We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
34042 107th Engineers Memorial Hwy Silver City, Ontonagon, MI 49953-9085
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (148)
Pool & Beach (45)
Room & Suite (44)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 8 Specialty lodging in Ontonagon
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
Beautiful, fully equipped, condo style cabins right on the sandy shore of Lake Superior.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Wifi
Hiking
Skiing
Canoeing offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Fireplace
Seating area
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
214Reviews3Q+A37Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 186
  • 17
  • 6
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MajellaMarie wrote a review Aug 2022
Iowa City, Iowa47 contributions8 helpful votes
Nice modern clean cabins right next to beautiful Lake Superior! Cabins have just about everything you need except food and personal items. Nice screen room, front porch and ski storage attached to cabin. We liked the little side porch to store our bikes out of the rain. The only downside: there is a day fee for guests to visit you!! and no guarantee a cabin on the beach without a 7 day reservation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you want a beachfront cabin make reservation for one week or more.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mitch F wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We loved the cabin. Great views of Lake Superior, lovely landscaping and attention to detail (ash containers for the grills, benches and fire rings for every cabin on the property's beach). The cabins have great windows to enjoy the Lake scenes, and screened porches. The amazing Porcupine Mountains State Park is just 5 miles down the road for world class hiking. We had never been to the area, but U think we picked the best place to stay in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Varecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges
Responded Aug 7, 2022
It was a pleasure meeting you and we are glad you chose Mountain View Lodges for some R&R!. When you can get away again, we hope to have you visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MusicMama4 wrote a review Aug 2022
Wyoming, Michigan47 contributions67 helpful votes
We rented a cabin for my husband, me and our 16 year old son for 3 nights in July 2022. The owner was very helpful before we arrived and at check-in. The cabin was super clean and stocked with what looked like brand new kitchen supplies, including a Keurig, a crockpot and an appropriate amount of dishes, utensils, etc. There were a bunch of fans available to keep the rooms cool. The beds were comfortable with nice bedding. The windows opened and shut easily. The screen porch and foot tub were nice when coming off the beach. The resort is quiet and peaceful. Everybody seemed to respect that. The sandy/rocky beach is amazing! There are benches, but bring some chairs or a blanket if you can. There is a decent amount of sandy beach, but it's Lake Superior, so there are lots of rocks. Bring water shoes of some sort. There are fire pits along the beach for open use to all renters. We shared a fire with another family and watched a beautiful sunset. Best part? Yooperlites! Bring a UV flashlight and look for glowing rocks as the sun goes down. There are also kayaks and canoes available for anyone to use for free. Please take the advice of the owners/staff when they tell you what to bring as you are miles away from a grocery store or gas station. Located only a few miles from the entrance to Porcupine Mountains State Park, so it was easy to get to hiking trailheads. Definitely a hidden gem. Skip the campgrounds and mediocre motels in the area and stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Varecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges
Responded Aug 7, 2022
Thank you for choosing to stay at Mountain View Lodges. Our goal is always to provide the best we can for our guests. We enjoyed meeting you and we will look forward t your return trip!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol M wrote a review Jul 2022
Clinton Township, Michigan14 contributions4 helpful votes
This is an Upper Peninsula Gem. The staff was very polite and helpful with places to visit in the area. The cabin is a little piece of heaven on Lake Superior. My husband and I found the cabin very clean and the bed comfortable. We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed sitting in the screened porch area at night. I swam in the Lake and found it to be refreshing for Lake Superior. It wasn't bone chilling as it can be sometimes. Our cabin wasn't directly lake front, but it was pretty darn close. None of the cabins are far from the water. I recall reading a negative review on the lodge/owners. We found more positive reviews and decided that the negative reviewer must have been just an unhappy person. We can only say we had a great experience at the Mountain View Cabins. We spoke with the management at check in/check out and they were very pleasant. Even the gentlemen that came by to pick up the garbage from our cabin each day were as nice as can be. We will definitely return again and hopefully our kids and their families will be able to join us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Varecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges
Responded Aug 7, 2022
We are so glad you enjoyed our stay at Mountain View Lodges! We also think it is a little slice of heaven and are blessed to call this "work". We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to your family returning!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Navigator696547 wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Love this place. Cabin was clean and had everything we needed. The owners communicated information prior to our stay and were readily available when needed. The beach was right out our door and Porcupine Mt just minutes away.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Varecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges
Responded Jul 23, 2022
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Mountain View Lodges! It is our goal to provide the R&R and good memories everyone needs! Thank you for choosing us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly K wrote a review Jun 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
This is our second time staying at Mountain View Lodges and not our last. The cabins are cozy, clean, and comfortable. We slept fine, no back pain. The view from our lake side rental was stunning, especially at sunset. The bugs were present but not too bad, especially right on the beach. The hosts were wonderful, responsive, and accommodating. My kids loved looking for rocks and sea glass and playing in the sand. I do recommend netted hats and 99% deet for certain trails in the Porkies, especially those farther from the lake. They sold them at the nearby outpost restaurant/ gift shop (great gift shop btw). My only regret is not buying some tea in the on-site gift shop- which has a variety of cute jewelry and crafts. Highly recommended for a serene getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Varecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges
Responded Jul 23, 2022
Thank you for choosing to stay at Mountain View Lodges! We are so glad you and your kids enjoyed your time. I know the beach and rock-hounding are both favorite adventures among the young and old! BTW we can ship the tea! Hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim F wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
We visited in the off season and had the whole place to ourselves! We took advantage of the wood burning fireplace each night which was so cozy. The resort is located super close to the Porcupine State Park, which was nice. There wasn’t staff there every day but they were available by phone/text and were very responsive. They were accommodating and we loved having a peaceful and quiet get away.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Varecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges
Responded Jul 23, 2022
So glad you enjoyed the warm cozy cabin. Mountain View Lodges is a very special place. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will come again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Companion97977 wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
The owner of this resort need to relax there are rules for everything you do. Check out the book in your cabin You can’t have a fire in the fireplace in October. $310.00 a night for cleaning your own resort and Cobb webs in every corner, windows that you can’t see out of in the morning because they need to be replaced. The mattresses were all old and mattress topper stained. Towels that are older than me, rooms need a update. Very uncomfortable beds. I see that the owner has a smart remark for everyone’s review of her place. She should listen and take in the comments not bash you for leaving your review. She is the same in person very brass and almost rude.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenifer Varecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges
Responded Oct 28, 2021
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do our very best to make sure things are fresh and clean for each guest’s arrival. You are correct, we do provide a book of information and expectations. Most of our guests are grateful for the clarity this provides. The book has been compiled from questions and experiences that have occurred. We do replace towels on a regular basis, we are unaware of the window issues you mentioned and we do know the beds are not for everyone, but firm still wins out over soft and saggy. We do send emails asking for information, suggestions or problems that occur during your stay. You didn’t send anything in response to our emails So, this review is the first we are hearing about any issue with the cabin. It is always more helpful to be made aware of a problem at the time it happens. We would have been happy to give you different towels if you didn’t like to ones you had, dust up any cobwebs we missed, etc. As for the fireplaces, this year has been unseasonably warm which precluded us from having the fireplaces open yet. And I want to apologize for whatever I said that came across as rude. Since that is definitely not my intention, and I don’t recall being rude to anyone, I can only assume I must have been having a bad day. So I am very sorry I came across anything other than welcoming.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill M wrote a review Sep 2021
Kalamazoo MI46 contributions20 helpful votes
We spent 2 nights in September. We arrived late the first night after a stunningly hot 88 degree day, unheard of in September in the UP. We were delighted to find the well-shaded cabin a pleasant temperature after having been prepared for a sweat lodge. The cabin was lovely, roomy, well-appointed with a screened porch and outside deck. The cabins are close together but not crowded. The grounds are attractive and the beach, in a bay, much more sandy than I had expected for Lk Superior. We enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenifer Varecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges
Responded Sep 23, 2021
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Mountain View Lodges! We hope to see you back…and for a longer stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gail s wrote a review Aug 2021
Jackson, Michigan1 contribution
We LOVED this place! The cabins were clean and had everything we needed (except washer/dryer), The private beach was lovely to meditate on in the morning and watch a beautiful sunset at night. It was the perfect place to return to after hiking all day. We will definitely be back! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Varecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges
Responded Sep 20, 2021
We will look forward to your return to Mountain View Lodges! So glad you had a relaxing time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganUpper PeninsulaOntonagon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mountain View Lodges
Which popular attractions are close to Mountain View Lodges?
Nearby attractions include Porcupine Mountains Ski Area (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountain View Lodges?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Mountain View Lodges?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mountain View Lodges?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mountain View Lodges?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountain View Lodges?
Conveniently located restaurants include Curbside Chicken, Paul's Restaurant & Lounge, and Porky's Pub and Grub.
Are pets allowed at Mountain View Lodges?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mountain View Lodges have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.