We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Valley Lodge

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thompsonville
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Mountain Valley Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of Mountain Valley Lodge
 Click to rate
Holland, Michigan
Reviewed April 7, 2017

A couple buddies and I stayed here for a few nights on a fishing trip. This is the first time I have stayed here since the new owners took over. Owners Kym and Luke were very accommodating. I tripped and fell in the river one night and she washed my clothes and put them through the dryer. They have put...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fishingnick2016
Kym R, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Lake Orion, Michigan
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Basic but clean and comfortable --if only there for sleep. The lodge building was nice and would be great for family or groups. The rooms are really only for overnight for sleeping/showers. We stayed for 2 evening and had no complaints. Ps:: for in-room coffee- take your own and take an alarm clock.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chevriers
Kym R, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We try to insure that every guest enjoys their stay with us! our rooms are simple but clean and most importantly, affordable! We hope to see you again

Edgewood, Kentucky
Reviewed October 29, 2016

Traveling in Michigan in October without advanced hotel reservations, is a risk. Especially during fall colors. We struck out in Traverse City, Charlevoix, and Frankfort, MI. So we decided to head inland. We found a vacancy sign at Mountain Valley Lodge. It's a basic one story motel in every sense of the word. The lobby was attached to the owners...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twdenman
Kym R, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not appreciate our lodging. We have only owned the Mountain Valley Lodge for a little over 1 year now and in that time we have made many upgrades. We have purchased all new beds, mini-refrigerators, a/c units, bedding, pillows, and much more. The rooms are very basic, however they are always very...

Andover
Reviewed August 16, 2016

Good and bad at this no-frills motel: Good: Friendly, helpful staff, super comfortable beds, rec room with ping pong, pool, pinball, cards, and full kitchen; patio with grills and picnic tables, two luggage racks in room, large bathroom, great towels, clean room Bad: wifi did not work in our room on the end of the motel - you had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OneAnonTravel
Kym R, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Just to let you know, we did fix the wifi problem by extending the signal. Wifi is still slow, but that is due to not having many options in this area. The Rec Room is usually clean, as we clean it often and sweep and mop the floors, however the...

Reviewed August 2, 2016

We were called to town on a family emergency on a busy summer weekend. We submitted a request for housing to the local tourist bureau after many calls and not finding anything, and within 10 minutes we got a call from Mountain Valley. Not knowing what this place was or exactly where it was we booked it! Boy am I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
Kym R, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

I am so glad that we were able to help you out during your time of need and we really enjoyed meeting you and getting to know you. Thank you for leaving a review, we appreciate hearing from our guests and getting feedback.

Detroit area
Reviewed August 1, 2016

We had attended a wedding at Crystal Mountain and found this motor inn a few months before our arrival. The new owners are friendly and very helpful. The price can't be beat for a 1/3 less than Crystal Mountain. Very basic with new carpet and beds. Save money and stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise Z
Kym R, Manager at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to save you a little money. :-)

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Nice little motel. Nothing fancy, but can't beat the price. Clean, comfy bed and pillows. Flat screen TV, mini fridge. Clean bathroom and the shower was hot with decent pressure. Didn't spend much time there, only to lay our heads so I can't speak for the rec area. When we were there it was very quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LauraL1972
Kym R, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are just a little family owned lodge, but we try to insure that the rooms are very clean and that the beds are comfortable.

North Muskegon, Michigan
Reviewed June 2, 2016

A large group of us head up to that area for a 3 day golf outing. While the condo's at Crystal are certainly nicer, you can't really gather all together in one area. Mountain Valley Motel is a venue that let's us do exactly that. While the rooms are small and simple, they fit what we need; simply a place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goranevo
Kym R, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you like the rec room. Many guests love having the rec room as an area to gather together. We are gradually adding to the area in the rec room, we have recently added a pinball game and have...

Gladwin, Michigan
Reviewed September 20, 2015

We were up here two other times and are returning this Monday to salmon fish. Our room both times was clean, clean, clean! The new owners (just 2 months) are upgrading the entire place. There is very unusual rec room with a completely furnished with dishes, silverware, and glasses. There is a stove and refrigerator and coffeemaker to use. There...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bootiful1
Kym R, Owner at Mountain Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are trying to insure that we can accommodate the needs of our guests as best as we can. Many guests use the fish cleaning station and freezers and they enjoy having the rec room to gather and relax in. We will continue to update our services and try to...

Ravenna, Michigan
Reviewed July 31, 2015 via mobile

Owner was very friendly and helpful after a bad experience at another place! We were stuck out of town with no place to stay and we were able to get a room here and prices were not jacked up as were other motels in the area. Very friendly and clean!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shel0780
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompsonville
7.1 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
45 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
12.1 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
149 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
706 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cedar Ridge Cabins
Cedar Ridge Cabins
#1 of 6 in Honor
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
we are a family operated, 20 room lodge nestled in the woods. We have a recreation room for our guests that has a full sized kitchen for guest use, as well as ping-ping, a pool table, a pinball game, card table and televisions. There are charcoal grills and a large fire ring for campfires. located near Crystal mountain, many lakes and rivers, hiking/biking trails, and snowmobile trails. we are just a short drive from Lake Michigan and the Sleeping Bear Dunes! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Valley Lodge

Address: 10422 M-115, Thompsonville, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Thompsonville
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Mountain Valley Hotel Thompsonville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mountain Valley Lodge staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mountain Valley Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“if you want wifi, get a room near the office”
OneAnonTravel, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“It's all good....”
kathylL2074DF, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
“3 miles from Crystal Mountain.”
879denisez, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“A great plce to stay when yu are up there salmon fishing.”
Bootiful1, Sep 20, 2015 | Read review
“And BTW...there's a little gas station a couple miles east on 115 that has the best Sicilian pizza you have ever eaten! Happy Trails”
TimG137, Sep 5, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question