We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
975 N Lakeshore Blvd, Marquette, MI 49855-3650
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (86)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (13)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marquette
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
5.0
Value
4.9
Travelers' Choice
Nestledown was designed to reflect the Finnish/Scandinavian heritage of the Innkeepers and Upper Michigan’s immigrant past. The Bed and Breakfast will be open year round and will offer comfort, breakfast, quiet, a warm fire, sunny windows, fresh air, gathering spaces, walkability, a sauna and dramatic connections to Lake Superior and the Marquette region.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Sauna
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
390Reviews1Q+A77Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 380
  • 8
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
RoadWarrior wrote a review Oct 2022
7 contributions2 helpful votes
excellent choice. Inn Keepers (Ken & Sue) very helpful with suggestions on where to go and what to see. Sue even prepared a "breakfast to go" for a day we were out early. They were extremely aware of guests needs and made sure all guests who wanted were included in breakfast conversations. Our room was very spacious unlike many B&Bs we have stayed with before. We highly recommend stayting at Nestledown.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Sue and Ken are wonderful hosts. They have thought of almost everything including a game room and sauna in the basement. It is a great property with large rooms and plenty of space in the common areas. There is a paved trail across the street that goes for miles in each direction. Downtown is about 1 mile away and is an easy walk or short drive to several good restaurants and breweries plus one distillery. An easy choice if you are going to Marquette and want some extra space and a beautiful setting.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BenSonoma wrote a review Aug 2022
San Francisco, California16 contributions32 helpful votes
While the hosts were gracious and the location good, I found Nestledown considerably overpriced for what it was. When I spend close to $400/night for a B&B anywhere, especially outside a major city, I expect such things as high quality towels and linens, a multi-course and served breakfast and higher-end furniture (no dressers, really?) Perhaps it was an artifact of when I stayed, but I found it a very poor value for the cost. Your mileage may vary depending on dates and associated prices, but I was disappointed for what I paid.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken Schauland, Owner at Nestledown
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Hello Ben and Barbara. I am sorry you were disappointed with Nestledown and what we offer. We do try, on purpose, to not be pretentious. The experience of staying at Nestledown should feel warm, cozy and easy going Nordic. Our towels are from Kohls and wash and dry, quickly. Our linens are mostly from Target and Kohls and 100% cool cotton. We appreciate feedback and listen to it all, fixing things as we can. I do want to correct you on our price/night. You paid 250.00/night with 6% Michigan sales tax. 3 nights for a total of 795.00. Did you get your "breakfast to go" on your early departure day?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allen M wrote a review Jul 2022
Brevard, North Carolina13 contributions24 helpful votes
Super comfortable, well located and great breakfasts (both the food and fellow guests. Close to downtown, the water and parks. Really liked Marquette. Our favorite city in the UP. Good outdoor vibe with decent amount of restaurants
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
macrabbit wrote a review Jul 2022
Seattle, Washington68 contributions36 helpful votes
Nothing here will disappoint you; every detail is unobtrusively and warmly attended to. Peaceful location, lovely rooms, excellent food preparation and presentation. Highest recommendation. You had a vision, and you nailed it, Ken and Sue!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gary B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The Nestledown is a home away from home! The hosts Ken & Sue are so kind and gracious, breakfast is awesome, the whole property is immaculate, and right on the bike path along the lake only minutes from downtown or Presque Isle.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marsha and Barry wrote a review May 2022
West Bloomfield, Michigan9 contributions4 helpful votes
My wife and I were on a road trip through the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and had reserved 3 nights here, based on reviews we read, and we loved it! The house has 6 rooms, a large living area free for anyone to use, and a sauna in the lower level. Our room was spacious, very clean and with a spacious bathroom and shower. The room was very quiet. The hosts, Ken and Sue, were warm and friendly, helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was delightful and plentiful - be sure to ask for the Finnish Pancakes and the vanilla scones. A must (you will not be disappointed!). On our last morning we were the only 2 guests, and we lingered after breakfast for almost an hour chatting with Ken and Sue - a delightful free flowing conversation! The location is great - easy to get to the heart of town as well as most of the other points of interest in the area. If we do get back to Marquette, this is the only place we'll stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: We only saw our room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
allyson1274 wrote a review May 2022
Whitelaw, Wisconsin119 contributions25 helpful votes
We stayed at Nestledown this weekend while visiting Marquette for NMU graduation. It was perfect in so many ways. Location is prime and easy to find. It’s right on the lakeshore with access to lakeside trail across the road. Just outside of the downtown area and close to NMU campus. The property is beautiful, plenty of parking and easy to check in. Our room was perfect. We had room 5 with king bed. Extremely clean and updated. Room was comfortable. We both were surprised with the quietness between the rooms. We didn’t hear any talking or TVs, even though all the rooms were occupied. The breakfast was great on both mornings. I have not a bad thing to say, the owners do a wonderful job. We definitely will stay again !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
earthmom31 wrote a review Mar 2022
Kimberly, Wisconsin31 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I have been coming to Marquette for the past 25 years to attend the U.P. 200 Sled Dog Race. We have always stayed in hotels either in Marquette or Munising. However, this year, our daughter began college and was not able to come with us, affording us the opportunity to try this B & B that we had our eyes on ever since it was built. What a treat! Ken and Sue are so warm and inviting as is their inn. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We volunteered for the sled dog race on Friday night, so we were gone overnight. When we got home at 4:00 A.M., we immediately fell asleep in the comfortable bed and never heard any noise as people woke, allowing us to get a few precious hours of sleep before heading out for the day. The inn is not only comfortable but also soundproof. Further, the common spaces were warm and inviting. I found myself curling up with a book in the living room several times throughout our stay. The breakfasts were delicious, and the coffee that was put out early gave guests the opportunity to gather and converse before breakfast was served. As a special treat, Sue put out a snack each night. If you do visit, be sure to check out the sauna! Guests sign up for a time, so they have the space to themselves. It was a welcome treat after checking in mushers during a blizzard and after snowshoeing each day. You will not be disappointed with Nestledown!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Julia W wrote a review Feb 2022
Lima, Peru26 contributions3 helpful votes
Beautiful bed and breakfast overlooking Lake Superior. Accommodations were exceptional. Beds were perfectly comfortable and rooms super clean and tidy. Hostesses were very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Each breakfast was wonderful and so was our nightly snack as well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$159 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganUpper PeninsulaMarquette
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NESTLEDOWN - Updated 2022 Prices & B&B Reviews (Marquette, MI)

Frequently Asked Questions about Nestledown
Which popular attractions are close to Nestledown?
Nearby attractions include Marquette Maritime Museum (0.6 miles), Superior Dome (0.6 miles), and Zero Degrees Artist Gallery (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Nestledown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Nestledown?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Nestledown?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nestledown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jean Kay's Pasties, Stucko's Pub & Grill, and Vango's Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Nestledown?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.