We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 139: English reviews
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff was friendly but accommodations were disgusting. Room was not clean blue toothpaste all over sink & countertop not from me - and bathroom tub had black mold & Pubic hair all over in it. I was exhausted so I stayed 1 night out of my 10 - slept in my clothes & checked out first thing with a promise... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JPatrickX2
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize that you had cleanliness issues during your recent stay. In response to your feedback, I am addressing these issues with the entire staff. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out... More 

Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

I stay here about 8 times a year on business, always a good experience. Room is always clean, quiet, never any problems. Staff has always been professional and helpful. its inexpensive as far as business travelers go.

Helpful?
Thank tomE1050ZI
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for continuing to choose to stay with us. I'm thrilled to see you were pleased at the conditions of your room, the professionalism of our staff, and the affordability of our hotel. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in... More 

Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

My fiancé and I had a moving mishap and were forced to stay in a hotel with our pet. Extended stay was affordable, friendly, and convenient. When we were unable to check out on time, the hotel graciously extended the check out. Because of some delays, when we stayed past our check out time, instead of charging us for an... More 

Helpful?
Thank NotoriousCanadians
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such positive comments in your review. I'm glad to see you enjoyed our affordable price and pet-friendly rooms. It is also good to see that our staff was able to accommodate you so well. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back... More 

Park Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

We stayed in the hotel two nights, this was not a pleasure trip, we went to my aunt's funeral. I should have know something was wrong with the staff at this place when they didn't understand that I had booked and paid online. The guy checking me in wanted me to pay again and he was saying he didn't see... More 

Helpful?
Thank Esquire19
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The incident that occurred and the lack of customer service you received from one of our staff members is unacceptable. A meeting will be held with our staff to address these issues because none of what occurred should have happened in the first place.... More 

Sterling Heights, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

I had a room elsewhere all planned out, but then it fell through leaving me with no where to stay. I checked out the Extended Stay in Sterling Heights because it is close to where I am working. I was helped out by one of the employees named Fiaz. He was very nice and friendly, and got me a room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank _nschmidt555
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

It is pleasing to know we were able to accommodate you on such short notice. I'm glad you check in went well and your overall stay was a great one for the affordable price you paid. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

Hotel was clean, no ice machine, no pool. Staff seemed friendly. Bathroom very small could hardly stand and shut door. Room had old smell to it, had to go buy candles to get rid of smell. Bed is comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

My 2 day stay was made excellent, by the accommodations afforded to me by the desk clerk Faiz. Faiz truly turned what could have been a disastrous situation in to a overwhelming success by granting me a request which made it possible to fully enjoy my time at thus location...

Helpful?
2 Thank Colin R
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

The team and I appreciate your positive remarks. I am thrilled to read that Faiz was able to handle your situation and accommodate you so well. He will be informed on the excellent job he is doing for guests. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend after having surgery at Henry Ford. The check-in was easy. Ask for dishes at reception if you think you'll need them. Our room was recently remodeled and painted. It smelled like fresh paint which was a bit overpowering, but we were able to crack the windows and we bought an airfreshner and that helped.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Legal_padgurl06
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so glad to hear that your room's cleanliness met our expectations and that you enjoyed our location during your visit. I apologize that our recent upgrades left your room smelling of paint. I will be sure to address this issue with our maintenance team... More 

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Hotel served its purpose. Nothing special but was a great price! There's was a kitchen in our room but no coffee maker or anything, it was nice having a full sized fridge. There wasn't any information inside our room, such as taxi numbers or close restaurants, room service number ect. We didn't know when the grab and go breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Haley M
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you were not informed about our amenities that we offer. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please... More 

gold hill
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016

we were visiting family in Michigan and decided to use esa again. could not ask for a quieter room. the breakfast is minimum but useful if you are in a hurry. the coffee was good. people that were staying there this time were men in the majority and many smokers who were outside the front door. staff was always friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank mary d
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I’m glad to read that we were able to provide you with a positive stay overall and that you enjoyed our quiet atmosphere. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling Heights
6.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterli...
#2 of 6 in Sterling Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling Heights
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling He...
#1 of 6 in Sterling Heights
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warren MI
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Warren
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Warren
Comfort Inn Warren
#4 of 19 in Warren
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Address: 33400 Van Dyke Ave, Sterling Heights, MI 48312-5927
Location: United States > Michigan > Sterling Heights
Price Range: $72 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Extended Stay, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Sterling Heights
Sterling Heights Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay