We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3354 N US Highway 23, Oscoda, MI 48750-9589
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (20)
Pool & Beach (26)
View from Room (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 03/26/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sandcastle Beach Resort
Updated 03/26/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 11 hotels in Oscoda
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.3
Value
4.7
Sandcastle Beach Resort - Charming one, two, and three bedroom beachfront cottages. An affordable, old-fashioned family-fun resort destination. Featuring over 200 feet of fine sugar sand Lake Huron beach. Resort features: Children's play center with swings, slide, and climber, Teeter Totter & monkey bars, Shuffleboard court, Large beach fire pits for nightly bonfires, Barbecue grills, Cornhole game, Beach volleyball, Wooden beach swings, Beach Adirondack chairs. Cottages feature: Private decks on all cottages with new boardwalk along the suites; Alarm clocks and radios, Air conditioning in bedrooms or living area, Charming knotty pine interiors, Cable television with all flat panels and DVD players in all cottages and suites. All accommodations offer ceiling fans. All cottages have full kitchens and microwaves. Three suites have a microwave, coffee maker, and a small refrigerator, one double suite has full kitchen. Onsite office.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
21Reviews11Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 18
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Hugh H wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This “resort” is substandard and it is very difficult to understand how our reserved unit, #6, would be legal for public accommodation offering. My wife and I now understand why there is a three night minimum. Any seasoned traveler would not consider staying more than one night. We took one look at #6 and immediately left the resort and accepted that our hefty deposit was nor refundable. My intentions are to file a consumer protection complaint with Michigan Attorney General and an additional inquiry with the Oscoda area BBB.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom and Stacy Wdowik, Owner at Sandcastle Beach Resort
Responded Aug 4, 2022
This review is very disturbing on many counts. First of all, upon check-in, you requested to see the room, which you were given the keys to do so. When you arrived back at the office, you indicated that "it would not work for you" and did not cite any specifics. We did not enforce the policy, of which you were given a copy within the email confirmation for your reservation, that if you did not cancel prior to arrival, you would forfeit the entire balance, which we did not do, but rather just the deposit. Furthermore, we have been in business for 10 years, and have an extremely high rate of return guests, and numerous positive reviews, many specifically citing Suite #6 which remains a very popular end unit nearest the water. You have made some very "damaging" and baseless accusations which meet the definition of defamation. We will happily respond to any inquiries we receive from any authority you mention above.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa W wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We loved being right on the water and having so many outdoor activities for the whole family! The playset, ping pong table and fire pits are awesome. Friendly, helpful hosts and clean inside and out! Dream vacation. We will definitely be back and refer all our friends!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Reserve early! Easy free parking. Safe, well lit.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom and Stacy Wdowik, Owner at Sandcastle Beach Resort
Responded Oct 22, 2021
Thank you for your very kind review and for choosing to stay with us. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bwright52 wrote a review Sep 2020
Midland, Michigan39 contributions14 helpful votes
motel is right on the beach as well as volleyball, shuffleboard, playground equipment and fire pit. Due to beach erosion, the grandkids couldn't go out as far as usual but that was fine. Beautiful views.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bbsparks1985 wrote a review Aug 2020
Novi, Michigan12 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I stayed at the Sandcastle Beach Resort and so thoroughly enjoyed our stay that we kept extending it. Owned and managed by Tom and Stacey, they do an awesome job of ensuring a pleasant stay. Cabins are clean and updated with everything needed for our stay. We stayed at one of the smaller cabins since it was just me and my husband and were fortunate to get cabin #6 which is on the end with a fabulous view of Lake Huron. This is one of the smaller cabins - better for couples. The resort is family-friendly with many activities including shuffleboard, playground area, rafts, volleyball, basketball, fire pits. etc. Our room came with flat screen t.v., cable, small refrigerator, wi-fi, microwave, coffee pot. We will be going back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Wdowik, Owner at Sandcastle Beach Resort
Responded Aug 5, 2020
Thank you so much for the kind review. We loved having you here and excited that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to future visits!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aileen B wrote a review Aug 2019
Ontario, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
We really enjoyed this easy going place. Room was basic but clean and reasonably up to date. A little small for 4, but for 2 nights was just what we needed. Beds comfortable. AC worked well. Nice beach. Kids loved the shuffleboard. We hope to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Zahera h wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
We had a wonderful experience at Sandcastle Resort,this was our first visit under new management.The management was very efficient ,I didn't realize the unit #7 we booked did not have a kitchen.The management offered us to book our vacation on a later date when the kitchen was available.That was very thoughtful and helped us plan better we stayed in #7 .Very clean surroundings,comfortable bed,adequate grills,and chairs. It is very sad to see the impact of climate change on the beaches and rise in water level.We went after 10 years and most of the beach was gone.The management had to build a boardwalk to protect whatever is left. We hear about these changes but it was eye opening how everything is connected and impacts our life.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: wi-fi was a bit slow,but we were on a family vacation.Did not require it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from tomandstacyw, Owner at Sandcastle Beach Resort
Responded Aug 6, 2019
Thank you for staying with us and for your very nice review of our resort! While the Great Lakes are all experiencing record highs during this cyclical change, we anticipate a time when the lakes will retreat and provide as much beach as you remember 10 years ago.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica S wrote a review Jun 2019
12 contributions
We stayed for a long weekend in suites 7 and 9. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the beach is absolutely beautiful. Went with 4 boys and everyone enjoyed themselves. The owners are onsite but extremely friendly. I can't wait to go back
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from tomandstacyw, Owner at Sandcastle Beach Resort
Responded Jun 28, 2019
Thanks Jessica! We're glad your family had a great time. Thank you for choosing to stay at our resort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kayharter wrote a review Sep 2018
Coldwater24 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
We had a fun time. We stayed in suite 8. Small, but okay for 2 people. Lots to do at this resort, many outdoor games and it’s very family friendly! You can purchase wood for $5 a bundle. The office offers many games and DVD’s for guest to borrow.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Taylor K wrote a review Jun 2018
13 contributions2 helpful votes
Absolutely fantastic experience! The cabins were clean and cozy and with heat and air conditioning included...what more could you ask for? Sitting by the campfire with the beach within reach was just the relaxing vacation I was looking for. The owners made me feel right at home, as if I was apart of their family! Couldn't have asked for a better experience and can't wait to go back next year!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Angie P wrote a review Jul 2016
Chesapeake, Virginia207 contributions75 helpful votes
Snuck up here for a quiet weekend away. What a hidden gem. The Owners were onsite and making sure that everything was working right and going well. There is a board game library, and if you need anything you can just ask! The cottages are delightful, inviting and clean. All doors and windows open easily, no bugs in the rooms, tidy and quaint. There are all different kinds of rooms, with different amenities for what you need, and EVERY cottage is lake view. The lakefront is clean and inviting with chairs and fire pits (bring your own wood). Great place for a family with small children, wish I had of found it years ago. The only issue - boy was that water cold brrrr!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Cottage 6 for a couple... semi private balcony with sliding doors facing lake - beautiful
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganOscoda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sandcastle Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sandcastle Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Oscoda Beach Park (2.9 miles), Hilltop Bar and Grill (3.0 miles), and Hunt's Canoes & Miniature Golf (2.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandcastle Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Sandcastle Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Sandcastle Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandcastle Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tait's Bill of Fare, Camp Inn Lodge, and G's Pizzeria & Deli.