We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 286: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This was a last minute stay for my husband and myself. A little pricey but the view was beautiful, beaches clean, room decorated nicely and clean. Breakfast satisfactory. Boat rental and parasailing right there. We will definitely return next summer for a longer visit.

Helpful?
Thank Janet S
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Very disappointed. Room was a conference room with two Murphy beds. No bedside table or lamps. Lights consisted of 7 large florescence ceiling lights and two other dim lamps. Had to turn off the lights and stumble in the dark to the bed. The windows overlooked a wall and storage area for tools. Not worth the money for a beach... More 

Helpful?
Thank wickfam2015
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the room you were staying in. If you have any suggestions on how to make the room more comfortable we would love to hear them. You can contact us at 1-800-509-1995. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Upon checking in was given a price (with taxes included) and upon getting receipt the next day was charged approximately $50 more. Also, breakfast was included but the line was so long and no seats available wasn't worth the wait.

Helpful?
Thank Jim H
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jim, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your stay. If you would like to give us a call at 1-800-509-1995, we would like to discuss this issue and try to make it right. More 

Owensville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room was nice and clean. Very close to restaurants (Hooters and Ruby Tuesdays across the road). The hotel property was very well maintained. The beach area was wonderful and very clean. Has lounge chairs and umbrellas. Breakfast was the only letdown.

Helpful?
Thank juliefJ2440WN
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to providing your feedback, We truly are blessed with the amazing views and beaches we have in this area. We apologize that you did not like the breakfast, but would like to hear any suggestions you may have. More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
351 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for just one night in transit up to Petosky. While it's not near downtown, it's on the lake and on your way north. This is a very comfortable inn with a great beach and very friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable with ample towels and amenities. The wifi and breakfast are free. We would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Alice W
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Alice W for your kind words about our resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your night with us, we look forward to you coming to visit with us again in the future. We hope that your enjoying the remaining of your summer. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is fantastic for a Traverse City vacation. Close to downtown and on the waterfront. The room - a king with a full pull out - was not bad at all. The room was not quiet. Lots of hallway noises and we could hear the kids running around in the room above us - like we were in some crowded... More 

Helpful?
Thank WildRover16
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of our resort and the room type you stayed in. We are sorry to hear that the noise level was so loud while trying to enjoy your vacation. We would love to hear any suggestions that you may have regarding your stay, if you would like you can contact us... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a last minute choice, needed to stay in the area. Nice fresh water beech , room is pretty good. No beach bar or food service, no restaurant but breakfast is included. Nice area, would look around for something closer to Traverse City if we come back

Helpful?
Thank Flydupe1
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay, We are truly blessed with the views and the beaches in our area. We hope that you will come and visit Traverse City again. More 

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The positive is being close to downtown Traverse City and the beach which are great places to visit! As for the hotel, check-in/out was slow. The suite that we stayed in was spacious and comfortable enough for the 3 of us. The rooms looked clean but there were pistachio shells under the pull-out couch. The breakfast bar offered the basic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Former-Ohioan
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Former-Ohioan, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, We would like the opportunity to discuss with you the things listed in your review. Please contact our front desk at 1-800-509-1995, we hope that you we can make things right and you will come and visit us again More 

Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved our spacious room, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Beautiful beach with plenty of lounge chairs. We took our boat, very convenient. Pool was refreshing and clean. We jumped in the hot tub after a long day of sun and swimming.

Helpful?
Thank krazys4
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you krazys4 for your kind words regarding your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have the wonderful sugar sand beach and beautiful views. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your summer, and look forward to you coming and staying with us again in the future More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just returned form Sugar Beach Resort. I was skeptical in booking this hotel because I only had the internet pictures to base my decision on. Boy did I make an excellent decision! I LOVED this resort! Clean, friendly staff, perfect/beautiful beach, great places to each, other recreation places conveniently located near resort (walking distance). My family and I had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank livercheese
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (89)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $96 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay