 

Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016

My wife and I don't a chance to get away together very often, so when an opportunity comes I jump at it. We drove to Traverse Wednesday night Pulled into the Quality Inn and checked to see if a room was available. Being the off season we had no problem, and were given a excellent room, with 2 double beds,... More 

Helpful?
Thank chasf64
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, On behalf of our entire Quality Inn Team, I would like to thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted and proud to know you enjoyed your stay from check in to check out. We appreciate you took a chance on us not having a reservation and we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traverse City
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse...
#35 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme – Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
2.0 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#27 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Traverse City
Howard Johnson Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $77 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay