We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Royal Oak

Traveler (26)
Room & Suite (45)
Pool & Beach (10)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Royal Oak
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Royal Oak is your alternative to cookie cutter corporate hotels. We're different, and you'll love us for it! Our boutique hotel is just a 7 minute walk to Downtown Royal Oak. Parking, Hot Breakfast, and Coffee are complimentary, unlike our competition, which charges for these amenities. Our rooms feature modern decor, completely renovated furnishings, premium bath amenities, comfortable bedding, HDTV flat-screens with premium HD channels, and complimentary in room coffee. Rooms provide accommodations from 2 to 8 guests, and entertainment space for up to 20 guests. Large outdoor porches and green spaces provide plenty of hang out space. Royal Oak Music Theater, Mark Ridley's Comedy Castle, 515 Drag Queen Bingo, the Detroit Zoo and 100’s of restaurants, bars, shops & businesses are close by. Room service is available. The Hotel features discounts with many local businesses who provide guests with complimentary items. Local transportation services are readily available.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
82Good for walkers
Grade: 82 out of 100
97Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
16Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
73Reviews
0Q+A
18Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 16
  • 26
  • 13
  • 8
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed at Hotel Royal Oak with a group of friends coming from out of town. The H Entertainment Suite was the perfect accommodation for our group! This hotel is wonderful! The rooms are clean and up to date, with nice amenities. The staff were so kind and accommodating, we were
Read more
Response from MichaelHotelRoyalOak, General Manager at Hotel Royal Oak
Responded 2 weeks ago
Oscar we cannot thank you enough for this special review! The team will be smiling to be sure! The H Entertainment Suite is the "way to go", very pleased it exceeded your expectations.... We will be waiting for your return, thanks again... Kindest Regards, Michael Danella General Manager michael@hotelroyaloak.com
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
This classic old motor court has been being refurbished to the classic days of motor lodging and they are doing a fantastic job. They recently one an award from the city for their renovations. As someone who teaches hospitality classes I've always had a love for motor courts and
Read more
Response from MichaelHotelRoyalOak, General Manager at Hotel Royal Oak
Responded Apr 18, 2019
THANKS.... for your spectacular review... we greatly appreciate the kind words and we love motor inns as well... After reading your comments there is nothing more for me to say... you have said it all, and we are truly appreciative! I will be sure to pass along your complimets to the team...they will be thrilled... Best Wishes and we look forward to your return.... real soon...! Michael Danella General Manager michael@hotelroyaloak.com 258-547-9770 Book On Line: hotelroyaloak.com
Read more
I stayed here for an event in downtown Royal Oak. I was not disappointed. It was very charming and comfortable and only 5 min from downtown. Recently renovated and the price was just right! Will stay again
Read more
Response from MichaelHotelRoyalOak, General Manager at Hotel Royal Oak
Responded 4 weeks ago
We thank you Ruiz for your great comments.... our improvements continue in transforming a motor lodge built in 1953 into a "charming & comfortable place". Our proximity to downtown is an additional perk especially since it is a short walk or a very quick ride. We look forward to your return...soon...!!! Best Wishes, Michael Danella General Manager michael@hotelroyaloak.com Delet
Read more
From traffic noise to the sound of s tv 3 rooms away to the sporadic clicking of the heating system, this motel was a disappointment. Neither the hair dryer nor the bedside lamp worked properly. Cigarette butts scattered throughout stairwell. Room bright at night due to poor
Read more
Response from MichaelHotelRoyalOak, General Manager at Hotel Royal Oak
Responded Mar 20, 2019
I am sorry for your inconvenience and wish you had mentioned your comments prior to leaving. Please reach out to me as I would like to speak with you and apologize personally. Sincerely, Michael@hotelroyaloak.com
Read more
It was exactly as advertised—a classic motor lodge converted to a hip and modern hotel. The room was large, comfortable, and very well equipped. The desk clerks were friendly and helpful. Only have one small suggestion—put more outlets on or near the nightstand for recharging
Read more
Response from DevinG218, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal Oak
Responded Feb 25, 2019
Thank you, we're glad that you saw the vibe we are going for and enjoyed your stay with us. All the alarm clocks are USB and have additional ports for your charging needs but we are always open to suggestions to make sure our guests are comfortable and satisfied.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$116 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Royal Oak Motor Inn
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganRoyal Oak
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing