We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Peterson's Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Peterson\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ontonagon is a little off the beaten track but that's what we liked. Peterson's is a great place to stay because it is right on a great Lake Superior beach and close to many other outdoor options such as the Porcupine Mountain State Park, Keweenaw Peninsula, Lake Gogebic State Park and the Cisco Chain of Lakes. We stayed in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank dbruns2015
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The place is well kept and very nice. Choose the ones near the beach. Beware of mosquitos .. There are hell lot of them. Do heed to what the owners tell you like making sure that all the dishes are kept dry or else you will be charged fir that. You can bonfire at the beach and barbecue as well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anshu S
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; More 

St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The group I was with booked these accommodations. I probably would not stay here. The bedroom had some machine which was spewing out menthol; it was awful. Not sure if the owners were trying to cover something up or not. The bathroom had a towel behind the toilet on the floor, and there were many spiders crawling around on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank midwestscubagal
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; there certainly was no machine...'spewing out menthol'- we do, at times, use glade/renuzit air freshening cones; the towel behind the toilet is to catch the condensation from the cold ground water coming into the toilet tank; as for spiders & mosquitoes, this is a rural area- perhaps not leaving the city might be a solution;... More 

Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a one bedroom, screened in porch cottage. We used the grill and stove (both of which were supplied). Everything you would need was supplied; sheets, blankets, pillows, towels, dishes, pots, pans. We brought only our clothes, suntan lotion and bug spray. We bought food from a local grocery store as well as ate at some of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; we are glad you enjoyed your time at our little patch on the big lake; we would welcome your return when you next visit the western u.p. More 

Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
371 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to stay here since we were visiting the Porcupine Mts and the larger towns are so far away. I thought our 2-bedroom cabin for $180 per night (non weekend) would be a little nicer than it actually was. The experience was too close to camping for us, which of course, could appeal to other travelers. Unless you intend... More 

Helpful?
Thank jongable
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; you are quite correct- this is a very rural area (our closest walmart is an hour drive)- but we think that is what makes this such a magnificent area to visit & even more so to live; More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed in the smallest of the cabins, but it was plenty of space - the living room was quite comfortable, and I slept well in the lovely bed. The beach was a short walk down a beautiful path. All in all, a wonderful slice of Upper Peninsula Heaven!

Helpful?
Thank whbjr
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; we would welcome your return if you ever make it back to 'god's country'; More 

Rockford, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

My husband and I had an amazing time at the Peterson's Chalet Cottages. We walked along Lake Superior, had a beach fire with a family, hiked at Porcupine Mountains, grilled out at the cottage, and enjoyed the beautiful scenery in the area. I highly recommend others to visit Ontonagon, MI and stay at the Peterson's Chalet Cottages. We will be... More 

Helpful?
Thank tiger0632016
chuck-peterson, Owner at Peterson's Cottages, responded to this review

thank you for your comments; yes, the western u.p. is a great area to visit- don't wait too long before venturing this way again; More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Went here for 5 nights, such a cool location! We loooooved Porcupine Mountains (esp Lake of the Clouds, breathtaking) we got some awesome mountain biking in, some kayaking. We just loved it here. Room was perfect and everything we needed. We cooked daily at the cabin, had exactly what we needed. Beach was pristine and within a very short walking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackson1984
Hibbing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Peterson's due to all other accommodations in Houghton MI (40 miles away) being full because of Michigan Tech graduation. Cute cabin and clean, clean, clean. The beach was nice and experienced a beautiful sunset. Wendy and Chuck were extremely hospitable. We have relatives in the area and would stay there again even though it meant a little more... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcksteve
Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2016 via mobile

This is a very nice place to stay. Very nice hosts. They stayed up late to check me in and even left my porch light on for me if I was on The trail late at night. I definitely give this place 2 thumbs up.... I will definitely be back when I ride the south western part of the yooper.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pete E
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ontonagon hotels
10.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City
11.6 mi away
Mountain View Lodges
Mountain View Lodges
#1 of 6 in Ontonagon
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Peterson's Cottages

Address: 22608 Lakeshore Rd, Ontonagon, MI 49953-9005
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ontonagon
Price Range: $177 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Peterson's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay