We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mitchell Creek Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Mitchell Creek Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First off this is not a hotel with all of the amenities. It is a quaint place with basic rooms but it is very clean and that is the most important thing to me. The rooms have a small frig and a microwave which is a bonus. In the back is a gazebo with a picnic area and a firepit.... More 

Helpful?
Thank pwaters44
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
153 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We knew we were only going to need a hotel for a fairly short night of sleep. We wanted to be in Traverse City as we were part of the Water Wonderland Chapter of the Antique and Classic Boat Society's Boats on the Boardwalk Show. We were part of the Friday Night Live display on Front Street until 10 pm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stategt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

We rented a couple rooms for our all girls weekend. This place was fantastic!! The owners were so down to earth and friendly. The rooms were clean. Some of the girls or their kayaks in on the river that is on the property and paddled into the bay. They built a bonfire for us each evening. Couldn't ask for better... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jodi R
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

Stayed here for 2 days over the 3rd weekend in August. We were in town for a music festival. Room was just enough for the two of us. Had we stayed longer than 2 nights, we probably would have looked into getting a larger room. The bed was comfortable, the air worked well, and the bathroom was a good size.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kayte_B90
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. We stayed in room #3. There were only two of us so it was the perfect size room, but it would be small for more than two people, but I'm not sure if they offer rooms that are bigger? We had a beautiful mural on the wall of the old mission lighthouse. The Mitchell... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

Mitchell Creek Inn was the best cabins and rooms that I stayed at in a very long time we'll maintained exstreamly family and friendly orientated for you having fun and relaxing time went much farther them any other place I stayed at

Helpful?
Thank Andy B
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

A little overpriced, but clean and cool. The road it is on provides easy access, but as others have noted it is very, very busy and the entire area is a bit alienating to human beings - though, obviously, this is not the fault of the owners of the Mitchell Creek Inn! The welcome was friendly, the air conditioning plentiful,... More 

Helpful?
Thank CutiePie007
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

I spent 1 night here in June and was very pleased with my stay. I stayed in a 1 bedroom unit with 1 bed. The rooms are small but they are very well kept, clean and the comfort of the bed was perfect. I was a little nervous when I walked into the room thinking that I would get no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015 via mobile

I had a reservation for father's day weekend for my hard working husband and they did not have any rooms, said they were all booked! Not even an apology :-( they do not honor reservations. Very rude lady at the check in also.

Helpful?
5 Thank sherbetty
Amanda H, Owner at Mitchell Creek Inn, responded to this review

I apologize for the confusion upon your arrival. Unfortunately, there is no way to book the room though UPNorth Live online, where you recieved your special pricing. I'm sorry we got our wires crossed. However, I did provide a full refund of the purchase price you paid through UPNorth Live. I wish your weekend had gone as planned, and I... More 

Flushing
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Basic hotel for people who are looking for a place to sleep and take a shower. Very clean and conveniently located to everything in Traverse City. Will defiantly go back. Close to the road but I wasn't bothered by the noise even with road construction going on. Nice place. The only complaint I had was I couldn't connect to their... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James S
Amanda H, Owner at Mitchell Creek Inn, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you for staying with us! I apologize for the problems that you experienced with the wifi. When you join us next, please reach out if you experience any issues. We want to resolve those as quickly as possible, because we understand the need to stay connected. We're looking forward to seeing you the next time you're in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Haus Resort
Beach Haus Resort
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pinestead Reef Resort
Pinestead Reef Resort
#27 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mitchell Creek Inn is a quaint, 14 room inn on East Grand Traverse Bay, across the street from the State Park Beach. Locally owned and operated by US Army Veterans, the Inn features unique rooms, friendly staff, and an outdoor area where guests can fish from the banks of the creek, enjoy grilling or a campfire, and paddle one of the complimentary kiaks down the creek to the Bay. If family-friendly and easy-going is your style, this is the place for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mitchell Creek Inn

Address: 894 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3602
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $85 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitchell Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mitchell Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay