We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Motel on the Bay

Save
1315 Bay St, Munising, MI 49862-1511
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (249)
Room & Suite (73)
Pool & Beach (19)

About

#3 of 11 hotels in Munising
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Sunset Motel invites you to sit back, relax and enjoy our incredible view! All rooms have a spectacular view of Lake Superior. One, two and three room spacious units are available with Lake Superior just steps away! All rooms include microwave/refrigerator/coffee maker or full kitchen. Use our complimentary outdoor grills and picnic tables to enjoy a lakeside dinner while savoring the dazzling sunset. We also have vacation homes available.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Bay View
451Reviews14Q+A97Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 240
  • 147
  • 38
  • 17
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We visited Michigan for our family summer vacation in 2019, spending much of our time in the UP / Upper Peninsula. We knew we wanted to visit Munising as some co-workers recommended it. We planned to stay at the Holiday Inn but they only had one room and we needed two. The same family also owns another hotel, and also some lakefront homes. It turned out we could rent the two-story Sunset Cabin, with kitchen and laundry, for less than the price of two rooms at either motel - great deal! The Sunset Motel' motel rooms face the water and the sunset. The short street from the main road to these rooms has 5-6 houses on it, three of which are the cabins owned by the Sunset Motel. While you can't see Lake Superior from inside, you need only take three steps from the front door and turn left to see Lake Superior. So nice. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, pointing us to Seaberg Pontoon rentals so we could pilot our own boat on Lake Superior, and they helped us find four waterfalls within a few minutes of the property. While this is not a fancy cabin, it is cozy and has character... the floors squeak in a charming way. Downstairs: kitchen, laundry, dining and family rooms (with TV & DVD), and the bathroom. Upstairs: three bedrooms There is a deck on the back of the house with a back yard, too. And take ~ 100 steps and your can put your toes in Gitche Gumee Thank you, Sunset Motel, for being such friendly hosts with a great cabin!
Read more
What a wonderful little gem! We arrived after a long day of driving as the sun was getting low. People were gathered on the benches or brought out their folding chairs to wait for the sunset. So we grabbed our bottle of wine and some cheese to do the same. It was a charming spot to watch a beautiful sunset over the glistening bay, and a few ducks were fun to watch as we waited. The room was quite comfortable and there is also a shuffleboard court.
Read more
The young lady at check in was very personable but didn't have a lot of answers for our questions (where could we get a late dinner, what time did various places open, basic stuff). We stayed here for almost a week during leaf-peeping time. When we first walked in, we were struck by how small the room was and wondered where the second bed was...then we realized there was another room off the first. And you had to go through this room to get to the bathroom. There were only two of us, so that wasn't too bad. The bathroom was another matter. Let's just say it's not a good choice if you're even the slightest bit claustrophobic. We had to turn sideways to get into the shower, there was no vanity, just a two inch edge to the sink for hair dryers, razors and such. The shower head was so low it hit mid-chest level. Granted, we're both 6' tall, but that shouldn't be unusual. There were stains on the carpet, rips in the window screen, and what looked like a bullet hole in the window glass in the second bedroom. Some of the trim around doors looked like it had just been put up and got missed during the final painting, while other areas (like the baseboard heaters) looked like they hadn't seen paint in years. The baseboard heat was another matter. While it was noisy, we were usually so tired from days of hiking we fell right to sleep. At checkout, however, we overheard several people complaining that the noise kept them from sleeping. The front desk person just shrugged and said that's boiler heat. Seems like there should be a more placating answer than that. Lastly, there is no beach. There are chairs and a fire pit but it was too cold to enjoy. The view is directly of the Island, so the unending vistas of water we were hoping for only existed for a fraction of the horizon.
Read more
Response from EnjoyMunising, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay
Responded Oct 28, 2019
We are disappointed to learn we were unable to provide you with a quality lodging experience. Please contact our office if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail.
Read more
We absolutely loved the location of the Sunset Motel, and it had the bare necessities: clean sheets and a comfortable bed. However, I did feel it wasn't worth what we paid for. The staff member was unfriendly - I felt like I was bothering her when we checked in. The room was dated and could use some work, and the bathroom is very cramped. Since the weather was quite chilly we had the heat on, and it made for a noisy night. About every 45 minutes the heater would make a loud banging noise. For what we paid I would have expected a nicer stay, but it was clean and a good location.
Read more
Response from EnjoyMunising, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay
Responded Oct 28, 2019
We are glad you enjoyed our great location and are disappointed to learn we did not provide you with a friendly welcome. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, please contact our office.
Read more
+1
Nice lakefront view, but room was not good. The sheets were clean (very important) but the room had a strong smell of Febreeze or something. It wasn’t a terrible smell but overwhelming. For the money people rent this place for, there is no excuse for the repair/maintenance work in room 109 (see pics). I’m not opposed to older motels, but you have to keep it in good condition and clean for the rates you charge. We spent $110 for a room that was worth about $30. The tub surround was cracked so they caulked it with a darker caulk. The trim was terribly installed and the drywall and mud work was sloppy. See attached pictures.
Read more
Response from EnjoyMunising, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Motel on the Bay
Responded Oct 28, 2019
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We are sorry to learn we were unable to provide you with a quality lodging experience. Please contact our office if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sunset motel on the bay hotel munising, sunset hotel munising, sunset motel munising
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganUpper PeninsulaMunising
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset Motel on the Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Sunset Motel on the Bay?
Nearby attractions include Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore (0.7 miles), Sand Point Beach (1.8 miles), and Wagner Falls (0.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunset Motel on the Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a picnic area.
Which room amenities are available at Sunset Motel on the Bay?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Sunset Motel on the Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunset Motel on the Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tracey's at Roam Inn, Pictured Rocks Pizza, and Falling Rock Cafe & Book Store.
Is Sunset Motel on the Bay located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Munising.
Are pets allowed at Sunset Motel on the Bay?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sunset Motel on the Bay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.