We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 350: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really wanted this place to be great. The day I went was during winter. The pool was packed. The water was on the chilly side. I struggled to even find a spot in the jacuzzi to warm up my kid. The place could use a freshening up as it was a bit dreary. I hope my experience was unusual... More 

Helpful?
Thank albany_dane
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Even though it's been a while since you stopped by, albany_dane, I still appreciate the feedback, and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have an amazing time. I know we can get a little busy during the winter, but it's odd to hear the water was chilly. We have painted the pool floor, the pool decks, and the walls since... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited on Labor day weekend and were pleasantly surprised to find so many activities around the campground. Our children love camping and the grounds were clean and well kept. We didn't make it to the Saturday night Rodeo but it will be on our to do list on our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank lcastanon26
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Definitely need to check out the rodeo the next time you're visiting -- it's worth it! Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and I'm already excited to have you back in again soon! All the best, Curtis B., GM More 

Middleville, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Totally screwed up our reservation on a holiday weekend! Tried to stuff our big camper through the woods (which needs trimming) into two small sites. Low branches made it impossible. Left and drove home. Unless they remove and trim some trees, we won't return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene P
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Reading this comes as a surprise, Arlene -- one I take seriously and will look into immediately. I appreciate you bringing it to my attention, and I sincerely hope you give us another chance in the future to provide you with the five-star experience you deserve. All the best, Curtis B., GM More 

Travelers are raving about these Rothbury hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the thoroughbred lofts for a wedding. We payed well over $100 to stay there for the night, and what while the room was clean, that is about the only good thing I can say about the room. From the beaten up blinds that don't do a good job of keeping out the light to the sloppily painted... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Darla D
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

While I'm glad to hear that you were pleased with the cleanliness of the room, Darla, I do wish the overall room had made the same great impression. It's certainly important for our rooms to be conducive to a comfortable stay, and we'd never want anything to threaten that comfort. I'll be sure to look into this right away, as... More 

Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Lofts hotel while 3 sets of friends camped at the campground. We tried to stay at the cabins but they were booked. Our friends tried to get us to tent camp on their lot. Thankfully we didn't because it rained really hard and they had a stream flowing in their lot. The hotel was smelly, dark... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shellkerry
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Right off the bat, Shellkerry, I want to apologize that everything wasn't perfect when you came out. We're aware of some of the issues you brought up and are working hard to make sure everything is back to working order. Knowing you left disappointed is disheartening, and I only hope you give us another shot in the future to provide... More 

Noblesville, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016

We visited in July of 2016 so that we could experience a trail ride with my kids. As we were getting ready for a trail ride in the staging area the staff put my wife on a horse last for some reason and they advised it was because the horse was acting a bit strange on the last ride and... More 

Helpful?
Thank mareiss1
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

I hope you got a chance to see our response on Facebook, but I'd like to reiterate our apologies here. Our records show that you were credited and refunded the cost of the ride -- it can sometimes take 3-5 business days to show up on your statement, so that might be where the confusion came from. Of course, if... More 

Saint John, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

The rooms in the loft hotel were rather old, we found goldfish crackers and chocolate/caramel on the floor. The cold water didn't seem to work in the sink and the shower stream was poor. Half the water slides were closed on the weekend we were there. One of the 2 that were open required at least 3-4 people in it.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly K
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Kimberly, you should absolutely expect to be treated to the excellent service and amenities your deserve while you're here, and I'm sorry to hear we let you down. We train our staff to be courteous and respectful of every guest, so rest assured I'll be looking into what might have happened. I only hope you give us another shot in... More 

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016

Double JJ Ranch was absolutely stunning and beautiful. It was more then what we ever expected. The pictures do not justify it. There are a few sections you can pick from to stay at. there is the hotel, which is normal hotel set back in the woods. There is a Back 40 camp ground which is in a great location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim D
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, Kim -- it means a lot to everyone here to know you had an amazing stay. I'm glad to know the suite was able to impress, and I'm excited everyone enjoyed the activities offered as well. Thanks again, and I hope to have you back in again soon! Until then,... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in the back 40 log homes with 15 friends and their children (kids were all under 11.) Has a fantastic time. The homes were clean and spacious. The property has so much potential and could really be quite special. The kids enjoyed the barn animals, games, and pony rides. The pool area was a bit lackluster and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michsnowbird
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Michsnowbird, thanks so much for choosing to stay with us -- it means a lot to know you had a great time while you were here. I appreciate the feedback in regard to the pool area, so rest assured I'll be keeping it in mind as we move forward. Thanks for the kind words, and I hope to have you... More 

Marquette, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

Shellie Garnsey — 1 starI would give a -0 if possible. Horrible experience. Reserved $2300 worth of rooms for family members and a "Bridal suite/Honeymoon suite" for my daughters wedding. Booked 6 mths in advance, held w/ credit card. called 2 wks before wedding to find my entire reservation had "ACCIDENTLY" been cancelled.They shifted us all around and by down... More 

Helpful?
Thank smgis22busy
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Shellie, I apologize for the inconvenience regarding the shower. You chose us to help make your daughter's special day amazing, and we let you down. Given the situation, we offered you alternate places to shower, and I apologize they weren't convenient or ideal. I apologize once again and wish you all the best. Sincerely, Curtis B., GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

198 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (118)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (65)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
21.4 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
8.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
9.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#3 of 5 in Whitehall
3.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
19.6 mi away
Days Inn suites Pentwater
Days Inn suites Pentwater
#1 of 1 in Pentwater
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Double JJ Resort is one of Michigan's best kept secrets! Come explore miles of scenic trails on horseback, perfect for riders of any skill level and age. Experience the thrill of our Gold Rush Indoor Waterpark, housing Michigan's tallest indoor waterslide, a wave pool, and plenty of play areas. Camping is no longer a thing of the past here at the Double JJ! You can gather around a campfire with your family and friends and tell stories of the past or tales to please everyone. Don't forget to bring your golf clubs and play on our world championship Thoroughbred Golf Club course, where the lush greens meet the fresh water. Rated 4 1/2 stars by Golf Digest, the Thoroughbred's stunning, wooded layout offers enough challenge to keep you coming back time & time again. Combined with resort activities such as summer rodeos, outdoor sports, and waterparks, the Double JJ has the perfect mix of activities to entertain anyone who visits. Escape from your everyday life into the laid-back lifestyle of the Double JJ Resort! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort

Address: 5900 Water Rd, Rothbury, MI 49452-7939
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Rothbury
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Jj Ranch And Golf Resort
Double Jj Ranch & Golf Hotel Rothbury
Double Jj Hotel
Double Jj Rothbury
Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort Michigan/Rothbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay