We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 Place d'Armes, 1 Quai Cassard, 85330 Noirmoutier en l'Ile, Ile de Noirmoutier France
E-mail hotel
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams$167
FindHotel$176
Agoda.com$176
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (233)
Room & Suite (72)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 05/18/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa
Updated 05/18/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 13 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.6
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best

See why so many travelers make Le General d'Elbee - Hotel & Spa NUXE their hotel of choice when visiting Noirmoutier en l'Ile. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Guest rooms offer a minibar and air conditioning, and Le General d'Elbee - Hotel & Spa NUXE makes getting online easy as free internet access is available.

In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

If you are looking for a good barbeque restaurant, you may want to check out Maison Chevallereau or La Paillote while staying at Le General d'Elbee - Hotel & Spa NUXE.

Should time allow, Castle-Museum of Noirmoutier en L'isle and Eglise Saint-Philbert are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Le General d'Elbee - Hotel & Spa NUXE as you experience all of the things Noirmoutier en l'Ile has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hammam
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Romantic
Languages Spoken
French

Location

Full view
86Good for walkers
Grade: 86 out of 100
36Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
8Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
420Reviews5Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 365
  • 44
  • 8
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nicolas D wrote a review Aug 2019
Metz-Tessy, France165 contributions152 helpful votes
We have spent a nice WE in NO (Noirmoutier) and stayed two nights (16 to 18 Aug) room 14 for a price of 255 EUR / night. Service was very nice and friendly. Location is great right in the center of the small town. A real plus. But the room was average in size and dark, with a single very small window under the roof on the 2nd floor, Amenities are 'cheap' with plastic glasses for instance in the bathroom, no fridge, no safe, no tube. Our bed though was very comfortable. Breakfast is below average in my opinion for a 4* hotel. No on demand cooking station and a very simple (but acceptable) buffet. As a conclusion a nice hotel indeed but way too expensive for what it offered. We can appreciate the location and it's the high season but still... This remains Noirmoutier which is not what I can qualify of a 'fancy destination'. We looked at the SPA prices and they were way too expensive for what we perceived was offered.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from 866emilief, Responsable réception at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa
Responded Aug 23, 2019
Dear Nicolas D, We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Noirmoutier. It is a fact that all the rooms of the hotel, sometimes even within the same category, can be quite different in their layout but not in the comfort : amenities are the same in every classic rooms. It is always better to book with us directly in order to discuss which room will suit you best. Most people love the charm of our attic rooms in the older part of the building...but not everyone. As for the price you mention : you paid a higher rate by making your reservation on Booking.com and for the very highest season (15th of August week). All comments on the breakfast are welcome as we always try to improve the options we offer. We are sorry it didn't fully match your expectations this time. Prices of treatments are regular in all Nuxe spas. We hope you will take another chance of a stay with us to discover it's worth the treat! Beside Noirmoutier is lovely in lower season. :) Have a lovely day, Flora
Read more
katherinelord wrote a review Jul 2019
London, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
An excellent weekend hotel filled with small details that really make your stay special. The rooms are cute and interiors of the hotel are modern and well decorated. Breakfast was above average with tiny touches like homemade yogurt and caramel which were all delicious. The pool and lounge areas were kept clean and up to date, but the best thing of all was the service. I have to give highlight the concierge Flora, she was knowledgeable, helpful, and hilarious. Really made fantastic recommendations for dining and was one of the best concierge I've encountered.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from 866emilief, Responsable réception at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa
Responded Jul 30, 2019
Dear Katherine, It is with great joy that I read your message and I hope you had a good time on the rest of your trip! I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel during your quick stay with us, and noticed all the details that make Le Général d'Elbee the holiday home we want it to be. As for the hotspots, we all love the island and love to share it with our guests! Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to see you again in Noirmoutier, perhaps for a little longer. Have a lovely day, Flora
Read more
Paul M wrote a review Jun 2019
Kenilworth, United Kingdom50 contributions32 helpful votes
We had a short break of three nights to explore the island. Described as a boutique hotel although I’ve never quite understood what qualifies the title. I can tell you it is a lovely small hotel with nice rooms and spacious common areas, a lovely properly heated pool and spa. Breakfast was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel doesn’t do evening meals but there are so many restaurants to choose from within a stones throw, and some great recommendations from the hotel. Can’t fault anything.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Ground floor front onto pool, first floor very good, didn’t see the rooms but attic rooms might...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from 866emilief, Responsable réception at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa
Responded Jul 2, 2019
Dear Paul M, Doesn't matter the title, we are delighted by your review! We also like to describe le Général d'Elbée as a holiday home with an intimate atmosphere. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion. We hope to see you again very soon in Noirmoutier. Have a lovely day. Flora,
Read more
mariechavallade wrote a review Feb 2019
Paris, France19 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed for two nights at the General d'Elbée straight after our wedding near Nantes and it was heaven. The staff is very professional and helpful, they booked two very good restaurants on our behalf before we arrived. We booked two massages at the Nuxe spa two months is advance (you have to) to relax after the crazy days we just spent and we were not disappointed. The small intimate spa and the outside pool are very nice and set in a beautiful old residency from the 18th century. The room we stayed in was small but very clean, nice and comfy. The breakfast is one of the best I have ever experienced on holidays. Everything is homemade and you get so much choice! Overall a great weekend and we only regretted not to have booked one extra night. Furthermore, Noirmoutier is a pretty island and great if you like eating oysters with a glass of white, browsing the local markets and cycling...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 866emilief, Responsable réception at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa
Responded Feb 28, 2019
First of all : the best of wishes from Le Général and all its team! We are very proud you choose our hotel on this special occasion and it's great to read that all its services did not disappoint. We hope to have you again with us for a relaxed and peaceful stay in Noirmoutier. Thanks a lot for sharing your experience. Have a lovely day and see you soon at le Général d'Elbée (perhaps for your 1st anniversary?!). Flora
Read more
Francoise-S-11b wrote a review Oct 2018
United Kingdom125 contributions84 helpful votes
This hotel is located on the main historical square of the town, near the medieval castle. It is an authentic architectural building with lovely gentle lines. It has been skilfully renovated. It also has one side along the quai to the canal that brings small boats into the heart of the city. Very picturesque.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: depends on the time of year
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emilie F, Responsable réception at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa
Responded Oct 18, 2018
Dear Francoise-S-11b, Throughout all the renovation, we tried our best to keep the charm and original soul of this beautiful XVIIIth century house while adding comfort and a touch of whimsy. It is a pleasure to read that our guests enjoy this authentic athmosphere and the location of the hotel. The lounge bar overlooking the old harbour is indeed a heaven for boat lovers ! We thank you very much for leaving your thoughts on your visit and hope to have you as our guests again very soon. Have a lovely day. Flora
Read more
Richard D wrote a review Aug 2018
Amsterdam, The Netherlands29 contributions11 helpful votes
Slap bang in the middle of town but quiet, delightfully renovated, tremendous staff, great pool, nice bar, individual and well-appointed rooms, great breakfasts, er, pretty damn good basically. No restaurant but no big deal as the best restos on the island are probably no more the 5 minutes walk. If you rent a bike (good idea) there is even a private velo room. Bit pricey compared to some others but you get what you pay for.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Pool facers are favourites but the top floor has more privacy.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emilie F, Responsable réception at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa
Responded Aug 14, 2018
Dear Stiffado, Thank you very much for choosing le Général d'Elbée for your stay in Noirmoutier and for this enthusiastic review. We are very happy you enjoyed every bit of your time here and hope we will have the pleasure to have you as our guests again very soon. L'Ile aux Mimosas definetly have other secrets to share with you. Have a lovely day and see you later in Noirmoutier! Flora
Read more
Dartzeel wrote a review Aug 2018
London82 contributions80 helpful votes
A 100% ‘sans faute’. Great location, beautiful room (we had the general’s suite), amazing breakfast, lovely pool, top service, cozy spa, quiet. Close to city centre, nice cafes and restaurant and walking/biking distance from the island’s best beaches. Loved it and will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Emilie F, Responsable réception at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa
Responded Aug 6, 2018
Thank you Dartzeel for taking the time to leave such a positive review. A 'sans faute' is definetly something we aim for and it's always nice to hear we succeeded! We hope your first stay with us in beautiful Noirmoutier won't be the last. Have a lovely day and see you soon Chez le Général! Flora
Read more
SomersetFarmerjohn wrote a review Jul 2018
somerset35 contributions15 helpful votes
A truly chic boutique hotel on the quayside in this busy little town. An oasis of calm with a wonderful heated pool in the walled garden with bedrooms and french windows out on to the immaculate lawn. Under the shadows of the old castle and overlooking the yachts in the creek, this is a great base from which to explore Isle de Noirmoutier whether by bike or car. Free car parking next to the hotel.No restaurant but lots of great choice within walking distance. Magnificent gourmet breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the pool. A great find.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: ground floor with french windows out to the pool and garden
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emilie F, Responsable réception at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa
Responded Aug 5, 2018
Thank you very much 'Somerset' for your review and for choosing le Général d'Elbée for your stay in Noirmoutier. Summer on the island has been wonderful so far with a perfect weather to enjoy the garden and its pool, and leisurely bike rides. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return very soon to your new holiday home! Have a lovely day. Flora
Read more
Elaine W wrote a review Jul 2018
33 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
I had my 55 persons wedding at Le General d’Elbee and thanks to Vincent and Flora it was absolutely the best choice ever. I brought 22 of my family members from abroad and booked all the rooms for the weekend. We went with the caterer and florist suggested by the hotel which were both excellent and easy to work with and had many options for various budgets. The Elbee suite was gorgeous as was each room and each common areas. We had lovely breakfasts (BIO juices/milk croissant, brioche, smoked salmon, sausage) each morning by the canal or near the temperature controlled salt water swimming pool. I was married at the Eglise Saint Philbert which was a comfortable 1 min walk. We also booked the Noirmout’Train for everyone after the ceremony which was also gave a quaint tour of the island. All in all ...absolutely 10 stars if I could give that many. Everyone had wonderful memories that will last for a life time. Service from all staff from cleaning and spa service to front desk was impeccable. Everyone was nice, smiling, efficient and willing to help. Only thing is I wish we bought citronella candles because there were so many mosquitoes especially at night. Bites galore. The location of the hotel is ideal such that it was a comfortable walk to the city center with a plethora of shops, restaurants and scenic sites. The seafood there is amazing and fresh. The WiFi is superfast and better than hotels in Paris. The AC was cool except in a 3 rooms (which was later adjusted). The spa had an extraordinary sensory shower that mimicked Niagara Falls or the Jungle lights/sound/water. There was also steam room or hammam. Outside the spa were complimentary bottles of water and tisane. The hotel is rightfully Michelin starred and was a great experience!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emilie F, Responsable réception at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa
Responded Jul 14, 2018
Dear Elaine, Thank you so much for the review and for these lovely compliments! I have to say it has been a great pleasure to organise your wedding here, "chez le Général", and to share this special moment with you and Pierre. The hotel does offer a very intimate setting that is perfect for a small wedding and we hoped to give everyone a sense of home away from home. We are thrilled to hear that it is mission accomplished! On top of that, you were blessed with a lovely weather and we are also very happy everyone enjoyed their time in Noirmoutier... even though mosquitoes definetly took part in the celebrations. (We did stock up on citronella since!) Our congratulations and very best wishes again from the whole team! It has been a beautiful and moving wedding and we sure hope to have you with us next year to celebrate your first anniversary! Have a lovely day and see you soon! Flora
Read more
David B wrote a review Jul 2018
Rolle, Switzerland8 contributions17 helpful votes
We had a luxury room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The hotel has been nicely decorated, the room are very comfortable and the pool is well organised. When the hotel is clearly a 4 stars, the service is made by a very young team which look like school friends. When they are trying to do their best we had no idea on who was managing this boutique hotel which would have been appreciated. Unfortunately the bar was occupied for a business meeting almost all day so we could not benefit from all hotel benefits, this is not acceptable. Nice place I would recommend but needs improvement on the management side.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Emilie F, Directeur général at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa
Responded Jul 3, 2018
Hello Mr David B., First of all, we thank you for your review and for the positive aspects you mention. We understand however your disappointment ​regarding the exceptional closure of our bar due to a business meeting during the day. In order to avoid this issue, we are currently renovating an apartment into a dedicated meeting room, fully equipped and with an independant access to ensure tranquility for our guests. Thank you aswell for the compliment : it is very pleasant to read that we still look very young! It is precisely the "young" couple at the reception that manages the hotel and its staff. Not going for the traditional (and somewhat military) style of hospitality management does not prevent from having a professional approach and, as you point out, everyone is doing his best for the well-being of our customers. The good mood of our team is usually very appreciated by our guests. A young team often comes hand in hand with a refreshing energy, a drive and dedication that are rare qualities nowadays. It is indeed a management decision. We do hope you enjoyed your stay at Le Général d'Elbée and will be happy to have you with us again. Have a very nice day, ​Emilie & Vincent
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FrancePays de la LoireVendeeIle de NoirmoutierNoirmoutier en l'Ile
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Eglise Saint-Philbert (0.2 miles), Biscuiterie Les Petits Cagniotes (0.2 miles), and Castle-Museum of Noirmoutier en L'isle (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le P'tit Noirmout, Le Petit Banc, and No.Mad Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Blockhaus R627 (2.3 miles).
Does Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Le Général d'Elbée Hotel & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.