We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Cedar Motor Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cedar Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 162: English reviews
mid-Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed one night Nov. 19. Upstairs room overlooking pool and hot tub. Beds were wonderful and cleanliness exceptional. Large room. However, disappointed in unusually small and low toilet, hard to understand while this hasn't been changed out. Kleenex box was empty. Continental breakfast was basic but well attended by friendly staff. Overall, good value and good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigAlMuth
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments to us. We're happy you had a pleasant stay when you were here and appreciate that you pointed out a few things as well. There's no reason for an empty tissue box and it should have been caught but if we don't have something at the front desk, we can usually...

Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our third trip to Marquette in the last two months so we been trying out different places to stay as I like to experiment. We chose this one this time because one I like motels instead of hotels, it was reasonably priced, it had good reviews, and it's in a good location. We seen it from prior trips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MNLit
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment after your recent stay with us. Without a bit more information, I can't comment on the room change you experienced; perhaps something was being worked on in the room you chose. But the rooms in that price range typically have the same amenities. Yes, booking through a travel agent means you deal...

Chippewa Falls
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there with a hockey team. Very nice and clean place to stay. Motel is an older place where the rooms are connected by an indoor breezway. This was one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed. Don't let the price or the age of the place turn you away. The staff were all very pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald L
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We appreciate that you recognized how hard our staff works to make sure guests have a clean and comfortable place to stay when they're away from home that's also a good value.

Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Built in 1967 and in need of some updates but it was clean. Friendly staff. Extra, extra firm beds! The breakfast wasn't really. Granola bars and biscotti and weak coffee! Had to eat a really early lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi B
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after a recent stay with us. Yes, the Cedar has been in the family for 50 years next year and many changes have occurred during that time. We are constantly making upgrades to the rooms as funds permit, primarily in mattresses but recently adding flat-screen TVs and frigs. For folks who have specific wishes, it's...

Reviewed November 1, 2016

we had a very nice experience here, clean and fresh smelling. low cost but not a chaep hotel nice clean pool area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool and hot tub waere wonderful, nice and warm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F760FDamyc
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Cedar. I appreciate your line about "low-cost but not a cheap hotel" because that's what we try to explain to folks. Being one of the few year-round independents in the county, we're busy with a clientele that looks for "family and clean" so that's what we...

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed October 17, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by our stay here. It is a family run business that the big chains could learn a lot from. The room was very clean and bright. After a long day on the road from Winnipeg we had a very relaxing time in the whirlpool which was spotless and enjoyed a cooling dip in the pool afterwards....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ylvasteve
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your time and response to a recent stay with us. We receive many Canadian travelers who "dip" into the U.P. on their trips back and forth across their country. The Canadian flag flies in appreciation for their patronage as well as our personal heritage on both sides of our family. We're glad you had a pleasant room...

Laingsburg, Michigan
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

Loved this mtoel from the minute we walked into office. Charming and efficient young woman who greeted us and made us feel welcome. Room wa impeccably clean and modern. Very comfortable bed and spacious room. Breakfast was well tended to and very nice selection. We will definitely look forward to returning to this delightful place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay was at the Cedar. It's nice to know that our guests appreciate our uniqueness. We're glad you had an enjoyable room and experience with staff. Next year will be 50 years in the family so we hope you can find your way back again next year,...

Chehalis, WA
Reviewed October 12, 2016

This is a long-time family owned business. Even though it's a motel, the pool, the breakfast room, the office - everything - can all be reached without going outside in the snow or rain during winter because it has "indoor corridors". They really accommodate skiers (a "waxing room"). Breakfast - hot tub - sauna - pool. Easy to find -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwkChehalis
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Yes, while we might have designed the building differently than was done originally, we do agree that the heated hallways were a very good idea. Besides happy guests, the staff also enjoys not being in the elements. We will be celebrating 50 years family-owned next year...

Choctaw, Oklahoma
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile

I made this reservation online for a one night stay for a double room. Upon entering the outer area to get to the rooms, we noticed a funky smell. We were assigned a room down a dimly lit corridor almost in the corner. To say it was outdated & creepy is an understatement! The bathroom was very small & had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your recent reservation. I know it's hard for a guest when they book online with anticipation and those wishes aren't met. Ours is such a cookie-cutter society of everything looking the same. We do encourage our guests to call us so we can place them in the best room for their...

appleton, wi
Reviewed October 10, 2016

We were near the road, but our room was still quiet. It must be the extra hallway that blocks the noise. It was clean. Not much for breakfast if you need meat and eggs and such things. We went to subway and Big Boy after learning that the Perkins is gone forever. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clytn92
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on staying with us this week. Yes, the hallway really makes the hotel cozy and convenient for guests. It's easy to walk down to the continental breakfast in your pajamas and sit in the atrium and have a cup of coffee and muffin. Since we have no restaurant or kitchen, we're glad you were able to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 18 in Marquette
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 18 in Marquette
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 18 in Marquette
311 reviews
6.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 18 in Marquette
208 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#6 of 18 in Marquette
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Cedar Motor Inn

Address: 2523 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2258
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Price Range: $66 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Cedar Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Motor Hotel Marquette
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marquette
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#6 Family Hotel in Marquette
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cedar Motor Inn staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Boyne City, Michigan
5 months ago
Marquette, Michigan
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cedar Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“no elevator, but rooms close to parking”
 of 5 bubbles BigAlMuth, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“118 was a nice room”
 of 5 bubbles MNLit, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“budget friendly”
 of 5 bubbles F760FDamyc, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“If you stay in the pool area ask for a room as far away from it as possible”
 of 5 bubbles ylvasteve, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room where window opens to back of property and further from street traffic”
 of 5 bubbles presence1st, Sep 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay