We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 314: English reviews
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were at Sugar Beach for 3d/2n last week. This is our 3rd year staying with them while in town for hockey tournaments. We were in a suite - room 220. The room is great, gorgeous views of the bay and beds were comfy. Negatives were the door lock on the door was broken off on one screw and barely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heather_lynn_moore
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Heather for your wonderful review of your stay with us. We enjoy being able to host out of town hockey teams like yours. We are very fortunate to have the gorgeous views of East Bay. We apologize on the negatives you had in your room, we would like to inform you that the room you were in along...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was nice and staff was friendly. Rooms were well kept up and clean. The pool area was extremely nice and very large. Only negatives were the beds and the free breakfast....the beds were lumpy and the breakfast was very basic - no scrambled eggs and no meat. What they did serve at breakfast was good though. We would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huron727
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can not believe how nice and spacious of a suite (Family Suite) we got for next to nothing! We usually stay at the Cambria Suites but decided to check out the Sugar Beach Resort because we needed a Tesla Destination charger for our car. The Family Suite has two king sized beds, one in a bedroom, two big screen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeslaSarah
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Reviewed December 16, 2016

I had the impression that we were at a fancy upscale resort. Our kids thought we were crazy to stay at such a nice place. Little did they realize that it didn't cost as much as it looks like it would. The pool and spa looked as though it was just put in and the water looked clean enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilderjohn7
Fremont, California
Reviewed November 25, 2016

My wife and myself planned this vacation just a day before memorial day weekend holiday... totally spontaneous... googled traverse city in the maps... reviewed hotels and just tried for the first time. We lived in Chicago. It's was a super decision that we made to drive down to Traverse City (4.5 hours drive) and great that we opted to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirish V
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed November 22, 2016

My husband and I spent the past weekend at Sugar Beach Resort and enjoyed ourselves as we always do. Staff are friendly, attentive and the facilities are very clean and well cared for. Recent renovations enhance the beauty of this lakeside resort. We enjoyed a guest appreciation on Saturday afternoon featuring a couple of wines from a local vineyard, Black...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alsue1997
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Al & Sue, Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and wonderful review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you have been able to take advantage of our new Preferred Customer Program, and 1st time event. We will be having more events in the future so keep an eye out for the...

Nokomis, Florida
Reviewed November 18, 2016

Had a ground floor lake front room. Queen and king bed, great linen and pillows. Staff was friendly check in quick. Clean well presented room. Breakfast was less than desired but probably average if the space hadn't been so crowded, we hit on one of the busier weekends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RckMtn12
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your beach front room. We are always open to suggestions as to how to improve our guests stays. Please feel free to let us know of any suggestions you may have on how to improve our breakfast. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to...

Reviewed November 9, 2016

I really wanted to like this place. When we pulled up we thought it was a nice location. It is right on the water (but so are LOTS of other hotels in that vicinity). We were greeted by a young blonde lady that was extremely friendly and helpful. So far so good. We booked our room through one of these...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank just a
Tierra Verde, Florida, United States
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Room was good for three or four people because of the option of a larger room with a king and a queen bed on the water side of the property. Check in was smooth, but unable to get into the room until 4pm although we arrived earlier. The breakfast was minimal and the room was small for the weekend crowd.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Patricia, Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and the gorgeous views of East bay. We would love to hear any and all suggestions you may have on how to improve our breakfast. We hope to see you and your family again...

Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

My first impression when I pulled in was that it was a good sized hotel that looked cute and charming. Check in went smooth, but the lobby smelled of chlorine from the pool. It was kind of difficult to find our room. There are no signs at the doors or outside of the elevators to tell you which rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobmarrocco
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
2,683 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $69 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sugar Beach Resort Hotel staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Beach Resort Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book early if you want a beach side room. Well worth the view”
 of 5 bubbles wilderjohn7, Dec 16, 2016 | Read review
“Lake view should be a good preference”
 of 5 bubbles shirishv2015, Nov 25, 2016 | Read review
“I thought one of the bedrooms had a little too much access to street lighting, but the kids didn't care.”
 of 5 bubbles Momtoexchangestudent, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“Sunday-Thursday better value”
 of 5 bubbles KaronS418, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“Even number rooms face lake/beach.”
 of 5 bubbles d0mnac, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay