We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Booking.com$168*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Panoramas (33)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

809 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 806: English reviews
Start your review of West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
 Click to rate
Southfield, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When I booked the hotel through the unfortunate 1-800 outsourced number, I was told that we would have a complimentary 2 pm check out time, which I joyfully accepted. The night before we were to check out, I went to the front desk just to confirm it as we had made plans in the morning and planned to come back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ohemgeeitsjenn
Hunter R, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Good afternoon ohemgeeitsjenn, Thank you for being our guest and sharing with us the things we could have done to make it better. We are very sorry to hear that we did not honor the full extent of your late checkout and hope it did not create a negative impact of your overall stay. Thank you for choosing our resort...

Livonia
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed February 2, 2017

We were in town to see Marty Stuart at the casino north of town. We wanted to be in town for the obvious charms Traverse City has to offer. From the moment we entered the lobby, Josh made us feel welcome. He helped us with our room and breakfast. He suggested we call the hotel directly for future bookings to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
About Hotel's Favorite Review
Hunter R, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hi Richard C, We enjoyed your review and were greatly encouraged by it! It was exciting to read all the names of the staff who made an impact on your visit and went the extra mile. We look forward to having you back and hope next visit you'll find the time to use the pool. Stay warm! Hunter

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Right on the Lake shore, the West Bay Beach resort is ideally located. There is an outdoor bar, patio, and restaurant overlooking the lake. Short 5-min/.2mile walk into the heart of downtown (using a small tunnel under the lakefront road). The hotel offers unique amenities: indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub, arcade room on the second floor, coffee lounge and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Hunter R, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback and sharing many areas in which we can improve such as wifi, housekeeping service, and better blackout window shades. Our wifi is undergoing a complete remodel to make it much faster and reliable for our guests. Our team is committed to providing the best service and experience for our guests! -Hunter

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was being renovated, and they couldn't get the temperature right in the meeting room. It was also off-season so food-service was spotty for our class participants. Still, the staff was friendly, and the views out across Lake Michigan couldn't be beat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
Hunter R, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Good afternoon Mark T, I'm sorry to hear our renovations inconvenienced you and your group. We appreciate you choosing our resort for your conference and assure you these will not be an issue for your next visit. We appreciate your comments and will use them to constantly better ourselves for our guests! Sincerely, Hunter

Winston Salem, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I definitely will go back to this hotel. I arrived late and had to leave early for business. My room 301 was spacious, beautiful and had a direct view of the water front. My check in was easy and quick. I enjoyed a starbucks coffee in the bistro (Starbucks gift cards NOT accepted!!) The room decor was wonderful and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelbO71BK
Hunter R, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hello Michaleb071BK! Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! Sorry that you had to eventually leave your room. Please come back and visit us soon and enjoy the amenities we have to offer.

Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This past weekend I stayed at this hotel with 11 other women celebrating an elementary teacher wine weekend. We were all excited to get away and relax and enjoy a carefree weekend in Traverse City. We booked this hotel because on the surface it looks like it would be a perfect fit. But from the beginning we had a terrible...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank emilystout
Hunter R, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hello emilystout, I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed in your visit. Please know we strive to provide only the best customer service. I'm glad to know we were able to resolve the miscommunication at check-in and get the room you needed. I also would like to personally apologize for the shuttle van experience and the inconvenience it caused. Because...

Ormond Beach, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Needs some updating, and The person that checked me in was not too sharp but room was clean, on the water so views were excellent, hotel restaurant was very good for dinner (room service) and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marykhenry
Hunter R, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Good Day Marykhenry, Thanks for being our guest and providing us with feedback regarding your stay. Sounds like you enjoyed our wonderful location on West Bay and unbeatable sunset views. In the coming months we will be rolling out a brand new menu and would love to hear your thoughts on these fresh ideas. Have a great summer!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I went for a quick getaway and stayed at the West Bay Holiday Inn for our 1st Anniversary. They greeted us with smiles and were very accommodating. They gave us a beautiful room over looking the bay, had fresh chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of white wine waiting in our refrigerator at no additional cost. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
Hunter R, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hello Michelle C, Thank you for the 5 star review! It was a pleasure to be part of this special occasion. Come see us this summer and enjoy boat rentals, live music, and beautiful sunsets over West Bay. Congratulations on your anniversary and we wish you the very best!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I love this hotel!! Every time I come up to Traverse City I stay here. It is in the perfect location and is beautiful and very clean! I had my bachelorette party here this past weekend and my experience this time was no different. All 12 of the people in my party loved the hotel and we had so much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn Z
Hunter R, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Good afternoon Jenn Z, Thank you for choosing to have your bachelorette party with us here at West Bay Beach Resort. It's great to hear Paul, our newest bartender, is already making such a great impression and living up to our high expectations of great customer service! Hopefully your visit helped ease some of the stress that comes with wedding...

Lambertville, Michigan
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Upon check in we were greeted by a very friendly clerk. The staff we encountered was very helpful throughout our stay. We had a very nice view overlooking the West Bay. The negative part of the room was it was over the night club, so Friday night all we heard was the thumping of the base until close to 1am....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly W
Hunter R, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review

Hello Kelly W, I am happy to know your overall visit was a good. However, I do apologize for the noise from the club that hindered you from getting restful sleep as well as the frustrations from the sharp bed frame. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will make the necessary changes to get this room better set up for...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

487 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (158)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (228)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Kids Suite (29)
Viewed
King Executive (27)
Viewed
King Roll-in Shower (26)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Standard One King (30)
Viewed
Standard Two Queen (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
4.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
2,997 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
284 reviews
3.2 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#32 of 40 in Traverse City
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort! Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you are in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating with boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686-2617 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $145 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question
South Haven
27 days ago
Farmington Hills, Michigan
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms on the end have amazing views of the water. My coworker was in 302 and he raved about his room and the views”
michaelbO71BK, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The wi-fi in the rooms went in and out during our whole stay. Don't plan on doing any work while you are there.”
emilystout, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“We looked on traversecity.com and found a great coupon under the True Escape Package!”
michellecE5898QV, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask not to be over the night club.”
L7445YFkellyw, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“You'd probably want to stay away from the bar pub areas if you go to bed early”
RunnerGirl0922, Apr 10, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$168* /night
View Deal
Priceline$168
Travelocity$168
Expedia.com$168
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates