We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothbury
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 346: English reviews
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Lofts hotel while 3 sets of friends camped at the campground. We tried to stay at the cabins but they were booked. Our friends tried to get us to tent camp on their lot. Thankfully we didn't because it rained really hard and they had a stream flowing in their lot. The hotel was smelly, dark... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shellkerry
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Right off the bat, Shellkerry, I want to apologize that everything wasn't perfect when you came out. We're aware of some of the issues you brought up and are working hard to make sure everything is back to working order. Knowing you left disappointed is disheartening, and I only hope you give us another shot in the future to provide... More 

Noblesville, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited in July of 2016 so that we could experience a trail ride with my kids. As we were getting ready for a trail ride in the staging area the staff put my wife on a horse last for some reason and they advised it was because the horse was acting a bit strange on the last ride and... More 

Helpful?
Thank mareiss1
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

I hope you got a chance to see our response on Facebook, but I'd like to reiterate our apologies here. Our records show that you were credited and refunded the cost of the ride -- it can sometimes take 3-5 business days to show up on your statement, so that might be where the confusion came from. Of course, if... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rothbury hotels

Saint John, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms in the loft hotel were rather old, we found goldfish crackers and chocolate/caramel on the floor. The cold water didn't seem to work in the sink and the shower stream was poor. Half the water slides were closed on the weekend we were there. One of the 2 that were open required at least 3-4 people in it.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly K
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Kimberly, you should absolutely expect to be treated to the excellent service and amenities your deserve while you're here, and I'm sorry to hear we let you down. We train our staff to be courteous and respectful of every guest, so rest assured I'll be looking into what might have happened. I only hope you give us another shot in... More 

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Double JJ Ranch was absolutely stunning and beautiful. It was more then what we ever expected. The pictures do not justify it. There are a few sections you can pick from to stay at. there is the hotel, which is normal hotel set back in the woods. There is a Back 40 camp ground which is in a great location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim D
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, Kim -- it means a lot to everyone here to know you had an amazing stay. I'm glad to know the suite was able to impress, and I'm excited everyone enjoyed the activities offered as well. Thanks again, and I hope to have you back in again soon! Until then,... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent 4 nights in the back 40 log homes with 15 friends and their children (kids were all under 11.) Has a fantastic time. The homes were clean and spacious. The property has so much potential and could really be quite special. The kids enjoyed the barn animals, games, and pony rides. The pool area was a bit lackluster and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michsnowbird
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Michsnowbird, thanks so much for choosing to stay with us -- it means a lot to know you had a great time while you were here. I appreciate the feedback in regard to the pool area, so rest assured I'll be keeping it in mind as we move forward. Thanks for the kind words, and I hope to have you... More 

Marquette, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Shellie Garnsey — 1 starI would give a -0 if possible. Horrible experience. Reserved $2300 worth of rooms for family members and a "Bridal suite/Honeymoon suite" for my daughters wedding. Booked 6 mths in advance, held w/ credit card. called 2 wks before wedding to find my entire reservation had "ACCIDENTLY" been cancelled.They shifted us all around and by down... More 

Helpful?
Thank smgis22busy
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Shellie, I apologize for the inconvenience regarding the shower. You chose us to help make your daughter's special day amazing, and we let you down. Given the situation, we offered you alternate places to shower, and I apologize they weren't convenient or ideal. I apologize once again and wish you all the best. Sincerely, Curtis B., GM More 

Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The resort is spread over a few miles. Since it's so large, the maintenance is large & management has a difficult task of keeping it updated. We had a 4 bedroom suite in the Thoroughbred Suites. We had maintenance come 2 times. Once to take a mildewed shower curtain to wash. 2nd time to fix air conditioning in 1 bedroom.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda K
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Hey, Linda! Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us! I'm glad to know everything from the pool to the food were wonderful while you were here, and, even though things weren't absolutely perfect, I'm glad to know the staff was accommodating and friendly! Sorry to hear about the maintenance issues. I'll discuss your concerns with our Facilities Manager.... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

We stayed at the Double JJ as part of a wedding in the area. There were 3 hotels to choose from, and we chose the Double JJ becuase of the kid factor. On arrival, the place appears to be impressive. The lodge and the grounds look very nice. The water park is fantastic. However, the rooms at the Hotel were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank TizzyInc
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

TizzyInc, thank you for your feedback and for choosing Double JJ Resort. I’m glad you enjoyed the appearance of the resort. First impressions are very important. I’m also happy to know you found the Gold Rush Indoor Waterpark to be fantastic. Just so you know, we offer packages such as the Splash Package and Ride and Slide Package where there... More 

Canton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Amazing place, stumbled upon by accident! Real rodeo and cowboys, just like when I grew up in Texas, an old western town, fancy golf course, and my son's favorite...Gold Rush Waterpark! A good breakfast is also included each morning, but for those of us wanting to sleep in, you'll want to get up and just ask for a to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank heartoftexas2
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Christine, I'm so, so happy to know you had a wonderful stay when you came to visit! After all, our number one goal is and always will be making sure each guest is comfortable and has a great time! I appreciate you taking the time to highlight so many of the wonders of our resort that make it a hidden... More 

Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Just stayed in the "Back 40" cabins and it was wonderful! This place is truly one-of-a-kind. Beautiful grounds! Nice staff. The activities are a blast for kids AND adults. The cabins are clean, air conditioned and are placed so you can hang out with other groups or pick secluded spot. The steakhouse was fabulous...great service. There is a saloon next... More 

Helpful?
Thank 798Suz_E_Q
DJJResort, Owner at Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort, responded to this review

It sounds like you got the full experience during your visit, and I'm so happy to hear you and your whole family had a blast! From the food, to the activities, it's always our goal to make sure you leave our place having had an amazing time. Thanks so much for the kind words, and I hope to have you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

197 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (118)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (65)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
8.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
21.4 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
9.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Days Inn Pentwater
Days Inn Pentwater
#1 of 1 in Pentwater
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
10.2 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#3 of 5 in Whitehall
3.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Double JJ Resort is one of Michigan's best kept secrets! Come explore miles of scenic trails on horseback, perfect for riders of any skill level and age. Experience the thrill of our Gold Rush Indoor Waterpark, housing Michigan's tallest indoor waterslide, a wave pool, and plenty of play areas. Camping is no longer a thing of the past here at the Double JJ! You can gather around a campfire with your family and friends and tell stories of the past or tales to please everyone. Don't forget to bring your golf clubs and play on our world championship Thoroughbred Golf Club course, where the lush greens meet the fresh water. Rated 4 1/2 stars by Golf Digest, the Thoroughbred's stunning, wooded layout offers enough challenge to keep you coming back time & time again. Combined with resort activities such as summer rodeos, outdoor sports, and waterparks, the Double JJ has the perfect mix of activities to entertain anyone who visits. Escape from your everyday life into the laid-back lifestyle of the Double JJ Resort! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort

Address: 5900 Water Rd, Rothbury, MI 49452-7939
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Rothbury
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Double Jj Ranch And Golf Resort
Double Jj Ranch & Golf Hotel Rothbury
Double Jj Hotel
Double Jj Rothbury
Double JJ Ranch & Golf Resort Michigan/Rothbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing