We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
C35 near Galton Gate, Etosha National Park Namibia
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Priceline$210
Agoda.com$209
ZenHotels.com
Snaptravel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (238)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (16)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#11 of 36 in Etosha National Park
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Hobatere Lodge is strategically located 65 km north of Kamanjab on the western border of the Etosha National Park. The lodge has an airstrip and is situated in a concession area of 8,808 ha which is home to a wide selection of game, including elephant, giraffe, eland and Hartmann's zebra.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Gift shop
Mosquito net
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Sun terrace
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
C35 near Galton Gate, Etosha National Park Namibia
See all nearby hotels
270Reviews5Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 149
  • 83
  • 26
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mfuwe wrote a review Apr 2022
Isle of Man, United Kingdom46043 contributions517 helpful votes
+1
I will admit to having stayed at Hobatere several time under the previous ownership but will attempt to be totally objective in this subsequent review under the new regime. From the start booking was straightforward but was surprised that my card guaranteeing the reservation was charged immediately with the full amount. Even Agents don't do that. We went with an open mind but it was apparent from entering the concession gate that maintenance was needed. OK. The rains had damaged the track but overall it is not as driveable as it once was. Reception was fine, and check in progressed smoothly. We were offered game drives etc., but as we are habituated to self drive we were shocked and surprised to be told this was no longer allowed. So our daylight drives were restricted to the 16km of access track. On previous visits we had enjoyed using the hide some 900 metres from the lodge, accessed by vehicle for safety, and were further disappointed to learn that it was no longer in use. More disappointment ensued when we learned the smaller observation hide attached to the lodge grounds was no longer frequented by wildlife due to wildlife avoiding it because of the new lapa building being too close. On the brighter side our Rondavel was as we remembered it but with the old 'wildwest saloon' half doors now replaced with full size doors which sadly did not fit properly and needed urgent attention by a carpenter. But apart from that we liked the comfort and cosiness of the Rondavel. Meals, drinking and socialising were to be done in the new Lapa and we had no issues with the delicious meals offered each evening. Overall wildlife viewing was disappointing even allowing for us being there in the green season. As forecast we saw little from the walk up hide, not even birds, apart from two elephants in the distance. We did see more after dark on the two night drives we undertook but again not as much as before. I cannot see us returning here unless and until there is evidence of more enlightened management and improvements to the infrastructure.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anica Britz, Marketing at Hobatere Lodge
Responded Apr 11, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Hobatere Lodge forms part of the #Khoadi//Hoas conservancy, the area is sensitive and wild. Due to this, self drives are not permitted. We take the overall experience and service provided to our guests very seriously. Special, additional attention will be given to the areas of concern you have brought to our attention. We hope you will afford us the opportunity to host you again at one of the Journeys Namibia Lodges in future.
Read more
Ernst38 wrote a review Sep 2021
Windhoek, Namibia253 contributions113 helpful votes
"Little Etosha", a great place to simply sit on the terrace and see Elephants, lions, Impala, Giraffes, Zebra and and and. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, the dinner is simply very good to excellent. The rooms need a touch-up, the tiny tiny bathrooms a full renovation (the showers in the bungalow are only usable for slim people)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anica Britz, Marketing at Hobatere Lodge
Responded Sep 1, 2021
Thank you Ernst38 for taking the time to review us. We will definitely pass on your compliments to the staff. Thank you for your critique and points highlighted to focus on for future guest experiences.
Read more
Atta83 wrote a review Aug 2021
Richards Bay, South Africa40 contributions10 helpful votes
You feel very welcome - with a welcome drink. Patio with view on waterhole. Good place to stay for a few days to relax. Dinners are well prepaired and very tasty. Strick adherance to COVID-policy. Rooms are very clean, supplied with insect repellent to keep the insects away. Musquito nets in all the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Remember to ask for boiling water before you go to bed, than you can make tea/coffee in your room...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Anica Britz, Marketing at Hobatere Lodge
Responded Aug 30, 2021
Thank you for your 5 star review Atta83. We hope you can stay with us again soon.
Read more
nina wrote a review Aug 2021
69 contributions23 helpful votes
We enjoyed our short stay at the lodge. We arrived in the afternoon and were lucky to see two lions from the deck while having a coffee and muffin. We stayed in small huts with twin beds. It was not very spacey but looked beautiful with the mosquito net over the bed. The bed was comfy. Dinner was three course and well prepared. We did the night safari. We only saw small animals like foxes and rabbits. We could not find back the lions we saw in the afternoon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anica Britz, Marketing at Hobatere Lodge
Responded Aug 9, 2021
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that the lions decided to be part of your welcome party at the lodge. Our slogan at Hobatere Lodge is "Become one of the pride". We hope you will be able to visit us again in.
Read more
TIGGERALA wrote a review Jul 2021
Alamosa, Colorado237 contributions62 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed for one night at this lodge in route to a more central Etosha area. There were two other families who had also stayed the previous night. The room was fine but certainly needed some upgrades to bring it more up-to-date. The bathroom clearly needed a face-lift. The grounds were nice, the lounge had a great view of the water hole which saw 2 Giraffe, and a few antelopes while we were there. We took a night drive and incredibly found the only green chameleon in 8,000+ hectors and a scrub hare. We did see a few antelope during this drive and a jackle which was facing off with an African Wild Cat. (photos below.) The guide and his assistant swinging the night-light could have used some more training. There was no indepth knowledge that the guide was able to impart to us, just very basic information. We saw no predators at this facility nor elephants. The meals were fine but nothing too elaborate. The breakfast also fine. The staff were nice but it seems the pandemic procedures have them a bit baffled. At the time of check-out, the staff indicated to our safari guide that the credit card equipment was not working and thus he would have to pay by cash. After assisting the previous safari guide who finally got fed up and said contact his "headquarters" and walked out, they fiddled around for another half hour stating that our guide had to pay cash for the rooms. Even between our guide and us, we did not have sufficient monies so the hotel staff were stiff saying we could not leave. After another 15 minutes, our guide told the front desk personnel that we had to leave and they would be contacted by his company. With staff that are so ill-trained and front desk personnel that are not able to handle their core customers, it does not appear that this lodge will fair well in the post-pandemic period. We wish them well but we would not return anytime in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anica Britz, Marketing at Hobatere Lodge
Responded Aug 2, 2021
We regret having to learn of your less than pleasant experience at Hobatere Lodge. We take note of your concerns and constructive criticism. We will implement more training for our staff and guides at the lodge. We undertake to investigate the areas mentioned and we will implement measures to improve where possible. We thank you again for your critique and points highlighted to focus on for future guest experiences.
Read more
JeanBuckham wrote a review Jul 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa10 contributions2 helpful votes
We were 2 families staying at Hobatere lodge for 2 nights. We had booked and paid before we arrived. We were the only guests in the entire lodge for both nights. Our friends were allocated a room with their 17 and 12 year old sons so when we realized we were the only guests, we asked if they could possibly give us an extra room so that the kids were not squashed in with them. After a long time, we were told the manager would allow it but we would have to pay extra! Which is understandable but then we had 2 rooms in the lodge occupied by staff! Really made me fee a bit ‘off’ the place. There were 11 staff and 10 of us. Many people hanging around the reception area on WiFi whilst the reception bathroom dustbins remained full up until we left. Feels as though staff are disinterested and demotivated. We were told rooms would be turned down and cleaned daily but this never happened. Understandable with Covid but then don’t tell us the rooms will be serviced and turned down! Food was excellent though and rooms were spacious for 2 people but really stuffy for 4. I was disappointed in Hobatere and would be hesitant to recommend it to anyone, what a pity when so many places are itching for guests.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anica Britz, Marketing at Hobatere Lodge
Responded Jul 19, 2021
We regret having to learn of your substandard experience on your stay with us at Hobatere Lodge. We take note of your concerns. We undertake to investigate the points you raised and we will implement measures to ensure improvement in the areas found wanting with immediate effect. We thank you again for your critique and points highlighted to focus on for future guest experiences.
Read more
lwainwright19 wrote a review Jun 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia60 contributions74 helpful votes
We really wanted to like this place, and had such high hopes after seeing all the positive reviews, but unfortunately our experience was overall a letdown. This is a bit of a long review, but in sum, if you're just looking for a relaxing stay at the lodge, this may be the place for you, but if you are looking for productive game drives with competent guides, you probably want to look elsewhere, at least until they get a different guide. The positives: the surrounding scenery is lovely, the food was consistently excellent, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They also provided us with a complimentary boma dinner to make up for the fact that the treehouse, which we'd booked, was being repaired and unavailable (more on that below). The dinner was really nice. And we have no complaints with the staff (with one exception, which will be noted below) and found them to be wonderful. I also liked watching animals come to the waterhole -- saw a variety of antelope (minus giraffes), zebras, and baboons. The negatives: As some others have written, the rooms are due for a refurbishment. The bathroom in particular was old, dingy, and cramped. This was a minor issue, but noting it for the record. It wouldn't have been a big deal if we'd had an amazing experience otherwise. But the room felt overpriced for what you get. Also, the wifi was out the entirety of our two night stay. We had originally booked a twin room rondavel for for the first night, and the treehouse for the second night. We ended up in a double room for both nights (the double was an upgrade over the twin). We received an email from Hobatere about a week before our visit informing us that there had been damage to the treehouse and they were still repairing it, so we wouldn't be able to stay there. We were disappointed, but accepted this was something out of their control and not necessarily the fault of the lodge. However, after our first night at Hobatere, we found out that they'd just finished repairing the treehouse, so it might actually be possible for us to stay there the second night. We asked and at first they said yes, but then retracted it when they realized they hadn't filled the water tank. This was another disappointment, as they knew we really wanted to stay there (we'd reiterated this during check in), and were supposed to stay there that night, and also must have known that there was a decent chance the repair work would finish that day, so why did they not plan ahead and fill the water tank ahead of time, while finishing up the repairs, so that we could have stayed? It was disappointing and seemed like poor planning on the part of the lodge. Finally, the main issue we had -- lack of animals and incompetent guiding. From the reviews it seemed like Hobatere was known for its resident pride of lions. Obviously nature is nature and cannot be predicted, but we were very disappointed in the game drives, as we saw almost nothing. And when I say nothing I don't mean "we didn't see lions so we were disappointed" -- I mean we saw literally almost nothing. We did two night drives and one morning drive. On one night drive we did see an aarvark, which is very rare. But otherwise, it was literally just a lone antelope here or there on the drives. No lions, no elephants, no giraffes, no predators really. Perhaps we just had bad luck. And the lack of animals is not necessarily the fault of the lodge, but it did significantly hamper our enjoyment of the place. Finally, the guides. One seemed somewhat better than the other, but the newest guide, who had just been hired but claimed to have five years of experience, was was incredibly incompetent - misidentifying animals, unable to answer basic questions, stayed essentially silent and offered no information on animals, etc. Examples of bad guiding: he tried to say that a jackal was a bat eared fox. It definitely was a jackal, as we'd been fortunate enough to see a bat eared fox the previous day at okaukuejo, and could easily spot the difference. but he was insistent it was a bat eared fox, even though he was clearly wrong, and we all got a very good and clear look at it. Other examples -- didn't know what a scrub hare was (guide points at scrub hare - "what do you think that is?" My husband: "a rabbit?" guide "yes, a rabbit" and then silence.) Guide says we just saw a genet (I'm actually not sure about this...didn't look like one to me, though it was fleeting). Husband asks "what does a genet eat?" Guide: pauses.... "I don't know" Isn't this basic knowledge you would learn in guide school? These are just a few examples, but there were many more. It was almost comical how bad he was. It also makes me wonder whether our lack of game spotting on game drives was a result of bad luck with nature, or bad guide who didn't know where to go or how to track/spot animals. More competent guiding, even with a lack of animals (since nature is nature), would have made the game drives significantly more enjoyable, as you want to at least learn something. Overall, we were really disappointed. We wanted to love the place and were excited to stay there, but unfortunately the combination of no animals, bad guiding, and lack of treehouse really marred the experience for us, though we do appreciate the lodge staff and how they tried to make up for the lack of treehouse with a boma dinner. Again, no fault with the staff (aside from guides), but our stay was still a disappointment overall, unfortunately.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anica Britz, Marketing at Hobatere Lodge
Responded Jun 11, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We regret having to learn of your less than satisfactory experience on your stay at Hobatere Lodge. We take note of your concerns and constructive criticism. We undertake to investigate every point raised and we will implement measures to ensure improvement in the areas found wanting. We thank you again for your critique and points highlighted to focus on for future guest experiences. We hope we will be able to host you again at any of the Journeys Namibia properties.
Read more
Piia M wrote a review Jan 2021
Shanghai Region, China16 contributions10 helpful votes
Hobatere was my favorite lodge on my Namibia trip: quiet, down to earth, great service and food and you get to observe all the wildlife at the waterhole in front of the lodge. Don’t miss the game drive with Samuel!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Anica Britz, Marketing at Hobatere Lodge
Responded Jan 12, 2021
Thank you 116piiam for taking the time to review us. We cannot wait to pass on your compliments to the lodge, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
finny123 wrote a review Jul 2020
Windhoek, Namibia420 contributions148 helpful votes
+1
Thank you COVID for giving us the opportunity to visit Hobatere where we were surrounded round the clock by a large herd of elephants, zebra, oryx, giraffe and impala who had free roam of the lodge thanks to the lack of tourists. We arrived at 4pm and for the next six hours had a full on show, replete with trumpeting and all kinds of noise. We did a lovely game drive with Tobias, searching for the lions that live on the 36,000 hectare concession. As if the wildlife was not good enough we had Colin! What can I say. We were treated like royalty from beginning to end. Such a lovely and charming host and a wonderful chef. We ate perfectly seasoned beef filet the first night followed by a suspiciously name vinegar cake that did not live up to its name and was simply delicious. The second evening Colin delivered up fantabulous spring rolls, the most tender chicken ever and Nutella filled cupcakes. Two nights and 5 kilos later we left Hobatere blissful, calm and well fed. Tooms are comfortable but not exceptional but we weren’t there for the decor. Thank you Colin for a wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mikecasa wrote a review Mar 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom41 contributions76 helpful votes
We really loved our stay here. The wildlife is great but the staff make it an exceptional stay. Our guide Martin was amazing, not only his ability to spot animals but his knowledge of them and his patience with slow photographers deserve special mention. Lodge staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Colin and Rudi deserve praise for the effort they made helping us with the chaos resulting from covid19. It breaks our hearts to see the lodges here so empty due to travel restrictions, so once normal travel is resumed people need to visit to support the lodges and the wonderful work they do for animal conservation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from JourneysNamibia, Manager at Hobatere Lodge
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Thank you for the amazing review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay at Hobatere Lodge. We will be sure to share your kind words with all the great staff in camp and hope you will visit us again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$222 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaOshikoto RegionEtosha National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hobatere Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Hobatere Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hobatere Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hobatere Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hobatere Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.