We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 294: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location on the East Bay, perfect for families or couples. I had a second floor room right on the lake; even number rooms face the lake/beach. Rooms are clean and well-maintained, have free wifi, and TV with DVD player. Table and chairs plus microwave and mini-refrigerator means a family can save some money by having a quick lunch in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Domna C
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
198 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my husband, daughter and 18 month grandson. The microwave did not work until maintenance came up and discovered it was not plugged in. The refrigerator froze everything. The pak n play was not set up correctly and necessitated three calls before it was child safe. Plus they charge 10 dollars extra per day?!? The staff are friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank msl50birm
Southgate, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this particular resort twice in the last five years, most recently in late August. I really like this resort. Rooms are clean, the beach itself is very well-kept and provides lots of comfortable lounge chairs. The daily continental breakfast is very nice as well, and we appreciated that it was included in the room price. Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank jenn28msu
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you jenn for your wonderful feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself yet again during your stay. We are very fortunate to have to great views and sugar sand beach here at the resort. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Traverse city has become a favorite for my family. This was our 2nd time staying at Sugar beach, and i'm impressed with how well the property has been maintained. Unlike many of the resorts we have visited in the past, that seem to run down after a number of years, Sugar Beach has not only managed to keep the property... More 

Helpful?
Thank brooksaw
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Brooksaw for your kind words and wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful time during your stay. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your 2016 year, and that we will see you again in the future. More 

Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the second time that I have stayed here and I enjoyed it both times! The beds are very comfortable and clean. The beach is also very nice. Both times I have stayed just past Labor Day and the prices are great!

Helpful?
Thank Tina M
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Tina for your kind and wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience during both of your stays with us. We hope that you will stay with us again the future. More 

Whitehall
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you for a great stay. We had a bayside room and the views were great. Nice continental breakfast, great beach with plenty of chaise loungers and chairs. Very clean resort, friendly staff. We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Toni V
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Toni for your wonderful review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your stay. We are truly lucky to have the views and beaches we do here in Northern Michigan. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was nice, very clean, and good decor but a bit overpriced. The pool was very pleasant. Had a little issue with the coffee maker while trying to make hot water. It had the previous peoples coffee still in it. :-/ Otherwise everything else was up to par. Great choices for the free breakfast too.

Helpful?
Thank Tonya W
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Tonya for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, including the breakfast selection. We apologize about the coffee maker, and look forward to having you stay with us in the future. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place, very clean and neat. The beach was very nice and clean. Close to family fun and dining. The wine tasting is a must when you visit traverse city. This place is gorgeous and would recommend it for all family's to visit. Would love to come back and visit

Helpful?
Thank Kurt H
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Kurt for the wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us in Traverse City. We hope that you are able to come and stay with us again in the future. Please enjoy the remainder of your summer. More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a last minute stay for my husband and myself. A little pricey but the view was beautiful, beaches clean, room decorated nicely and clean. Breakfast satisfactory. Boat rental and parasailing right there. We will definitely return next summer for a longer visit.

Helpful?
Thank Janet S
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Janet for choosing to stay with us on your last minute vacation. We are pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed the views and the beach just as much as we do. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. More 

Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed. Room was a conference room with two Murphy beds. No bedside table or lamps. Lights consisted of 7 large florescence ceiling lights and two other dim lamps. Had to turn off the lights and stumble in the dark to the bed. The windows overlooked a wall and storage area for tools. Not worth the money for a beach... More 

Helpful?
Thank wickfam2015
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the room you were staying in. If you have any suggestions on how to make the room more comfortable we would love to hear them. You can contact us at 1-800-509-1995. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $90 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay