We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 442: English reviews
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This Holiday Inn was one of the best. The rooms with a balcony face Mackinac Island. It had a small fitness room, but a beautiful pool. The breakfast bar was average, but always had water with lemon, coffee and teas available.

Helpful?
Thank suemo7767
Management response:

Thank you Suemo...for that wonderful review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us...pool, views, breakfast. We look forward to your next visit to Mackinaw City. Mitch, GM More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed for one night en route to my vacation destination. I didn't have a reservation but received an adequate rate, including breakfast. Great location at first exit before Mackinac Bridge. The room they first gave made me have an allergic response. I called the desk and they moved me to another room. The next morning, the same staff member... More 

Helpful?
Thank Domna C
Management response:

Thank you Donna for that wonderful review. I'm glad we could accommodate you in the room switch. You picked Mackinaw City's favorite Diner...Darrow's...famous for their pies. Mitch, GM More 

Castelnaudary, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stay here for the convenient location. The staff never smiles and the breakfast is passable. The elevators are at the end of the building, so it can be a long walk to some rooms. We were dissapointed that those registering on our day of arrival received a much better rate than what we were charged by booking directly in... More 

Helpful?
Thank glasmorr
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Check in staff was nice, not overly informative. Requested corner room on 4th floor bridge view. Nice room/view. Would be nice to be able to turn off lights on balcony to sit out at night with no bugs.

Helpful?
Thank i_xray_you
Management response:

Happy Anniversary...I'm glad you had a wonderful stay with us on a very special occasion. I'm sorry for the lights on the balcony...but it's for everyone's safety. Come back for a visit in the later fall...when it's cool...and no bugs. Thank you Mitch, GM More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean for the most part. Check in staff was friendly but not overly. There is some dusting issues especially in corners of room and ceiling, only other complaint I have is that the light from the balcony shines into room and the curtains are only sheer so it keeps room lit up.

Helpful?
Thank Devon A
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the dusty corners during your stay. There are black out curtains behind the sheers...to block out the balcony light. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Mitch,... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Most Holiday Inns have friendly front desk personnel. This one didn't. I checked in 45 minutes early, and my room wasn't available. I asked for another, and was treated by her as if it was a great imposition. She said very little, and didn't smile. She came from the back room to check me in, so apparently I disturbed her.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue M
Management response:

Hello Sue...I'm sorry you felt your "Welcome" wasn't as friendly as most. The cookies are set out at 5pm...and we should've had more tea set out...coffee is always hot. Thank you Mitch, GM More 

Waterman, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were lucky to find this place and my husband was happy with it too which says ALOT!! Easy access from the highway and our room had a view of the bridge. The room was clean and spacious. The pool was awesome, except the deep end was 8 feet which is pretty deep for a hotel pool. The breakfast the... More 

Helpful?
Thank shredbetty4
Management response:

Thank you Shredbetty for that wonderful review...I like that you noticed our 8 ft deep pool. Yes...8 ft deep, because this hotel was built in 1992 and still looking good. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit. Mitch, GM More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing too exciting to report, just a nice Holiday Inn Express. Our room was comfortable, spacious, modern, and clean. We had a balcony with a view of the bridge which was a nice bonus. Service was good overall; the front desk was very helpful in helping us plan our trip up to the island. Pool and hot tub area were... More 

Helpful?
Thank diver2015
Management response:

Thank you diver 2015 for those nice comments about your stay with us. I'm glad the front desk staff could help you with suggestions on your trip to Mackinac Island. We look forward to your next visit UPNORTH Mitch, GM More 

West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped at this Holiday Inn on our way to UP and had a bad experience after a long drive. The front desk staff member was not very friendly. The room we got was on the ground floor and near old washers and dryers which was not very entertaining. Also the floor of the room was sticky and moist. Didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shane12395
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Mitch, GM More 

Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When entering our “cleaned” room, there was a dirty, used washcloth hanging over the shower rod, a top from a used razor in the tub and the toilet was disgustingly filthy. One of the beds sheets had a big stain and two of the “clean” washcloths rolled and placed on the bathroom counter were stained with makeup. The breakfast staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Schmart1
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Mitch, GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Address: 364 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9670
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range: $106 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay