We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (13)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 17 hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
4.1

See why so many travelers make Americas Best Value Inn their hotel of choice when visiting Sault Ste. Marie. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a budget friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Sault Sainte Marie Super Eight is a budget friendly hotel offering air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features a 24 hour front desk. Plus, guests can enjoy free breakfast, which has made this a popular choice among travelers visiting Sault Ste. Marie. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Border Country Berries (1.7 mi) and Lake Superior State University (1.8 mi), guests of Super 8 Sault Sainte Marie can easily experience some of Sault Ste. Marie's most well known attractions.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Sault Ste. Marie's popular shrimp restaurants such as Lockview Restaurant, Applebee's, and Indo-China Garden, all a short distance from Sault Sainte Marie Super 8.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Riverstone Gallery, Island Books and Crafts, or SaultRealism, which are popular art galleries amongst tourists.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Americas Best Value Inn as you experience all of the things Sault Ste. Marie has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
132Reviews1Q+A28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 28
  • 47
  • 36
  • 13
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
mutsnuts01 wrote a review Sep 2023
Lancashire, England334 contributions237 helpful votes
I knew it was at the value end when I booked it but the whole place was sad and tired - look at the cupboards behind the reception desk. Room was so sad that we didn’t really feel like stopping, fixtures from the 1980s and very chipped wooden furniture. Still linens and towels were fresh and clean and people on reception were friendly. As with other reviews we had to run the vanguard of clouds of cigarette smoke from an employee smoking outside the main door. Very noisy neighbour overnight meant my wife had a sleepless night and the breakfast looked better left alone so we went to a diner in town. Wouldn’t go again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie
Responded Sep 21, 2023
Thank you for your feedback. We assure you that our team is committed to positive change, so we will reflect upon your concerns and work together to address them. We will also ensure that we're always putting our best foot forward and presenting our property, accommodations, service, and all we offer in the best light. It is our hope to welcome you back someday for an experience that is nothing short of five stars.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve Warner wrote a review May 2023
Vicksburg, Michigan13 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Enjoyed my stay here! Room was clean and well kept. Sometimes these discount motel chains can make me nervous but this one definitely deserves some kudos! Bed wasn't super-cushy but was comfortable enough for me. The vinyl "wood" flooring throughout is a nice addition. Nice hot shower, micro and fridge in the room. A little off the beaten path, meaning not much you can walk to. State Police station next door, so definitely in a safe place! Can't beat the rate. Staff was super nice and helpful. Didn't take advantage of the morning breakfast other than some coffee so can't comment on that. Definitely worth a look if your are in the Soo.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Amy N wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I booked our reservation on the actual Americas Best web site. Not a third party. We arrived and the reservation was not showing up in the system. I had my confirmation number available, and the clerk said she couldn't locate our reservation with that. Anyway, the clerk was a bit harried, but pleasant. Finally, she said our reservation merged with another person's and they were already checked in so she could give us our room. This process took about 15 minutes of her searching, calling the other customers to verify they were there (though hearing her side of the conversation I could tell they were extremely confused as to why she was contacting them and on her personal line as well, etc.). Just an odd experience there. I had booked a king room and was given two doubles. While it wasn't a huge issue for us, it may be for others that cannot or are unwilling to sleep separately. We entered our room and were underwhelmed. I've stayed in inexpensive places a lot, although I don't think $100 is inexpensive, and this was unreal. No counterspace around the sink for toiletries. I'm a girl that has a lot of doodads to get ready with. No space for these at all. Had to keep my bag on the floor in that area. The toilet and shower were in a room of their own. I felt like I was back in kindergarten. The toilet was the same size. Don't stay here if you have bad knees and getting up and down is not easy for you. Showering the next morning was ok. Water pressure and temperature were fine. The tub had cracks in it and creaked a bit while stepping in. There was that slight fear of going through the bottom. The towels and soap/shampoo/conditioner were good. When we decided to go to sleep the neighbors above decided it was a great time to walk around. Loudly. All night. And we think maybe move furniture and possibly renovate? We will never know. While vinyl flooring is good for cleaning and keeping things tidy (I will say it was tidy), they do not help to eliminate noises from above. And speaking of the concrete slabs from 1980, I mean beds, be prepared for a hard surface and bring a little blanket because theirs are thin. I luckily keep one in my car at all times, so I grabbed that and used it. We got up the next morning pretty dang tired from our sleepless night. Went downstairs and passed on the continental breakfast. We just wanted to be on our way at this point. Therefore, I cannot give a review of what is offered. I did smell burning toast. There's always that person. A Burger King is located close by, and their breakfast was good. To finish up our stay, we were able to exit the establishment through an employee's cloud of cigarette smoke at the front door. Ahhh... I just love fresh *cough cough* morning air.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie
Responded Sep 30, 2022
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review, and we're sorry to hear that you didn't have a great time with us. We apologize for any issues with our accommodations, and we'll be sure to keep your comments in mind as we continue to make changes for the future. We know that we can do better, and we hope you'll give us another chance later down the road.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sandi4706 wrote a review Sep 2021
Inverness, Florida22 contributions20 helpful votes
I am so perturbed with this “second choice” hotel, referred by Best Western, a “sister” company. I walked in the lobby and the young lady was folding towels. I mentioned the referral from BW and that we had 2 adults and an Emotional Support Animal and placed the card on the counter! I was told it wasn’t a support animal and I would have to pay $50 extra for this well trained dog!!! This is against Federal law, the Fair Housing Act and section 504 of the rehabilitation act of 1973! I was furious as well as stressed! I had never been questioned through all the travels from Florida, to Denver, up through Ontario. This is a TWO STAR HOTEL, not the Ritz Carlton! We went to the Comfort Inn, the very professional receptionist stated that “of course everybody needs to accept Registered Emotional Support Animals!” I’m still so perturbed and I WILL be calling to speak to the manager tomorrow! This is a clear violation of Federal law. We have a Mercedes RV and didn’t want to risk the severe weather which caused me anxiety and after dealing with your laundress/receptionist, I was more stressed. This could cause serious issues with someone afflicted with PTSD!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Denys A wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Outdated rooms, with bunch of cracks and marks on the walls and furniture. Cleanness could be much better, it's nightmare for anyone with allergy on dust. Sleeping on their bed gives me the same feelings as sleeping on plywood. But the worst part they charged $50/night extra for having emotional support animal with us and don't want refund money for 2 nights that was cancelled.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: avoid this place and be happy!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patti Paris, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie
Responded Jun 3, 2021
Hello DenysAstanin, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As we explained at check in emotional support animals are not supported under ADA guidelines. Also our pet policy including the fee is posted on all websites including booking.com The hotel did not receive payment from you, you paid for your reservation through booking.com and you will need to speak with them regarding your refund. Sincerely, Farrah Wright Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katie P wrote a review Oct 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
It's a no frills hotel chain. However! The staff at this location is awesome! The listing on Hotels.com is correct and they do have rollaway beds available! So that was a big plus! The room was clean, the ordered rollaway was already in the room when we got there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hernando E wrote a review Sep 2020
Vienna, West Virginia194 contributions68 helpful votes
We stayed just one night before viewing nearby attractions. The hotel was easy to find off the Interstate. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful...easily the best part of the hotel The room was adequate, it had both a fridge (which we used) and a microwave oven (which we didn't use) The bed was low to the ground and the mattress was uneven. The "grab and go" breakfast wasn't great, but was better than nothing. The room rate was about average for what we received. Overall...an average experience for a reasonable rate...the front desk staff was outstanding!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
twinkiebgood wrote a review Jan 2020
Tampa, Florida49 contributions6 helpful votes
The best thing this place has going for it is the front desk staff. They are awesome, especially Katie. Cons: The beds are VERY hard and uncomfortable. The breakfast food was not replenished after a big group of corrections cadets left for the day around 6 am. No elevator. Bed was not re-made 2 nights out of 5. Toilet handle has to be held down a long time for proper flush. Pros: Clean. Microwave in room. Fridge in room — but had no shelf inside to hold food. Front desk staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RLResponse O, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie
Responded Jan 30, 2020
Convenient accommodations are what we always want for our guests. It is delightful to hear that our attention to cleanliness and excellent front desk service impressed you, especially Katie. However, it is unfortunate that your bed and our breakfast were not to your preferences. We hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you're in the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
unclespike18116 wrote a review Nov 2019
Baden, Canada240 contributions133 helpful votes
I made a commitment many years ago (after a bad experience) to only stay at this one particular hotel chain that is well represented with locations everywhere and has a very high standard for cleanliness, consistency, service and general excellence. Well this week I found myself for the first time in years, needing to stay in a city where my chain had no locations. Hence, our stay here. We were pleased with the cleanliness and service. All in all it was a good stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
donnascott2016 wrote a review Sep 2019
Ontario, Canada48 contributions12 helpful votes
This hotel is ok for a night. Wasn't impressed we couldn't use the bathtub as it was dirty. Staff was nice & the breakfast was the standard fair. Short driving distance to restaurants & shops. Quiet at night
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sault Ste. Marie area.
PRICE RANGE
$75 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
super 8 sault sainte marie, super eight sault sainte marie, sault sainte marie super eight, sault sainte marie super 8
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Super 8
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganUpper PeninsulaSault Ste. Marie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN SAULT STE. MARIE $53 ($̶6̶9̶) - Prices & Hotel Reviews - MI

Frequently Asked Questions about Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie
Which popular attractions are close to Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie?
Nearby attractions include Dondee Lanes (0.4 miles), Tahquamenon Falls (0.06 miles), and Big Lots (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pure Country, Applebee's, and Jose's Mexican Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Ermatinger-Clergue National Historic Site (3.5 miles), Tower of History (2.7 miles), and The Machine Shop (3.9 miles).
Is Americas Best Value Inn Sault Ste. Marie accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.