We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
67 rue de Dijon, 21910 Saulon la Rue France
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (186)
Dining (34)
Room & Suite (20)

About

Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
At the crossroads between a leisure castle and a family country house, the Château de Saulon is located in Saulon-la-Rue, a small village in the Côte d'Or between Beaune and Dijon, a few steps from the Route des Grands Crus of Burgundy. The estate welcomes you in a green setting of 27 hectares, a multi-faceted place of life and an ideal setting to escape alone, with family or friends during a stay in Burgundy. The estate has several outbuildings in addition to the main building: the two former stables, located on either side of the main courtyard, respectively host a series of suites, and the gourmet restaurant Deux Rivières. The Pavilion, the other outbuilding of the castle, also has around ten rooms. The Orangerie, a beautiful 360m2 glass roof, was built in 2018 to host Château events, weddings and seminars.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Game room
Babysitting
Children's playground
Wifi
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Archery offsite
Billiards
Fishing
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
317Reviews4Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 152
  • 104
  • 38
  • 11
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kila wrote a review Sep 2022
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom8 contributions
A particular member of staff wasn’t helpful and came across rude. We ordered a bar snack of croque monsieur and I think the children could have made better food , also thinking that I was a rabbit with the large amount of salad . Absolutely shocking
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent Fayard, Directeur général at Chateau de Saulon
Responded Sep 22, 2022
Dear Sir, We were delighted to welcome you and thank you for your stay. We are sorry to discover your disappointment ... and especially surprised by your comment ... as we don't have croque monsieur at the bar and in our snack menu ... With warmest regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandy C wrote a review Aug 2022
Orange County, California391 contributions218 helpful votes
The website paints a different picture than what I expected. The photo on the website is of the back of the chateau where the pool is. The front side that faces the driveway has an exterior elevator attached that certainly diminishes the appearance. We chose to stay here for location which is good if you want to stay out of the city. It is not nearly as refined as I expected for a four star hotel. We reserved a suite which was in a building next to the main chateau. The room is organized poorly with the toilet behind one side of the bed and the sink and shower & tub located behind the other side of the bed. You have to walk around the room to wash your hands. Who designed this? There is inadequate shelving or space around the sink for toiletries or makeup. There is poor lighting and no vanity mirror. I had to sit on the bed to put my makeup on. Another female guest at breakfast had the same complaint about the bathroom. The floor of the suite is rough bricks and not what I had to walk on in a bedroom. It is flooring you expect on a patio. It’s a bit of a hazard and easy to trip on. The safe did not work and the staff were unable to fix it. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The hostess would not sit us at a different table as we had requested a view of the chateau. She said the table was reserved. We arrived at 8:00 and at 9:30 a couple with a stroller were seated there. We were amused at the “reserved table” we were refused being vacant most of the evening. The waitress we had was lovely and provided good service. The food minus the dessert was good. For breakfast, the scrambled eggs were cold and there was no host/hostess. Tables were not cleared after people left. With proper facilities upgrades and service improvements, this chateau could have amazing potential.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is free.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DeKokkies wrote a review Aug 2022
Rossum, The Netherlands701 contributions309 helpful votes
Imposing chateau upon entry of the premise. Unfortunately the estate was closed so we couldn’t explore further than the pool area. We stayed in one of the stables rooms and we had dinner at the chateau’s restaurant. Room: - Parking in front of room - Nice atmosphere - Superb mattress & linnen - Well working airco - Bathroom not entirely clean (hairs) - No refrigerator - Extremely noisy: walls sounded like made of carton: baby crying, living sounds of neighbours, coughing etc. - Limited bathroom amenities (two small bottles of bath gel) Pool area: - Food & drinks service available - Relaxing chairs under the trees - Nice bar terrace - No sun beds available when we arrived - Not a lot of umbrellas Restaurant: - Nice atmosphere (outside) - Good food both presentation and taste - Reasonable food prices - Wine/drinks rather over-priced (cheapest rosé 40 euros for a bottle that retails at 7, come on…) - There were loads of kids still running around, screaming and shouting (at 21.30 hrs!) so don’t expect a quiet dinner General: - Very friendly staff - I couldn’t connect to the wifi Would I return? 🤔
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Noise in stable rooms!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Aluor wrote a review Jul 2022
Burlingame, California312 contributions137 helpful votes
Booked there to be close to the cote de nuits and the hotel we wanted was booked for the first two nights we needed. Underwhelmed. The nicest thing is the beautiful setting ( nice woods for an easy 3 mile walk) and nice grass lawn. Otherwise the grounds are run down. We stayed in the rooms that were recently done ( old stables/side building). No one to help with luggage. Room was big and very basic. Clean and comfortable bed. Great A/C and decent wifi. That’s about it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
123Tiger123 wrote a review Jul 2022
165 contributions147 helpful votes
We've stayed in many hotels throughout France and Chateau de Saulon was not the best, but equally it was not the worst. Chateau de Saulon is in a good location set in scenic gardens. The room (we stayed in a dog friendly room) was basic, but clean and definitely adequate for an overnight stay. The staff were excellent. They were all very friendly and willing to help. I would strongly recommend you pre-book a table at the hotels own restaurant, the Deux Rivieres. The restaurant was excellent. For those travelling with dogs, it ticks all the boxes. There are dog friendly rooms, the garden is huge, for taking your pup for a walk. The hotel bar & breakfast area are also dog friendly. Likewise the Deux Rivieres Restaurant is also dog friendly. Beware, regardless of how thirsty we humans are, it is always the dog that gets served first, with a large bowl of water....a nice touch. To conclude, yes its a nice hotel, a little bit rustic, but that adds to the charm of the place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Pre book the Deux Rivieres Restaurant
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
O.L wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions3 helpful votes
So, I have stayed in 100’s of hotels over the years and it is rare that I found one so under rated. The room was quite basic but spotless and I mean immaculate with great views overlooking the lovely pool and gardens The shower one of the best EVER. OK so no little extras but do we even really use or need them. A large bottle of water and good wifi. Dinner in the restaurant was superb. 3 gourmet courses with a glass of wine and ware for 60 euros!!!! Breakfast was one of the best ever. I could not of been more surprised and satisfied The staff were all young and so helpful and keen to assist in any way possible So in conclusion, I could of stayed in and Ibis or Holiday Inn type hotel but instead I stayed in this gem. It on the list to revisit if only for the amazing chocolate popcorn desert!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don’t be put off by the poor reviews
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucciano Inzaina-Roncalli, Directeur général at Chateau de Saulon
Responded Jun 25, 2022
Dear friend, hello And above all, thank you for taking care to share your excellent feelings about your experience in our beautiful house, so are you giving relief from the involvement of our young team and meaning from their investment. Naturally, you are welcome for your next escapade in Burgundy, the new menu concocted by our Chef Sébastien MARIE, will be ready to taste from mid-July. Positively,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maxwell Segal wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Set in lovely grounds the chateau looked impressive upon arrival. We were allocated a room in the annex close by. This was a fantastic room with a shared balcony, beautiful large bed and lovely bathroom with walk in shower. A very well appointed room. The only down side was that there was no room service. The best think about the whole experience was the separate restaurant. the food was fantastic and the staff excellent. A three course dinner was 48 Euros, the price of a starter at some hotels!! Excellent value for money and great food.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The annexe rooms, left of the main house were fantastic
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucciano Inzaina-Roncalli, Directeur général at Chateau de Saulon
Responded Jun 25, 2022
Hello dear guest, You've spent time to share your feeling about your stay by home, and so many thanks, our team will be glad to read your own pleasure. Our Food & Beverage Manager, Arthur MARCILLY for sure will be proud to read that his team has done a good job. Bets regards, and take care
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carolholmes wrote a review Jun 2022
shillington4 contributions4 helpful votes
Firstly we were shown to the room which was on the ground floor. We were very tired from travelling and didn’t initially notice the absolute state of the room. It was a disabled room, not that we needed one or had asked for one, and the wet room shower had been leaking for sometime as the tiles were dirty with limescale and the shower itself was leaking. The tea and coffee facilities consisted of one paper cup to share between two of us and several sachets of instant coffee definitely not a four star level. The mattress was very old and dipped in the middle. This is not a 4 star hotel it is 2 stars at the very best. The staff were and trained and the bar staff were nonexistent. The building itself is in need of maintenance especially outside. This perhaps can be excused a little due to the Covid two years we have just had but coupled with every other bad experience we had it really wasn’t worth the money we paid for it
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucciano Inzaina-Roncalli, Directeur général at Chateau de Saulon
Responded Jun 3, 2022
Carol, First of all, thank you for taking the time to post your feelings about your stay in our house. What you are describing saddens me and I would certainly react in the same way as you in the face of such a scenario, but it is up to me to balance this table because everyone knows very well that to give consistency to their testimony, everyone always tends to darken the picture than it really is. Admittedly, you were installed in a room adapted for people with reduced mobility because the hotel was full that night and we therefore assigned you the last remaining one which is not very young either, I grant you that. You are right about the fact that the paper cups are not worthy of a 4 star, coincidence of the calendar, the delivery of dishes was somewhat delayed but we have since indeed placed a porcelain cup per person in each of our 42 bedrooms. I won't go into every topic you covered here, one thing is certain, your feelings would have been much better if you hadn't stayed in the only ugly room in the establishment, And we are sincerely sorry to see you gone disappointed, if you decide to try a new experience, I will be delighted to upgrade you to one of our most beautiful suites, so could you, like most of our customers, publish your delight. You're ost welcome
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marc h wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions
Do not book this hotel, despite booking several weeks ago via booking.com (and having stayed here several times Previously) they have now cancelled my booking on the pretext that they had overbooked. What they had actually done is accepted a wedding booking and then cancelled all of the previous bookings made. Having spoken with other people this seems to be a regular occurrence with this hotel, especially if you book via booking.com where the hotel has to pay commission to the website. Poor practice and a shocking way to treat regular guests. We will not be visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurent Fayard, Directeur général at Chateau de Saulon
Responded Apr 10, 2022
Dear S5002ELmarch, Thank you for your guest comment. Unfortunately, we don't really know how you had these informations but we didn't cancel previous bookings as we accepted a wedding booking. Indeed, we are fully booked and our management reservations system had open this date due to a computer error. We are really sorry for that. We do accept lots of reservations from Booking.com evereyday, there is not any problem with commission. We offered you the possibility to book a room in another hotel for you on this date but you refused our proposal. I remain personally at your disposal should you have question and for another stay, we will be glad to welcome you again. With warmest regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mog wrote a review Dec 2021
SW38 contributions20 helpful votes
2 families stayed in Dec on way to the Alps - the staff are lovely - we had 2 sets of adjoining rooms in the main chateau which were very comfortable. We all had a fantastic dinner in the restaurant and a good breakie next morning before heading off - it's the 3rd time we have stayed with them and we will absolutely do so again. The grounds are lovely and the building is beautiful and very unusual - it's also very easy to get to. Thank you to all the staff there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Main chateau
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$112 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau de saulon hotel saulon la rue
LOCATION
FranceBourgogne-Franche-ComtéCote d'OrSaulon la Rue
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHATEAU DE SAULON $101 ($̶1̶2̶1̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Saulon la Rue, France

Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau de Saulon
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau de Saulon?
Nearby attractions include Fromagerie Gaugry (3.9 miles), Philippe Leclerc Wine Cellar (4.5 miles), and Le comptoir des bieres (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau de Saulon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chateau de Saulon?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau de Saulon?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau de Saulon?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau de Saulon?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Clos Lenoir 1623, La Table du Rocher, and La Flambee Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau de Saulon?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Chateau de Saulon located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Saulon la Rue.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau de Saulon?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chateau de Saulon?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chateau de Saulon offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.