We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Show Prices
#1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sierra Sands Family Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 312: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The lodge staff were rude, offensive, and treated my friend and me--hard-working, young professionals in our 30's who traveled to Silver Lake for a relaxing weekend--like we were hooligans. Additionally, I would not recommend the place to families looking for a quiet, kids-friendly respite due to the large number of young revelers hanging out in the parking lot and drinking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank k s
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review

We apologize that you were not happy with your stay at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, and do appreciate your honest feedback. However, we disagree with your portrayal of the area and our property. Silver Lake Sand Dunes is a family destination and offers a lot of great activities for people of all ages, and our property does offer family friendly... More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This past weekend was the worst I have been treated by a hotel in a very long time. After 1 night (that of course they insisted I pre-pay for) we received a call that my girlfriend's grandmother was dying. The staff accused me of lying to get out of a second night (why would I want my trip cut short),... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jamesbain
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review

We would like thank this guest for his feedback, it is important as a small business is to listen when guests are not satisfied with their experience. This guest is correct in his recount of our payment policy at check in as well as our $50 early departure fee. While we would never question a guests reason for requiring an... More 

Warren, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wanting to stay near the beautiful Silver Lake Sand Dunes my kids and I loved our stay! Within walking distance to restaurants, entertainment, and the dunes. There is bike rental at the front desk as well. The room was immaculate!The pool and hot tub were clean and towels were provided at the front desk so you don't have to use... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Trip up the coast with the family and trying to stay and eat at small, locally owned places. As you can imagine in this day and age, it is always "interesting" to come around the final corner and see what you are in for. In this case, you could not ask for anything better. It was old school in layout,... More 

Helpful?
Thank sheckyboy
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived late Friday night and it was nice that the pool was open until 10pm for our girls to swim a bit after the long drive. The pool and hot tub were very nice. There is a great fire pit behind the motel, which is divided from the parking area by large evergreens. We had a fire both Friday... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lovinlifeinmichigan
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at the Sierra Sands for 3 nights in one of the kids suites, which my 8 year old loved. The room was very clean, and included a mini frig and microwave. Free video game rentals for the kids and their own "privacy area" (half wall) with bunk beds were a plus. The pool is great (large and just deep... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JulieU13
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Wonderful place for a family vacation. This family owned business takes pride in their facility and takes the time to know their guests and provide an excellent experience for the whole family. I only wish the breakfast spread would have been a little better and more filling. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mcmommabird
O-FO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The entire hotel is well kept, neat and clean. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job cleaning every day, and making sure we had clean towels and fresh bed linens. You are in the dunes - there is a lot of sand and it gets everywhere, and they did a great job to get it cleaned up every day. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Troy M
Bradley, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights, only had one of the standard double rooms but it was spacious and very clean. It had a refrigerator, microwave, and flat screen TV. Nicely decorated and continental breakfast was great! Cinnamon rolls, homemade coffee cake, breads, donuts, cheese, toast and coffee. Staff is very friendly and has great suggestions for things to do and places... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 1NatNat8
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for the great revirew! We appreciate that feedback and are researching a better option that still works with our septic system. Thanks again and hope to see you next year. More 

Black Jack, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I would stay here again. My wife who is very leary of hotel rooms was impressed at how clean and neat the rooms were. Each room has a hand painted light house mural on the wall. The owners bent over backwards to answer questions and help plan our stay. Great location,great rooms, great people.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, I will make sure to pass on the kind words to the housekeeping team, they work really hard and it always good hear that people enjoy it. Thanks again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mears
4.7 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
11.2 mi away
Days Inn Pentwater
Days Inn Pentwater
#1 of 1 in Pentwater
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
19.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
19.9 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newest family friendly lodging at Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Featuring Kid’s Suites with separate cozy bunkroom for children to enjoy their own TV/Play Station as well as a Two Bedroom Family Suite. Standard Rooms include two queen beds, flat screen TV, DVD player. Heated outdoor pool and spa, inviting park area, equipped with basketball area, playground equipment, picnic tables and grills. Experience the thrill and beauty of Silver Lake Sand Dunes and the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Address: 7990 W Hazel Rd, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436-8605
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Price Range: $82 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Sands Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sands Family Hotel Mears
Sierra Sands Family Motel
Sierra Sands Family Lodge Michigan/Mears
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay