We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites St. Joseph\/Benton Harbor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night in early August 2016. We paid $280 for the room. There was a large hole in the ceiling above the shower head in the bathroom, one of the outlet covers was broken in the living room, which left a hole in the wall with the outlet exposed, fixtures, etc. are very outdated. The lobby... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynnc177
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Stayed at this hotel because they allowed pets and the area seemed to be a bit safer than nearby areas. Liked that we could walk to restaurants and getting on/off the interstate was easy. Wasn't crazy about the room not being cleaned daily, but other than this, it was fine. Oversize vehicle parking was easily handled as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jill F
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear Jill F, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am pleased with your kind comments. Let us assure you that we are continuously working on maintaining and improving our property to ensure our guests' complete satisfaction. I do hope that we will get another opportunity to accommodate you better in the... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
360 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016

Great location, just 23 miles inside the Michigan state line. Heading east, you get through Chicago traffic and all and you are finished! Heading west, you can get an early jump on the traffic from here. From there, the room was very clean (aside from the need for a taller person to handle some upper dusting on a regular basis)... More 

Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
Benton Harbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016

this is wonderful place to go for a mini vacation. there suites are wonderful and clean and nice me and my family really enjoyed are stay there. they have all you need to make you feel at home. the front desk clerks Brian and chris i think well the two night men were wonderful helpful and all

Helpful?
Thank claylisa20
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Not worth the money. They allow pets .and dog barked in the night don't need this.light bulb broken in bathroom .glass on the floor.Frank was fine but night sucks.what else can I say .just not happy with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cleaners22
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear cleaners22, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had with the noise from the pet of another guest and the broken light bulb in the bathroom among the others during your stay. I would like to follow up on this situation that is why I have... More 

Travelers are raving about these Stevensville hotels

Boston
Level Contributor
285 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

We stayed here in September while passing through. The room was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful but I noticed that some of the small repairs done here and there throughout the hotel were not up to snuff. The security latch on our door was a little block of wood screwed to the door to so that... More 

Helpful?
Thank 63impala
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear 63impala, Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business with us. I am glad to read your positive feedback on the cleanliness of the room received and regarded our friendly and helpful staff. However, we are truly sorry if your... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015 via mobile

Terrible smell, problems in the room door, bed housekeeping service. This explain the only 2 stars. But it is in a good location, and the front desk can make a really good job. Sometimes in the summer, you can see some animals walking near the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Talita M
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear Talita M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are glad that you found our location to be good. However, we regret that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. We would also like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our rooms and housekeeping service. We give the... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015 via mobile

Travel to the area 2x month, used Spire Points hoping for decency.. Proximity to our destination was great, so we had high hopes for this hotel. Check in was smooth, room 204 smelled like a terrible curry dish had been left cooking for a week. The beds were very reasonable, and we loved the pillows, however that's where it ends.... More 

Helpful?
Thank NukedNative
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear NukedNative, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, especially with the bathroom condition, room condition and the food selection. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message.... More 

Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015 via mobile

This Candlewood Suites hotel was filthy and had mold in the room. Room had dust everywhere and we had to open the windows to get rid of the mold/mildew smell. Doors and jams were dusty and had visible dirt. Front desk attendant was not there upon arrival and my room key was sitting unsecured on the desk. No identification was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mbk0521
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear Mbk0521, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We apologize if your experience was not as pleasant as you would have liked it to be due to the condition of the room. Rest assured our goal is to maintain a clean and sanitary environment for all of our guests. In line with this, we... More 

Clintonville, WI
Level Contributor
125 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

This is NOT your typical Candlewood Suites. There are serious issues with either cleaning staff or management. There were so many things wrong with this hotel; I'm not sure where to start. Our first room wasn't cleaned...there were wet towels left in the bathroom and there was a silhouette of a person from laying on one of the beds and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Busch2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear Busch2, Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for falling short of expectations on some aspects of your stay. Know that all your comments will be looked into and actions will be taken. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevensville
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
#2 of 5 in Stevensville
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites ST. Joseph/Stevensville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites of Stevensville, Benton Harbor & St. Joseph is Southwest Michigan's premier hotel for overnight, Corporate housing and Relocation stay. Minutes from Fourwinds Casino Resort in New Buffalo, near restaurants like Tabor Hill, Tosis, Grand Mere, Rye Belle and Silver Beech Pizza. Surrounded by premiere golf courses like The Harbor Shores-Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Club, Hampshire Country Club and Berrien Hills Golf Club. Visit our Wineries like Tabor Hill, the Round Barn, Domaine Berrien and Lemon Creek. Have fun at Silver Beach in St. Joseph, plus other beaches up and down our beautiful Lake Michigan. Come for the Art Fair in June, enjoy festivals and concerts all summer long, and witness the Whirlpool Steelhead Triathlon in August. Visit the U-Pick Farms in summer and fall. With all our rivers and lakes, our guests enjoy kayaking, paddle boarding, fishing and kiteboarding. Each room is equipped with a full size kitchen - like in your home, high speed internet, DVD player, movies available. Also available for use; free laundry, a large private patio grill area, hot tub & fitness center, and our Cupboard (mini-store). Meeting rooms and business center, geared for business travelers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor

Address: 2567 W Marquette Woods Rd, Stevensville, MI 49127-9326
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Stevensville
Price Range: $133 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites St. Joseph/Benton Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Stevensville Hotel Stevensville
Candlewood Stevensville
Stevensville Candlewood Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay