The Inn At Black Star Farms

The Inn At Black Star Farms

Traveler (203)
Top notch house wine!
Dining (22)
Polaris Room
Room & Suite (22)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 2 inns in Suttons Bay
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.5
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Your ultimate escape in the heart of Traverse City Wine Country, where you will feel comfortable, pampered, and renewed. Our distinctive Bed & Breakfast Inn, nestled below a hillside of vineyards and overlooking barns and pastures, features ten unique guestrooms with an exceptional package of amenities. Every stay includes a bottle of house wine in your room, daily gourmet chef-prepared breakfast, nightly hospitality hour with wine and small bites, and a complimentary experience in our on-site tasting room. In addition, guests receive discounts on tasting room purchases, dining at the onsite Bistro Polaris restaurant, private use of our sauna room, access to our hiking trails, and more!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Game room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Meeting rooms
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Safe
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles265 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in the heart of Traverse City's picturesque surroundings, The Inn at Black Star Farms garners praise for its prime location, making it a favored starting point for regional exploration. Guests are enamored with the luxurious amenities on offer, from the gourmet breakfasts to the indulgent wine tastings and the comforting presence of in-room fireplaces. The meticulous cleanliness of the rooms and property receives consistent commendation, enhancing the welcoming and cozy atmosphere that many find synonymous with this retreat. Exceptional service further elevates the experience, with staff members providing personal touches that contribute to the inn's reputation for great value and an unforgettable stay.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Exceptional
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
265Reviews1Q+A75Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 233
  • 20
  • 5
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
irisharpe wrote a review Oct 2020
Noblesville, Indiana
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I spent one night here in early September. We stayed in the Betelgeuse suite. Very large and well-appointed room with a comfortable king sized bed. The only drawback to the room was the rather skinny shower. Let's just say she fit alot better than I did in it! We were greeted warmly by the check-in person. Easy to get the bags up the the room and parking is right next to the building. We very much enjoyed the afternoon snack and free half carafe of wine apiece. The tasting room and restaurant were less than 100 yards from the steps of the Inn which made getting a few drinks and dinner easy as could be.
We walked a couple of the paths through the woods and vineyard and walked amongst the horses as well. It is a very pastoral, relaxing setting.
The breakfast was incredible. Homemade pumpkin creme brulee french toast with a fruit compote, chantilly cream and bacon. WOW!
Strongly recommend that if you can get a room here, do it as it is quite close to all the wineries you would want to visit on Leelenau and the setting, rooms and food are wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherri Fenton, Owner at The Inn At Black Star Farms
Responded Oct 15, 2020
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, including the wines, breakfast, accommodations and lovely rural setting! Thank you for sharing. On a similar note, that bathroom is slated for a remodel soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
upnorthjodie wrote a review Dec 2020
northern Michigan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Betelgeuse for a weekend. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. This room has a small desk, seating area and a view of the woods behind the Inn. We took advantage of the hiking trails on the property. They were well marked and in good condition. Some of the trails skirt the vineyard and some go through one of many wooded areas on the property.
We were particularly concerned about their Covid-Safe protocols. They did not disappoint. The staff wore masks all the time. Breakfast is delivered straight to your room, rather than eating in a communal dining area. The evening snack can be taken up to your room also, or guests were allowed to eat in a lounge area, as long as social distancing was followed. We would definitely return to the Inn at Black Star Farms.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
pjirishmom wrote a review Aug 2022
New Orleans, Louisiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Highly recommend. We stayed in the small but cozy Lyra room. Absolutely charming. Mitch, a very helpful staff member did everything from carrying our bags, pouring wine, and giving directions. The price includes lots of extras, from tastings, to discounts at the cafe. The included chef prepared breakfast was excellent, and I say that as a person who is not really into breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kimberly Zacharias, Marketing at The Inn At Black Star Farms
Responded Sep 6, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Inn at Black Star Farms. We appreciate all feedback so we can continue to provide exceptional experiences to all guests. We will be sure to share your comments with our dedicated team members, who are committed to delivering world-class wines, fantastic food, and unparalleled hospitality. Cheers, Black Star Farms Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caitlin Keene wrote a review Jun 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First, we spent over $1,000 on two nights with a romance package. Staff failed to supply our room with part of the package and offered a “bath bomb” to take home with us when we asked about it. Too little, too late. Also, no soap in the room, only facial cleanser in place of hand soap, body soap, etc. The king size bed was really two twin beds pushed together with a large mat connecting the two, which was horribly uncomfortable for a couple to use. Everything in the room was cheap and stuff you’d find at a comfort inn. Nothing superior or luxurious or close to being worth $500/night. Also, staff at breakfast in the morning didn’t even greet us and just let us sit in the dining room for 20 minutes until our food was ready without a word. It’s not like the server was busy, she was in the open kitchen gossiping with the cook… which we could hear very clearly. Finally, at the tasting room, a staff member was continually vaping while we were on the patio. Okay, so you vape… but don’t do it around guests. Basically, we could have paid $500 less for a typically hotel In TC and had the same or even better experience. The perks of a “happy hour” didn’t make up for the lack of room amenities and average to below par treatment from staff. Basically, this is a cheap hotel disguised as a luxury inn. Use all that money to properly stock your hotel rooms with above grade toiletries and you’d be heading the right direction. Love TC, but not this place ever again. Sorry!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kimberly Zacharias, Guest Services / Front Office at The Inn At Black Star Farms
Responded Feb 16, 2022
We apologize for your experiences and we appreciate your comments so we can continue to improve our service. Our goal is to provide exceptional experiences to all guests, whether at the Inn or the tasting room. We will be sure to address the issues you mentioned, and we hope you will revisit us in the future. Thank you, Black Star Farms Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VickiC12345 wrote a review Dec 2022
Royal Oak, Michigan
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful hotel with very friendly, helpful management and fantastic breakfasts, on a lovely vineyard and farm. We have stayed here twice. In 2021. the I discovered that the bathroom floor was dirty when I spilled water on the floor and wiped it up with an extra washcloth ... which gained black streaks after blotting the water. This year, I brought a swiffer and mop pads with us, just in case - and the floor was once again dirty, there was used glass on the shelf in the closet (WTH?) and my boyfriend found a bathroom drawer with used Kleenex and hairball in it (gross). We notified the management of this, on both occasions, but no one ever offered to right the situation beyond a perfunctory apology. Especially during a pandemic, everything should be spotless (we disinfected the room ourselves upon checking in, and aired it our for the afternoon before returning, each of the first nights, and declined cleaning service during our stays), and especially for the cost of the rooms (starts at $450/night). It would be helpful if the event schedule would be posted when guests attempt to book their rooms, because there was a large event in the hotel lobby this year, in addition to a wedding, and we would not have stayed there at that time, had we known that so many people would be circulating throughout the hotel. There are many wonderful things about this hotel, but the areas in which it falls short, are really disappointing, and really have a negative impact on the value of the visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kimberly Zacharias, Marketing at The Inn At Black Star Farms
Responded Dec 21, 2022
We apologize for the housekeeping oversite you experienced at the Inn at Black Star Farms, and we appreciate your comments so we can continue to improve our service. Our goal is to provide exceptional experiences to all guests. We will be sure to address the situation you mentioned, and we hope you will consider revisiting us. Thank you, Black Star Farms Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
weekendsoutdoors wrote a review Aug 2022
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the "Betelgueze" room. What makes this room worth $516 a night?
Absolutely nothing.
Every motel room under $100 I've stayed in had better amenities and furniture than this room. The room has no coffee maker. I did two separate ping tests on internet speed. Both tests came back at less than 3 mbps. This is probably the slowest, cheapest service available. A place that charges $516/night can't afford decent internet service? The room has an old TV with the most basic, stripped down satellite service (no cable.) The satellite service did not have a channel guide and the room did not have a hard copy of a channel guide. The door to the room enters right into the lobby so you will hear all of the noise going on.
...And then there was the ants. There were ants all over the bathroom. They were probably in the room too, but more difficult to see because of the carpet.
If you like coffee in the morning you'll probably have to go get it somewhere else or wait. They don't even have coffee available in the communal area until the morning is half over. If you are an early riser be prepared to go into town to get coffee.
Now there were some nice things about this place... all outside of the room. The included breakfast was excellent. They have a great chef. The grounds are very well kept and pretty. The staff was very polite and helpful. The price keeps the riffraff out. Do these things make it worth $516/night? Not even close.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kimberly Zacharias, Marketing at The Inn At Black Star Farms
Responded Sep 1, 2022
We apologize for your experience at the Inn at Black Star Farms, and we appreciate your comments so we can continue to improve our service. Our goal is to provide exceptional experiences to all guests. We will be sure to address the situation you mentioned, and we hope you will consider revisiting us in the future. Thank you, Black Star Farms Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LC D wrote a review Aug 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Black Star Farms is a beautiful inn with many amenities and wonderful wine. However, they served my food that caused me to have an anaphylactic reaction. I told them I had a tree but allergy, but I do not know if this is why caused the reaction. However, I was afraid to eat any of the food they served to me after that, despite having paid for it with the stay at the Inn. They did not do anything to comfort me after the incident and offered nothing to make up for it. makes me think they do not care about the comfort/ satisfaction of their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherri Fenton, Owner at The Inn At Black Star Farms
Responded Oct 15, 2020
Before and upon check-in, we ask for allergies so that our breakfasts and hospitality options can be sure to offer an alternative for those whose health requires it. I understand it can be difficult to know the cause of these, and frightening, and it is disheartening to learn that you did not feel safe while with us. Guest safety, as you likely saw and expertienced with our extensive Covid protocols, is paramount. Please accept our sincere apology for our team not providing you with a satisfactory response. That was surely not our intention.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ngrysko wrote a review May 2023
Ferndale, Michigan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Black Star is amazing! This was our second year and will be back again next year. The property is so unique with a tasting room and multiple node walking trails. Short drive from downtown Sutton’s Bay, Traverse City and Leland/Fishtown. Friendly staff and great breakfast. Highly recommend! Have stayed in both the Regal and Capella rooms. Capella has a large walk in closet where we could put all our stuff so the room never felt messy. We had such a wonderful time, thank you so much Black Star!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kimberly Zacharias, Marketing at The Inn At Black Star Farms
Responded May 22, 2023
Thanks for the 5-star review! We are happy to hear you had an excellent time with us at the Inn at Black Star Farms! Thanks for sharing your experience. Until next year, take care!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
grobels1 wrote a review Dec 2020
Harbor Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What makes the Inn at Black Star Farms so amazing are their amenities. This is my second time staying here and I can't wait to go back again! From a delicious chef prepared breakfast (brought to your room during Covid) to the wine tasting, hospitality hour, and friendly and helpful staff, you can do no better when choosing a place to stay in wine country! This place deserves more than 5 stars - I've fallen in love with almost all of their wine selections. I also love that there are trails to hike and snowshoe. This place makes you feel like a king or queen. Also, the room I stay in is incredible, it was two reading nooks, a massive TV, supper comfy bed, gas fireplace, and massive bathroom. Diadem has it all! I now need an opportunity to visit in the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonya M wrote a review Oct 2023
Imlay City, Michigan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Inn at Black Star Farms is our home away from home! We felt so comfortable there. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful. The room (Capella) was lovely. Breakfast is fantastic. We enjoyed the hiking trails. They really go above and beyond to make you comfortable, providing a bottle of wine, cocktail hour if you wish, included breakfast, and coffee and tea all day. The location is great because you are close enough to Traverse City to enjoy that, but the quality of the Inn far exceeds other comparably priced hotels in the city. We will definitely be back, and hope to snowshoe the trails! Thank you David and Mitchell for everything!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kimberly Zacharias, Marketing at The Inn At Black Star Farms
Responded Nov 17, 2023
We're grateful to know that your experience with us was an amazing one! We're always happy to hear appreciation from our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon at The Inn at Black Star Farms.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathy F asked a question May 2021
Frisco, Texas6 contributions
Do you have handicap accessible rooms?
EddieDean wrote a tip Jun 2024
Howell, Michigan91 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They do a great job accommodating food allergies or dietary restrictions. We never had to remind them, they were on it!"
Read full review
ngrysko wrote a tip Jun 2024
Ferndale, Michigan3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are stairs required for most of the rooms; just one staircase but worth mentioning. Highly recommend the trails on the grounds!"
Read full review
K L wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some businesses are closed mid-week during the winter."
Read full review
Cher Cant wrote a tip Jan 2024
172 contributions116 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would avoid the Bistro across the road. The pizza was delicious but the service was terrible."
Read full review
David J wrote a tip Nov 2023
Bonita Springs, FL, United States11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be sure to take hiking gear too…some great trails on property."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Suttons Bay area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
the inn at black star farms hotel suttons bay
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganLeelanau CountySuttons Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE INN AT BLACK STAR FARMS - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Inn At Black Star Farms
Which popular attractions are close to The Inn At Black Star Farms?
Nearby attractions include Traverse City Tours (3.6 miles), Northern Latitudes Distillery (4.9 miles), and Big Little Wines (1.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inn At Black Star Farms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Inn At Black Star Farms?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Inn At Black Star Farms?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Inn At Black Star Farms?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inn At Black Star Farms?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hop Lot Brewing Company, Martha's Leelanau Table, and VI Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Inn At Black Star Farms?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Does The Inn At Black Star Farms offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Inn At Black Star Farms?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fishtown (8.7 miles) and Dougherty Mission House (7.3 miles).
Is The Inn At Black Star Farms accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Suttons Bay HotelsSuttons Bay Hotel DealsHotels near The Inn At Black Star Farms
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars