We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
44045 Five Mile Rd, Plymouth, MI 48170-2555
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Inn at St John's
$199
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$179
Free cancellation until 12/17/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$179
Free cancellation until 12/17/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$179
Orbitz.com$179
Tripadvisor$179
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (93)
Room & Suite (36)
Videos (1)

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Plymouth
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
A proud recipient of the AAA Four-Diamond Award, Saint John's is Detroit’s Destination Resort! An exquisite property full of history and Romanesque architecture dating back to the 1940’s when it was originally built as a Seminary. Perfectly situated just twenty minutes from Detroit Metro Airport, Downtown Detroit and Ann Arbor, our resort has everything you need to host a meeting, plan a dream wedding, celebrate a special occasion, enjoy fine dining, or just a weekend getaway to relax and play. Furnished in an upscale and lavish style, the hotel’s 118 spacious guestrooms and suites range from 310 sq. ft. to over 1,500 sq. ft. A perfect setting for any occasion, our Conference Center offers over 48,000 square feet of spectacular meeting and event space with all-natural lighting. We feature four pristine ballrooms and eighteen meeting rooms with the largest accommodating up to 1,000 people. Our sophisticated and elegant spaces mostly overlook or have access to lush gardens throughout the property.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Patio
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Arabic and 2 more
324Reviews0Q+A61Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 210
  • 77
  • 22
  • 8
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alyeska13 wrote a review Oct 2022
The Netherlands527 contributions181 helpful votes
+1
We attended a large family wedding here, and it was incredible! We had numerous rooms for our large extended family, and the 2 story suite was a perfect gathering place for all of us. The chapel itself was gorgeous… it didn’t look like something you’d see in the US. Everything was elegant and surprisingly European looking, including the vaulted rooms where we had drinks before the reception. We had a regular room and a junior suite for our family. There was a sitting room connected to the junior suite bedroom which was nice. We had a day to go to Canada (which is so close.) We drove over to Fort Malden and enjoyed learning the history and eating at a pub in the quaint town there. I would love to have a reason to visit both places again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Andrew V wrote a review Nov 2021
Windsor, Canada12 contributions15 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I ate dinner recently at the excellent restaurant in this hotel. I left my hat behind. The service I received in locating it and delivering it to me personally was incredible! Ryan and Owen at the Front Desk were amazing - I was almost glad I left it behind because their service was so unexpected in this difficult time!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Saint John's Resort
Responded Nov 2, 2021
Hi 280andrewv280, Thank you for this kind review. It is so much easier being nice to nice people! We will be sure to share your compliments with Owen and Ryan. We are also glad you enjoyed dining with us at 5ive Steakhouse. We hope you will return soon. Best wishes, Jim Fowler Assistant Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol C wrote a review Jun 2022
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan21 contributions37 helpful votes
I stayed here the nights of June 15 and June 16 for a conference I was attending on site. I am a returning customer. Check in was a breeze, and my king bed room was clean and spacious for me staying there alone. I was impressed by the black towel marked "makeup" in the bathroom; what a clever way to keep black mascara stains off white towels. I was not expecting housekeeping service during my stay, but was delighted to find the bed made and bathroom freshened up while i was at the conference. I at 5ive Restaurant on site both nights, simply because I was too lazy to drive anywhere else. Menu tends to be on the expensive side, but I was able to find reasonably priced items to suit my budget. They are understaffed, just like everywhere, but had no issues with ordering and getting my food. In fact, the chef served me one night, so you know they need staff. The bar was extremely busy, and so wasn't able to spend much time talking to bartender John, who remembers me each year I come.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Suites are available with a living room in addition to the bedroom; those rooms on the floor I...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tara S wrote a review Apr 2022
Minerva, Ohio39 contributions6 helpful votes
This place in my opinion is not worth the $309.00 a night that they charged. I don't mind spending good money to stay at nice places but I expect to be impressed. This was not the case here. Apparently they were under renovation which we were not made aware of before booking. We found we didn't have hot water in our shower. We were placed in another room but were inconvenienced with having to repack everything and move. They do have a nice exercise room and pool area. The hot tub however didn't keep a hot temperature. We also had to call and ask for towels for pool area. The cushions in this area have seen better days, looked kinda broken down and dirty. They rooms were nice and definitely felt clean but overall I would have opted for a nice Hampton and saved a lot of money. Management did offer us a $40 per night credit for our inconvenience which I found laughable when you are charging over $300 a night for a room that clearly wasnt any better quality than what I would have paid at Hampton.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Saint John's Resort
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Dear taras831, Thank you for sharing your concerns and we are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. While pleased that many of your comments were positive, the fact that you did not feel the value for price paid was there. We will be reaching out to you to further discuss the issues in a manner that will better address the issues to your satisfaction. Sincerely, Ian Fleming Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GlobalExec wrote a review Dec 2021
Bowling Green, Ohio500 contributions143 helpful votes
I attended a meeting at this lovely property the first week of December and what a great way to start the month of Christmas! The hotel, which is elegant in its own right, was splendidly decorated for the season and the overall charm of the property put us in the holiday spirit immediately. It's a very unique sprawling property with an assortment of meeting/event space, a popular, upscale restaurant, very large rooms and a beautiful golf course (under renovation), and a large golf shop on the premise. I can't wait to return and enjoy the endless amenities of this incredible property.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Saint John's Resort
Responded Dec 15, 2021
Dear GlobalExec, Your review is the best Christmas present our staff can receive. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We are always happy to share this wonderful place with others. Please have a Merry Christmas and come back soon! Best wishes, Jim Fowler Assistant Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
djtheoret wrote a review Oct 2021
Lakeland, Florida424 contributions34 helpful votes
The Inn at St. John’s Golf Resort in Plymouth, Michigan has a rich history that dates back to the late 1940s when it was the St. John’s Provincial Seminary. The seminary served the Catholic Archdiocese of Detroit until June 7, 1988, when it was closed and the property remained dormant until 1994. That year it reopened as the St. John's Center for Youth & Family. The St. John's Center for Youth and Family hosted a variety of summer camps and youth groups, as well as renewal groups for couples. Parishes from all over metro Detroit used their facilities and the wedding chapel, built in 1955, still hosts Catholic weddings to this day. In 1998 a major repurposing of the property took place and the golf course went on a two-year hiatus. Work started on redeveloping St John’s main buildings into a comprehensive center for corporate and social conferences, Catholic weddings, and celebrations. When all of the restoration and renovation work was done in 2000, the property reopened as the St. John's Golf & Conference Center. The hotel was the final piece of the puzzle and in January 2006, The Inn at St. Johns opened its doors. Inside you’ll find 118 luxurious guestrooms and 24 specialty suites. The Inn at St. John’s also has 25 meeting rooms and a Grande Ballroom that can accommodate up to 450 guests. There is a fine-dining steakhouse on-site - 5ive - with a well-stocked bar and lounge, and all of the recreational amenities you’d expect from a luxury boutique hotel. Although the St. John’s golf course doesn’t have the storied history that the St. John’s Seminary has, it’s still a story worth telling. When everything is open, there are 3 nine-hole layouts, 27 holes in all. The first nine holes were built in the property’s earliest years and grew to 18 when the golf facilities were opened up to the public in the 1970s. Then, during the property’s redevelopment in the 1990s, nine more holes were added. And can you think of more appropriate names for each nine: Matthew (Holes 19 – 27), Mark (1 -9), and Luke (10 – 18)? Currently, the course isn’t in its regular configuration and may not be for the rest of the year. The green on Hole #6 is being completely rebuilt. There are a total of 24 holes open and for the time being, the three disciples have been replaced by the Resort Course and Quick 6. Scorecards have been created for each. The Resort Course (Mark/Matthew) plays 6,371 yards from the back tees; ladies typically play from 5,075 yards and have a great time. The Luke nine features three par 3s, three par 4s, and three par 5s for a par of 37. While each nine-hole loop has its own personality, they all share the same topography and several water features. Water comes into play on 7 holes on Mark alone! Mark and Luke are more wide open compared to Matthew, which has several tight fairways. Trees play a predominant role on all three courses. One of the more memorable trios of holes is Matthew 20 through 22. Number 20 is a legitimate par 4, 387 yards from the Gold Tees. It’s a slight dogleg right with a wide-open landing area off the tee. You’ll need to approach the green in the air as the shot is over a valley into an elevated green with considerable undulation. You’ll also need to contend with two sand traps that guard the front. Number 21 is slightly shorter at 352 yards but plays across a couple of valleys that slope left to right and can leave some interesting lies. The green is even more elevated than the previous hole. The par 3 22nd hole is perhaps The Inn at St. John’s signature hole. From the back tees, the hole plays 194 yards, downhill, over water to a large, well-protected green. Play this stretch in par or better and you’ll probably have a good round. The one thing all three courses have in common is the halfway house; it’s an area that’s very peaceful and beautifully landscaped. Depending on how you’re playing, you may just want to hang out here! The Quick Six is a shortened version of the Luke Course and features water on every hole. There are 3 par 3s, 2 par 4s, and a short, 470-yard par 5. For longball hitters, Number 1 is a great risk/reward hole. The hole plays 309 yards from the back tees with a small lake on the left and a creek cutting through the fairway at about 220 yards. If you have the distance, go for it, otherwise, hit your tee shot short of the water and leave a manageable chip shot into a green protected on the front right by sand. With land in that area at a premium, there is no driving range on-site per se. What they do have is something better – Carl’s Golfland right next door! In addition to everything you’d expect to find at Carl’s – which is just about anything to do with golf – there’s a 32-bay heated TrackMan range. You can play games with friends and make a day of it, fine-tune your game with 8 key points of data on each swing of the club, or simply hit a quick bucket to warm up before you play. If you’re looking for a nearby course to host your league play or next outing, The inn at St, John’s is the perfect venue. All three golf courses are not overly difficult, not too long, and close to the city. Most par 4s play less than 350 yards and no par 4 plays longer than 400, Leagues can rotate each week and have a variety of experiences all at one location. If you play the courses on a regular basis, it’s like having 3 18-hole layouts to choose from. After your round – or for lunch or dinner if you’re staying at the hotel – check out The Inn’s on-site steakhouse, 5ive. For starters, their 5ive Onion Soup is incredible; caramelized Bermuda and Vidalia onions, shallots, leeks, garlic, Madeira broth, and a baked gruyère crouton. Sharable appetizers include the Brussels Sprouts served with pancetta, hazelnuts, pickled grapes, and onions, infused with a chili-garlic vinaigrette and the Modern Mac & Cheese, smoked white cheddar, Amish butter cheese, bacon lardons, and a herb crumb topping. Entrees I recommend include the Smoked Bone-In Vaca Beef Short Rib which has a bourbon mustard demi-glace and is served with a white bean purée and pickled vegetables or the 16-oz Prime Ribeye with seasonal vegetables and potatoes and an Armagnac demi-glace. Desserts are incredible too! You won’t find a better venue in the metro Detroit area to host a special event or wedding! Their exquisite chapel is available for Roman Catholic weddings. The Inn at St. John’s features four distinctive ballrooms, each with its own unique experience, and meticulously maintained outdoor courtyard areas that provide a refreshing atmosphere for mingling, cocktails, and photos. The Inn at St. John’s hosts many special events on an annual basis, such as the Concours d'Elegance of America car classic. Last Word: Although none of the courses have overwhelming length, you’ll find several blind shots as well as meandering brooks and several other water hazards to contend with as you make your way around the layout. These courses have been delighting bible scholars and golfers since the 1940s and will continue to delight golfers for many decades to come. The Inn at St. John’s is managed by Michigan-based Boutique Hotel Professionals.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Saint John's Resort
Responded Oct 27, 2021
Dear djtheoret WOW! That is a very thorough review of The Inn at St. John's. It leaves us speechless!!! Thank you for posting it! Best regards, Jim Fowler Assistant Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave W wrote a review Sep 2021
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan128 contributions85 helpful votes
I have been aware of this property for many years, but not had the pleasure of staying here. When we were looking for an anniversary getaway close to home, this place came to mind so we decided to give it a shot. We even booked their "romance" package to get the full effect! The property is beautiful, inside and out. Although some of the decor is a little dated, it is still quite beautiful and tasteful. I also know that they are planning a major renovation and expansion soon, so I'm sure it is going to get even better. Our room was quite spacious and comfortable. The bed provided a great night's sleep. The bathroom was also roomy and provided everything we needed. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant as part of our package. It was pretty basic, but tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Saint John's Resort
Responded Oct 27, 2021
Dear DHWDetroit, First of all, Happy Belated Anniversary! Secondly, thank you so much for this lovely review. We were honored you chose to stay with us for your anniversary. Please do not wait until the next one to visit us again! Kindest regards, Jim Fowler Assistant Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RegDallasGayCouple wrote a review Jul 2021
Highland Park, Texas34 contributions32 helpful votes
Really wonderful historic building and lush resort. We were here for the Concours d’ Elegance of America classic car event. They too great care of us. Group meals in the ballroom were really well done. We are in the restaurant and bar several times, and the burger was my favorite thing on the menu — and it’s a good value too. Rooms were modern and well appointed. Bathrooms seemed to be recently renovated, so they were great.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Saint John's Resort
Responded Jul 27, 2021
Dear RegDallasGayCouple, It was so nice of you to author this lovely 5-Star review of your visit during the Concours d'Elegance. We are pleased that you enjoyed this wonderful weekend with us. We hope you will return sometime in the near future! Best wishes, Jim Fowler Assistant Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChestnutHillCritic wrote a review Jul 2021
Wyndmoor, Pennsylvania46 contributions42 helpful votes
Loved our three night stay at this unique, beautiful property. The high quality of the room furnishings, top notch bed and linens and helpful friendly staff made the whole trip delightful! This will be our go to hotel in the Detroit area…
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Saint John's Resort
Responded Jul 20, 2021
Dear ChestnutHillCritic, Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you next visit. Sincerely, Jim Fowler Assistant Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Douglas B wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions
As I mentioned to the Front Desk Manager, this Inn has become the measuring standard by which we judge all other hotels/motels. The rooms are spotless, the amenities are numerous, the staffs (both front desk and housekeeping) are friendly, helpful, and efficient. In short, the five stars are well deserved. This Inn is highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Saint John's Resort
Responded Jul 2, 2021
Dear Douglas B., What a joy to read this wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoy staying with us and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes, Jim Fowler Assistant Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$198 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn at st. john`s hotel plymouth, hotel at st johns, at st johns plymouth
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Inn At St. John's
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganPlymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
118
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAINT JOHN'S RESORT $186 ($̶2̶2̶5̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Plymouth, MI

Frequently Asked Questions about Saint John's Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Saint John's Resort?
Nearby attractions include Carl's Golfland (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Saint John's Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Saint John's Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Saint John's Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Saint John's Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Saint John's Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include FIVE Steakhouse, Rusty Bucket Restaurant and Tavern, and Mothers Pizzeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Saint John's Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Saint John's Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Saint John's Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Saint John's Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Arabic, and Farsi.
Are there any historical sites close to Saint John's Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mill Race Village (2.7 miles).