We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Econo Lodge

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

While I would likely stay at the Traverse City Econo Lodge again, it would only be because of the price. This motel is generally comfortable, but it is dated - needs remodeling and minor repairs. The staff were friendly and helpful while the breakfast provided was very limited. Overall not a negative stay, just not indulged.

Helpful?
Thank JAAdale
Venice
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had two rooms for two nights in June. Rooms were clean, non smoking rooms still a bit musty. Beds were not comfortable at all. We left our dirty towels on the floor to be replaced but after the room was made up the dirty ones remained and no clean ones. We paid 63.00 a nite and were lucky to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Venetianblond627
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm pretty tolerant when it comes to motels. However, the toilet almost didn't flush and the AC would stay on for more than 30 seconds before it quit cooler - but the fan kept running. Didn't realize it until about midnight when I woke up hot. Mentioned it in the morning to desk clerk and didn't get much of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carl F

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was very expensive for the type of room you will receive. I did not expect too much being a lodge and one of the least expensive places in Traverse City but your curtain should be working to shut at night. The faucet should not be dripping and all the light fixtures should be working. The bathroom lighting was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janice B
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016 via mobile

I was a little apprehensive about staying here based on the poor reviews but was pleasantly surprised. The desk clerk and her trainee were friendly. Check in took a little long but I understood because they were training. No problem. My room was clean and comfortable. The Internet was acceptable as I was able to stream a movie. I slept... More 

Helpful?
Thank TruckDriverJen
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to provide our guests with great customer service and a clean, comfortable room at an affordable rate. It is great to know that you found this to be the case. Thank you for your patience while we were... More 

Stanton, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

My husband and I have been coming to this motel 2 - 3 times a year for 2-3 day stay for 3 to 4 years. We have had good experiences but this last time almost ruined my time in Traverse City. We bring our small dog and we pay for him $10.00 a day. The first morning we were there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie P
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Welcome back to the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are sorry and surprised to hear that you had a bad experience with our front desk person. The person in question normally receives glowing reviews for friendliness. This has been addressed and she apologizes for allowing some personal issues to effect her performance. While we discourage leaving dogs in the room... More 

Roseville, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

I stayed 2 nights with my young daughter. The main reason for booking room here was the pool so my daughter would be entertained. The first night we did go to pool and the spa had a thick bubbly scum on it. not just a little bit, but at least an inch or more thick. The pool water was cloudy.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cac684
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Apparently someone decided to add bubblebath to the water, which causes an unbalance in the chemicals. The waffle iron is cleaned multiple times a day. More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

The woman working the front desk was unfriendly and charged my card before I even walked in the door. Room reeked of smoke. The hotel was dirty and in disrepair. Spend the extra money for a better hotel! TRUST ME!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unhappy with our policy, but it is our policy to run credit cards the morning of arrival (many places now charge at the time reservations are made). Guests may change their method of payment at check in. Most guests find this to be very helpful and it speeds up the check in process. We... More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

We could not decide either to stay in the city or not but it's difficult to find an accommodation with a pet. We had two queen beds in our first floor room. The room is kinda smell, some stains on the carpet. It's an old hotel with old beds but it's ok for an overnight stay. Jets pizza, wallgreen, Chinese... More 

Helpful?
Thank MyShorty P
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We were pleased to have you and your puppy as our guests and hope to see you in the future. Our high volume of traffic does sometimes make in difficult to get into rooms to shampoo he carpets although with things slowing down a little, our maintenance man has been sneaking... More 

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

Worn out and dirty fleabag hotel, in desperate need of a makeover....... Beds were old, base of bed was so broken they had to call someone in to fix it, tub was dirty from weak scrubbing, torn wallpaper, strange smells, green pool, filthy carpet. desperately trying to find something good to say except stay away...... Okay girl at front counter... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RichHaynes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your two night stay. Although maintenance was called in at the guest's request for the bed, the only thing found wrong was caused by bouncing children. The beds themselves in this room were replaced just over a year ago. We will be replacing more beds in the upcoming months as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traverse City
3.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
7.6 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse...
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
7.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Traverse City
Howard Johnson Traverse City
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme – Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and operated. Located seven miles south of downtown Traverse City, near Interlochen, Buckley and Kingsley. Recent upgrades include: new carpet, new wallpaper, in-room coffee makers, expanded wif-fi service throughout the building, flat screen TV's in most guest rooms. All rooms are now equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Other amenities include: free continental breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, in-room hair dryers. Dogs accepted with permission. We have parking available for trucks, trailers, motor coaches and other large vehicles. We offer wine tour packages in cooperation with the Leelanau Peninsula Vintner's Association several times throughout the year. If you have a special need/request, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1065 M-37 South, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $57 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay