We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
38 Tapanappa Rd Deep Creek Conservation Park, Delamere, South Australia 5204 Australia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (77)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 11/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.6
Value
4.5
These 3 award-winning architecturally designed retreats are located in amongst the Stringybark forest in Deep Creek Conservation Park. Each retreat is fully self-contained and has 2 bedrooms accommodating up to 4 people. The open plan living area with parquetry floors encompasses a stainless steel kitchen, dining area and lounge with leather sofas and a cosy slow combustion heater. Large expanses of glass enable you to enjoy the nearby native flora and fauna. All linen together with continental breakfast provisions and a park entry pass are provided. One of the Retreats is wheelchair friendly.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Full view
Contact
38 Tapanappa Rd Deep Creek Conservation Park, Delamere, South Australia 5204 Australia
Getting there
Adelaide Airport48 miSee all flights
Kingscote Airport41 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
114Reviews2Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 85
  • 22
  • 4
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
eLaura P wrote a review Aug 6
1 contribution
I stayed at Deep Creek National Park last week. I stayed at Ridgetop Retreat. How's the Serenity! 😄 sooo relaxing amongst the trees. 🌳. A beautiful place to have time out. 😍 Absolutely loved it & keen to return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jude N wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
Fresh flowers on the long inviting table welcome you. Leave your troubles and wifi at the gate and really relax in this beautiful Australian property. The large country kitchen with views across the paddocks of flowers, birds and wildlife is well appointed and scrupulously clean. Two fires with baskets of chopped wood keep you cosy while talking with friends in the large leather chairs. The beds are new, fresh, comfy and warm. The spotless bathrooms have the largest fluffy towels. Jane and Barry leave nothing for you to do but have a wonderful holiday and make new memories.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Southern Ocean Retreats, Owner at Southern Ocean Retreats
Responded Aug 18, 2021
We just loved reading your review about your recent stay at the Deep Creek Homestead. Thank you for creating a picture of a unique place to relax and make special memories.
Read more
Christine H wrote a review Aug 2021
Perth, Australia59 contributions37 helpful votes
A relaxing two night mid week getaway in a beautiful setting. Retreat #2 felt like our home away from home - we were very comfortable. Fire watching, nature sounds, birds, a healthy bush land, a few walks and peace. Time for just us. We are already planning a return trip, but longer. Loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Southern Ocean Retreats, Owner at Southern Ocean Retreats
Responded Aug 18, 2021
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. Our aim was to create a special space for guests to immerse themselves in nature without having leaving the Retreats. We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Inga wrote a review Apr 2021
Maroochydore, Australia7 contributions
I stayed in No. 1, which looks out to a magnificent stringy bark, with the forest behind. So beautiful and peaceful, equipped with everything I needed, and great access to many wonderful walks within Deep Creek and the Heyson Trail. Wish I had stayed a week.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Southern Ocean Retreats, Owner at Southern Ocean Retreats
Responded May 12, 2021
Thank you for your kind words. Yes, for lovers of the natural environment a few days is barely enough to explore the many sights in Deep Creek. We look forward to hosting you again one day.
Read more
DPK wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
We stayed at the Deep Creek Homestead for a couple of days in April 2021. We (two couples) had a really wonderful time, and would recommend to any looking to get off the grid and enjoy all that the Fleurieu Peninsula has to offer. The homestead is very large and can comfortable house 6-8 people. The master bedroom in particular is very spacious with beautiful views, and the kitchen is well equiped and very functional. This was a good base to enjoy a hike, swim, or read a book. Two notes (not negatives, just good information to know in advance): 1) we had a 2WD so we needed to take the access road very slowly so to not scrape the bottom of the car, and 2) it is off the grid, with no mobile reception; we loved this but it is important to be organised (have maps and instructions downloaded beforehand). Thank you again for having us!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Southern Ocean Retreats, Owner at Southern Ocean Retreats
Responded Apr 15, 2021
Thank you for your lovely review & feedback. We were glad to read you enjoyed the comforts and location of the Deep Creek Homestead and that it provided a good base to relax and explore the park. We hope to hear from you again in the future.
Read more
Timothy N wrote a review Apr 2021
Adelaide, Australia1 contribution
My wife and I made last minute plans to head up to deep creek last month. Jane and Barry were amazing and catered for us even though it was very last minute. They were very communicative and responsive. They recommended Amanda from Valley eats and we were not disappointed! Thanks guys! I know this review is a bit late
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Southern Ocean Retreats, Owner at Southern Ocean Retreats
Responded Apr 14, 2021
Thank you Tim for your lovely review. We always appreciate feedback no matter how late it is. Glad to hear you enjoyed the whole experience.
Read more
JT1952_13 wrote a review Mar 2021
Adelaide, Australia95 contributions29 helpful votes
I gave my wife a voucher for a two night stay for her birthday and it was well received. Even better when we scheduled it and actually went there. We were impressed by the attention to detail, from the design of the three building s- you wouldn't know there was anyone else there - to the breakfast provisions laid on. Set near the "StringyBark" campground in the Deep Creek Conservation Park, the units are ideal for everything from just hunkering down with a book through to ta=king big walks in the park. We strolled around, drove over to the other end of the Park to see the Talisker Mine and the camping grounds at the far end, and strolled around - day 1 in the sunshine, day 2 in the mist. Kangaroos hop by, and lots of birds and other wlldlife to be seen, Great wood stove in the units as well as a reverse cycle air conditioner, very comfortable bed in the master bedroom. For families there are two singles in the second bathroom. Despite warnings about Internet, we had 4G on Telstra perhaps 70% of the time inside Unit 3, and if I was desperate for connectivity a short stroll gave solid connectivity. We have travelled extensively both in Australia and overseas, for leisure and business and I have to say that this was one of the most pleasant accommodations in our experience. Booking and check in was simple, departure the same.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Book early - there are only three units so if you have a specific date in mind check it out soon..
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Southern Ocean Retreats, Owner at Southern Ocean Retreats
Responded Apr 5, 2021
Thank you for your lovely review. Deep Creek & Talisker Conservation Parks do, as you say, offer a wealth of opportunities to interact with nature and enjoy the amazing scenery on offer. We are pleased to hear the Ridgetop Retreats were the perfect birthday present and provided a comfortable base from which to explore the many attractions nearby.
Read more
Tereza T wrote a review Jan 2021
Adelaide, Australia3 contributions5 helpful votes
A beautiful place to stay. Stunning surroundings, gorgeous views, very peaceful. Large windows gives a great view to sit back inside & just watch nature. Who needs a big screen TV when you have this. Went for a girls trip, everyone had a great time - needed to unwind & recharge batteries. Breakfast provisions more than ample & lovely SA produce. We used a food delivery service "Valley Eats" (as we did not want to cook) very highly recommended. Would love to return in winter to take the opportunity to use the beautiful wood fire.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Formato, Owner at Southern Ocean Retreats
Responded Jan 28, 2021
Dear Tereza, Thank you for your review. The location never fails to inspire and it's something that after many years we still don't take for granted. Glad to hear you also enjoyed the food delivery service. We try and support local businesses wherever we can and that's also reflected in the breakfast provisions.
Read more
bcarrillob wrote a review Jan 2021
Brisbane, Australia19 contributions14 helpful votes
The accommodation was easy to find, instructions on operating the cabin were crystal clear and it was an absolute delight to stay there. You really feel like you are in the middle of the natural reserve. The team managing the cabins were fantastic to deal with too - quick replies, a lot of flexibility and they make sure you have an amazing experience. Would 100% recommend staying here - the cabin is a nifty little piece of architecture too!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Location
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Formato, Owner at Southern Ocean Retreats
Responded Jan 9, 2021
Dear Bruno, Thank you for your lovely review. We try to make the whole experience as seamless and enjoyable as possible. Glad to hear you had a great time.
Read more
John M wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
If you like nature it's a great place to stay. 2 4wd tracks within 15 minutes of accommodation. Easy bushwalk among the stringy bark trees, or more challenging one's taking in great ocean views from the coastline. We loved it, very relaxing. You wind down immediately upon arrival. Ahhh the serenity. Unique ridgetop retreats offer stunning views of the forest.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Formato, Owner at Southern Ocean Retreats
Responded Dec 29, 2020
Thank you for your review. It was great to hear you enjoyed the seclusion and natural surroundings of the Ridgetop Retreats. We look forward to your stay once again in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaDelamere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Southern Ocean Retreats
Which popular attractions are close to Southern Ocean Retreats?
Nearby attractions include Deep Creek Conservation Park (1.0 miles) and Raywood Nursery (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Southern Ocean Retreats?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, reduced mobility rooms, and barbeque facilities.
What food & drink options are available at Southern Ocean Retreats?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Southern Ocean Retreats?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Is Southern Ocean Retreats accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.