We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau de Saulon

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (233)
Dining (34)
Room & Suite (20)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Saulon la Rue
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
At the crossroads between a leisure castle and a family country house, the Château de Saulon is located in Saulon-la-Rue, a small village in the Côte d'Or between Beaune and Dijon, a few steps from the Route des Grands Crus of Burgundy. The estate welcomes you in a green setting of 27 hectares, a multi-faceted place of life and an ideal setting to escape alone, with family or friends during a stay in Burgundy. The estate has several outbuildings in addition to the main building: the two former stables, located on either side of the main courtyard, respectively host a series of suites, and the gourmet restaurant Deux Rivières. The Pavilion, the other outbuilding of the castle, also has around ten rooms. The Orangerie, a beautiful 360m2 glass roof, was built in 2018 to host Château events, weddings and seminars.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Game room
Babysitting
Children's playground
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Archery offsite
Billiards
Fishing
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
374Reviews4Q+A16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 179
  • 114
  • 50
  • 16
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Bas_8 wrote a review Sep 2023
Netherlands198 contributions153 helpful votes
We enjoyed the location of the domain with an adjacent big forest where the dog can run freely. The staff was amiable and spoke English. We had greater expectations of the hotel itself. The room in the castle was rather small and not really up to standard with a stained carpet. The restaurant was very enjoyable in a beautiful setting on a terrace overlooking the castle. Again, the staff was very nice and the food was very good. On our way back we stayed at Le Pavillon and not in the castle, which we enjoyed actually much more.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andreas MILAN, Service clients/Réception at Chateau de Saulon
Responded Sep 25, 2023
Dear Bas_8, Thank you for choosing our establishment for your stay in Burgundy. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Château and that our staff were able to make it as pleasant as possible. We are sorry to hear that you found your room too small. In fact, as our Château is period and not standardised, all our rooms are unique and may differ slightly in size. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Domaine in the near future, Kind regards, MILAN Andreas Administrative Assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ClaraTim wrote a review Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom98 contributions47 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This Chateau deserves a 5 star rating for the friendly, responsive booking process, spacious rooms (410), delicious on-site restaurant (puddings were phenomenal) and peaceful location. Car charging was available and efficient. Our 12hr stay en route back from Alps was criminally short. We will be back…
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Book the excellent restaurant for dinner alongside your booking.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent Fayard, Directeur général at Chateau de Saulon
Responded Apr 6, 2023
Dear ClaraTim, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Domaine de Saulon. We are delighted to read you had a great time here with us. We are very greatful for all your kind words, it means a lot to us! It would be our pleasure to welcome you again during your next trip. We look forward to welcoming you back to Domaine de Saulon soon. Kind regards, Chloé MARTIN In charge of communication and events’ project.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lee B wrote a review Sep 2023
13 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
What a fabulous place to find. After travelling to and from the south of France and Italy for years, we stopped earlier in the day . It was our tenth wedding anniversary trip. No kids this time. Chateau was fabulous, as were the staff and facilities, so much so that this will be the family default stopover from now on. The restaurant was first class ,the only issue for us would be fussy teenagers and whether the menu would suit them. We had a wonderful meal with very polite and attentive service, the whole evening was a special experience. Very easy access to the A31 motorway, so there is not much chance of getting lost. Fabulous 👌
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Easy access to the A31 motorway .5 minutes.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andreas MILAN, Service clients/Réception at Chateau de Saulon
Responded Sep 25, 2023
Dear leebY6926UY, Thank you for choosing our establishment for your wedding anniversary. We would also like to thank you warmly for this valuable comment and are delighted to see that the services offered and our staff were able to make your stay most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to our estate in the near future,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Natalie Grey wrote a review Jul 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa17 contributions5 helpful votes
This was a huge disappointment for us. Apon arrival my husband walked to the desk. The receptionist didn't greet him. Merely snapped that rooms weren't ready yet. It was 3pm. Our room was only ready after 4pm. Our room had no toilet paper, no soap and no coffee or milk. The room was tiny and horrible. They've taken away all of the charm. The pool area is nothing like the pictures. There's awful wooden structures around it. No hedgws, no paving and the grass was long and untidy. Dinner was OK but was expensive and we were told my husband could not have the 4 course chef experience menu unless I had it too. I was not that hungry but had to pay the price. Super unfair as I didn't eat some of the things as it's a surprise menu. Breakfast was very average. Small selection. A horrible lift has been erected on the front of the building. It's glass so it heats up so much that you can't actually use it. Just a horrible experience for us. If the staff had been friendlier we may have changed out feelings. The bar man and the lovely waitress from Mauritius were very kind.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andreas MILAN, Service clients/Réception at Chateau de Saulon
Responded Jul 6, 2023
Ms NatsGrey, As already explained on another platform, It's true that the Domaine has changed in recent years, but it remains much the same as in the photographs. The swimming pool and surrounding area have been modified, but you can find current photographs on the internet. Concerning the size of our rooms, we are in a historic building and our rooms are not standardized. However, you can find the minimum and maximum room sizes for each category on the internet. It's surprising that so many things were missing from our rooms, for which we apologize. You should not have hesitated to inform our front desk of these inconveniences, which could have responded favorably to your request. Wishing you a good day,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Denise Quaid wrote a review Jul 2023
County Limerick, Ireland16 contributions15 helpful votes
A lovely château set in a beautiful location, the staff are all so welcoming and helpful and also very dog friendly, it is just perfect for nice walks. The food in the restaurant is amazing. We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andreas MILAN, Service clients/Réception at Chateau de Saulon
Responded Jul 6, 2023
Dear Denise Quaid, Thank you for choosing our establishment for your stay in Burgundy. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant time at our Château and that our staff made your stay most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment, Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GeorgieCProvence wrote a review Jul 2023
Provence29 contributions8 helpful votes
Great stay as always! Really comfortable bedrooms, great showers/baths, lovely walks direct from the property with the dogs, delicious breakfasts and dinners. All staff very friendly and helpful. We look forward to returning. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andreas MILAN, Service clients/Réception at Chateau de Saulon
Responded Jul 5, 2023
Dear GeorgieCProvence, Thank you for choosing our establishment for your stay in Burgundy. We are delighted to read that your stay lived up to your expectations and we thank you for this valuable comment. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Château, Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
warbyfam wrote a review Jun 2023
Brunswick West, Australia104 contributions31 helpful votes
Beautiful to look at but not really much else. Stayed here as part of tour and don’t think they could handle 50 guests at once. Room had a terrible sewage smell. Once again had to lug case up a flight of stairs as lift doesn’t go all the way. Nowhere to eat nearby unless you eat at their overpriced restaurant. Breakfast was ok. Reception staff not helpful blamed my credit card but was actually their end, no apology. Had to go and tell them twice I had no towels, on the second attempt was handled a pile of towels but when I got back to room and checked they were all bath mats.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andreas MILAN, Service clients/Réception at Chateau de Saulon
Responded Jun 27, 2023
Dear warbyfam, Thank you for choosing our establishment for your stay. We are sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We are sorry that our staff were unable to help you take your luggage to your room. As far as the lift is concerned, as our Château is old and has a particular layout, we had no choice but to stop building it on the 2nd floor in order to have one. With regard to your request for dinner, we have a list of restaurants located within a 20-minute drive in reception and we would be delighted to offer it to you so that you can find an establishment to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you to our establishment in the near future with a warmer welcome. Kind regards, Andreas MILAN Administrative assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lauren123450 wrote a review May 2023
Chorleywood, United Kingdom37 contributions53 helpful votes
The Hotel, rooms & grounds all excellent. Lovely walks from the hotel which was great for the dog. However the food served in the restaurant is so disappointing & both times I ate there the food was awful. Left hungry both times & the restaurant definitely lets this hotel down.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Château de Saulon, Autre at Chateau de Saulon
Responded May 31, 2023
Dear Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Domaine de Saulon. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. However, we are sorry to read that you did not like our restaurant Deux Rivières. We usually receive great feedbacks on our food. Maybe it was not to your taste as it can vary a lot between one another. We look forward to welcoming you back to Domaine de Saulon soon. Kind regards, Chloé MARTIN In charge of communication and events’ project.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Explorer47130114226 wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
We stayed for four nights here to tour around the Burgundy wine region. The hotel is in a good countryside position to visit Dijon and the Burgundy canal where it meets the Saone. The hotel has comfortable bedrooms and beds and has spacious grounds with pleasant woods and streams. The breakfast was good with many choices. The lounge areas were minimal for a hotel of this size and the outdoor seating was uncomfortable. Although the location of the hotel was quiet there was always music on loudspeakers indoors and outdoors to spoil that peace. I chose the hotel because it had a restaurant. But this was a disapointment. The restaurant is in a separate building in the grounds and gives the impression it is offering a high quality experience. But the menu had limited choices, only four mains dishes, and they were of a poor standard.with very small portions and few vegetables. The two slices of duck were lacking taste and the fish was spoilt by a strong lime sauce. The apple dessert was a few blobs of apple puree with a slice of dried apple which was inedible . We eat in the restaurant on the first two nights of our stay but then had far better and more substantial meals in a quayside restaurant overlooking the river Saone on the last two nights of our stay. This hotel restaurant needs to have more experienced staff waiting on tables and a chef that can cook dishes with more flavour and with plenty of local vegetables to qualify for the image it suggest on its website.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent Fayard, Directeur général at Chateau de Saulon
Responded May 17, 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Domaine de Saulon. We are glad to read that you liked our hotel and the surroundings. However we are sorry to see that you did not like our restaurant. We are offering limited choice because we chose to offer you only freshly made meal with local products, which is something we could not do with a giant menu. We are also surprised that you did not like our dessert as we are always receiving many great compliment on our pastries and the chef. But we understand tha it might not have been to your liking, as is varies a lot between one person to another. We look forward to welcoming you back to Domaine de Saulon soon. Kind regards, Chloé MARTIN In charge of communication and events’ project.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris81AstonMagna wrote a review Apr 2023
Aston Magna13 contributions3 helpful votes
Location is very useful, handy. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Room was a little tired and tiling in the bathroom was not secure. The thing that really annoyed us was breakfast. You don’t pay 400 euros for one night to have a dreadful buffet breakfast. Automatic coffee machines. No table service for anything - tea / coffee / hot food nothing. Felt very 2 star. And it was additional to the room rate. Electric charging for cars need better organisation.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent Fayard, Directeur général at Chateau de Saulon
Responded Apr 10, 2023
Dear Chris81AstonMagna, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Domaine de Saulon. We are thanking you for your kind words towards our staff, we will make sure to let them know about it. However, we are sorry to read that you did not like our breakfast buffet. It is a real and classic buffet, meaning there is no service table, just like any other hotel in fact. We are sorry you thought otherwise. About the charging station, we are taking into account your comment, and will see how we can improve this point. We look forward to welcoming you back to Domaine de Saulon soon. Kind regards, Chloé MARTIN In charge of communication and events’ project.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saulon la Rue area.
PRICE RANGE
$113 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau de saulon hotel saulon la rue
LOCATION
FranceBourgogne-Franche-ComtéCote d'OrSaulon la Rue
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHATEAU DE SAULON $140 ($̶1̶5̶5̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Saulon la Rue, France

Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau de Saulon
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau de Saulon?
Nearby attractions include Fromagerie Gaugry (3.9 miles), Philippe Leclerc Wine Cellar (4.5 miles), and L'hachez-vous Lancer de hache Dijon (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau de Saulon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chateau de Saulon?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau de Saulon?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau de Saulon?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau de Saulon?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Clos Lenoir 1623, La Table du Rocher, and Castel De Tres Girard.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau de Saulon?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Chateau de Saulon located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Saulon la Rue.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau de Saulon?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chateau de Saulon?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chateau de Saulon offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.