We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Peterson's Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Peterson\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2016

We have stayed here many times in the past, in many different cottages. This time we stayed in #105. The weather during our stay was stormy. The place was very clean and Chuck and Wendy went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating, even getting us a cottage when we arrived a day early. Had a fire in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Don D
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; it was good to see you two again; More 

Richmond, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2016

My friend and I were looking for a small cottage on Lake Superior near the Porcupine Mountains. We rented cottage no. 6 at Peterson's. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed. The beautiful beach was a short walk down a path. The sunsets are spectacular. Peterson's is a well kept resort in a good location. I would definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank BethC01
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; we will look forward to your return to lake superior mountain country; More 

1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2016

The cabin was perfect! It was very clean and everything worked well. The owners are very particular that things should be just right and as a result the place was spotless. Comfortable bed, free wifi, a beach just 100 yards away and clean laundromat on the premises. I highly recommend the place.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; keep us in mind the next time you are in the western u.p.; More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

We stopped for an over night. We were both extremely pleased. Very clean and the owners were very nice. Would stay here again. Took a walk down to Lake Superior. It was beautiful. A quiet and relaxing place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; perhaps you might consider a bit longer stay, if your travels bring you back to this part of the u.p.; More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2016

We had a two bedroom cabin, about 150 yards from Lake Superior. Excellent housekeeping, beach was great. Owners want you to enjoy a quiet, pet free, environment. They did that. Great restaurants, close to cabins in town. We wish we had time to stay longer. Will return next year. Beds were very comfortable and interaction with other quests was fine.

Helpful?
Thank DonaldDux1
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to comment; pleased to know you enjoyed the ontonagon area; we look forward to having you with us in '17; More 

Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Ontonagon is a little off the beaten track but that's what we liked. Peterson's is a great place to stay because it is right on a great Lake Superior beach and close to many other outdoor options such as the Porcupine Mountain State Park, Keweenaw Peninsula, Lake Gogebic State Park and the Cisco Chain of Lakes. We stayed in a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dbruns2015
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for commenting; pleased to know you had an enjoyable time; we would welcome your return, if you are in the western u.p. at some point in the future; More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

The place is well kept and very nice. Choose the ones near the beach. Beware of mosquitos .. There are hell lot of them. Do heed to what the owners tell you like making sure that all the dishes are kept dry or else you will be charged fir that. You can bonfire at the beach and barbecue as well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anshu S
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; More 

St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2016

The group I was with booked these accommodations. I probably would not stay here. The bedroom had some machine which was spewing out menthol; it was awful. Not sure if the owners were trying to cover something up or not. The bathroom had a towel behind the toilet on the floor, and there were many spiders crawling around on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank midwestscubagal
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; there certainly was no machine...'spewing out menthol'- we do, at times, use glade/renuzit air freshening cones; the towel behind the toilet is to catch the condensation from the cold ground water coming into the toilet tank; as for spiders & mosquitoes, this is a rural area- perhaps not leaving the city might be a solution;... More 

Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2016

We stayed in a one bedroom, screened in porch cottage. We used the grill and stove (both of which were supplied). Everything you would need was supplied; sheets, blankets, pillows, towels, dishes, pots, pans. We brought only our clothes, suntan lotion and bug spray. We bought food from a local grocery store as well as ate at some of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; we are glad you enjoyed your time at our little patch on the big lake; we would welcome your return when you next visit the western u.p. More 

Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
390 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

We decided to stay here since we were visiting the Porcupine Mts and the larger towns are so far away. I thought our 2-bedroom cabin for $180 per night (non weekend) would be a little nicer than it actually was. The experience was too close to camping for us, which of course, could appeal to other travelers. Unless you intend... More 

Helpful?
Thank jongable
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; you are quite correct- this is a very rural area (our closest walmart is an hour drive)- but we think that is what makes this such a magnificent area to visit & even more so to live; More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ontonagon hotels
10.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City
11.6 mi away
Mountain View Lodges
Mountain View Lodges
#1 of 6 in Ontonagon
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Peterson's Cottages

Address: 22608 Lakeshore Rd, Ontonagon, MI 49953-9005
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ontonagon
Price Range: $176 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Peterson's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Peterson's Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try the cabins”
 of 5 bubbles DonaldDux1, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“Know how many people will be in your party and whether a screened porch is something you would use or nor.”
  • view of our cabin from outside
 of 5 bubbles Y4451DQmelissab, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“We like Nakomis best, but also Sunset and Superior View (the names of some of their cabins)”
 of 5 bubbles larrya221, Nov 16, 2015 | Read review
“Very colorful outside the cottage during fall colors. 1 minute walk to the beach. Doesn't matter which room you stay.”
 of 5 bubbles Aithu80, Sep 28, 2015 | Read review
“The privacy and views from nakomis cottage can't be beat.”
 of 5 bubbles Thelma818, Sep 10, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay