We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Highly recommend! Host Julia was very helpful, friendly and provided tips on area attractions. The food was amazing and even set out fresh baked cookies or other goodies in the afternoon! Location is perfect. The beds were very comfortable. Free WiFi. Overall great stay!

Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Juliette and David were wonderful hostesses! Oviatte house is in a very convenient location, within walking distance of all shopping, beach etc. The house is very clean and the meals were awesome! I would definitely stay there again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne M
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

My wife and I visited the Oviatt House for an extended weekend and had a great time. Location is perfect, price was reasonable and the breakfasts were large, fresh and done with an innovative approach. Not your basic eggs and bacon here! Our hosts were great and very accommodating.

Helpful?
1 Thank L. Anthony N
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

My husband and I recently stayed at the Oviatt House for 2 nights. It was a great experience. The manager, Julia, was always available for questions/assistance. The rooms were very neat and clean. The location was easily within walking distance of downtown. I'm really saving the best for last though - the breakfast was awesome. I was a little hesitant... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrsc616
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much at this beautiful old home. It immediately reminded me of the house I grew up in. We felt very welcome as we arrived, and while our room was small, it was dominated by a gorgeous four poster bed that was extremely comfortable. Breakfast each morning was delicious and Julie was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank nostromo53
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

Disappointed in the amenities but it is walking distance to downtown which is the draw. Hammond Room is tiny, poorly decorated, and rather hodge-podge in construction. I would stay here only if you can't find anything else. Breakfast was OK, good juice both days.

Helpful?
2 Thank J W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

I can't begin to describe how great the location is. Walking distance to all of downtown Traverse City. But that's not all. The manager, Julia, was sweet, and extremely helpful (she was willing to bake a cake for my wife's birthday at a VERY reasonable cost...and it was AWESOME!). The common areas of the house had a kind of earthy,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey M
Franny B, Manager at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It was so much fun to be part of the surprise party you arranged for your wife! More 

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Oviatt House was the perfect bed and breakfast experience for first-timers. The host Franny is AMAZING, so friendly and makes you feel so comfortable. The breakfast is amazing and big, with many options. Be sure to tell any food preferences/avoidances on your check-in. The house is located in perfect walking distance to downtown TC, and was the best possible homebase... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephmk777
FrannyBluhm, Manager at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Oviatt House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have central air, and you are right, the Lewis Room is poorly ventilated. To fix that problem, we have a stand alone air conditioning unit in the closet of the Lewis Room. Due to cool... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

From reading the other reviews, we were a bit unsure how this was going to turn out. In the end it was much better than expected! Franny was so awesome, that by the end of the stay we considered her our, "vacation Mom"! She was warm, friendly and super informative about places to eat and things to see. We stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael G K
TheGardener44, Manager at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review! You were a fun couple to get to know. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Franny O that runs/owns the place is a gem. She is as nice as it gets. Just wonderful. But the place itself is really pretty bad. Like no A/C. Which meant open windows or suffocate. Busy street with lots of car/motorcycle noise. And every room, including our room that had its own bath and entrance, had WAY too much furniture,... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Eugene L
TheGardener44, Guest Relations Manager at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our home. We always appreciate guest input to help improve our business. To address your concerns, we do have central air conditioning, however, at this time of year we often turn the AC on and off based on weather. You may have arrived during an off period, and the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#32 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#30 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast is located near the picture perfect downtown area of Traverse City. A full breakfast of organic and locally grown foods, a garden deck for morning coffee if you wish; beautiful early American antiques in comfortable bedrooms. Across the street, walk along the Boardman River walkway directly to the downtown area and its famous food venues. A 10 minute drive takes you to the wineries of Mission Peninsula. A perfect central location for visiting the Grand Traverse Bay Area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 244 E 8th St, Traverse City, MI 49684-5740
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $185 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing