We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thunderbird Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Thunderbird Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
Montague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we were initially charged twice and extra! Once confronted about being charged twice the front desk was very unorganized and confused on what to do. Room was small and dingy it was a king size room. Sheets were not changed when we left the sign off it. There were only two towels and they smelled sour and gross.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ecudi21
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the double charge; I am glad we were able to sort that out before your left. We did find that our heater for our pool went down for a period of time and it is now corrected. Our goal is to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable stay and I am disappointing to... More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

After 6hr drive got to the Thunderbird to see if we could check in early. The answer was "No, you can come back at 4." She had quite the attitude. Then asked if I could use the restroom. Answer was "no". Wow! How accommodating! Got to the room at 4...very shabby and dirty. Towels so thin you could almost see... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mpmimi
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I completely understand that after a long car ride you want to kick back and relax. Unfortunately, we cannot always accommodate our guests with an early check-in. Our check-in is stated on all of our websites as 4pm. I do apologize for the issues with your stay, customer service is one of our main goals, and it is my job... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

After a 12 hr car ride with 2 year old twins, we arrived to a dirty room with only 2 sets of towels, old food on the floor (blueberries/cereal), and NO toilet paper in the bathroom. Was concerned about the germs we were being exposed to. FILTHY coffee pot/maker with old coffee stained on the sides and an actual cobweb... More 

Helpful?
Thank tootie2010
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I want to apologize for the issues of your stay. After your mother stopped up to let us know of the issues with your room, I personally serviced your room. We were told the next morning that everything in the room was fantastic. We did offer a $20 refund for the issues with your room, but also gave the option... More 

Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just your average drive-up motel with no complaints. Quiet, comfortable, clean and meets basic needs for someone who does not plan on spending much time in the room other than to wind-down and sleep. The staff was very kind, helpful and accommodating when we realized we needed a different room with an additional bed rather than the one we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank TrekkinDs
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. While we do not advertise ourselves as a 5 star hotel, we strive to offer clean, comfortable rooms with exceptional customer service. Thank you for your review. More 

Mackinac
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The room had a real bad stench to it like rotten meat,the bed sheets were stained with who knows what I just stripped the bed.For the price I would have rather stayed at a Knights Inn . Don't suggest it !'!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Bob M
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you had issues with your room. I wish you had told us about the smell and sheets while you were staying so that we could have moved you to a new room. If we don't know about the issue when you are here, we cannot fix it. More 

Eastpointe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked our anniversary stay here based off the reviews of our friends stay for their honeymoon from last year. We choose to ignore tripadvisor reviews! We booked the king romance package and went expecting the best, romantic room the hotel could offer but discover mediocrity. We were definitely let down. It was a first floor dark, dingy, out of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ladycritik
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I want to apologize for issues you had while staying at our hotel. We strive to ensure our guests satisfaction and I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations . Our romance package has been upgraded from previous years. Last year, our romance included a bottle of campaign and the dinner voucher to Audie's. This year we decided... More 

Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The rooms are somewhat basic, but were very clean. We arrived after the reception had closed, but the woman who came down to greet us was very helpful. The breakfast was good, but we didn't get to try the pool, but it looked nice.

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to having you stay again with us. More 

Portage, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Not Handicap Accesible Receptionist was rude. Water got hot very fast and stayed hot. Wont stay again the Cleaning people were prompt and very nice. Breakfast area was not handicap nor was the pool and the parking lot was small and could not even get the wheel chair up to the room cause of the cement block for the parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy S
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry for your experience at our hotel. We do try to accommodate all of our guests needs and requests, however sometimes we cannot fulfill them. Unfortunately handicap accessible rooms is not one of them. Our property does not offer handicap accessible rooms nor does it advertise them. Our property is just not equipped to offer ease of... More 

Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Okay, so this hotel was nothing to write home about, but would I stay again? Probably. The price was excellent for location. The kids loved the pool and the rooms were clean. Yes there are issues with the hot water, but it wasn't bad. We never made the breakfast, but our friend took his kids and said it was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretIndiana
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. Our main priority is to offer clean, comfortable rooms and superior service. We look forward to having you stay with us again so you can try our hot breakfast. More 

LAKEVILLE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here one night for the Minis on the Mac event last August. The beds were nice and firm and I did sleep well which I suppose is the main thing. However, there was a brown scum line on the sink where the faucet attaches, also the bathroom floor wasn't super clean, the thing that got me the most was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JAN S
Steven C, General Manager at Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Whether you stayed a week ago or months ago we still appreciate the feedback. All of your concerns have been addressed. We have undergone a management transition from last year and my main goals are to provide clean rooms and great service. Thank you once again for your feedback. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
0.8 mi away
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
#17 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parkside Inn -  Bridgeside
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
#20 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#12 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 41 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Beautiful Boutique Property completely devoted to customer service and clean rooms. We provide all the things you have grown to love and trust from a hotel including free WIFI, free breakfast, an indoor pool, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, cable TV and much more. We are AAA approved, Pet friendly, AARP accepted, along with many other discounts and very close to all local attractions including the ferry lines and water park. Here at the Thunderbird Inn we welcome everyone with a smile and we are confident you will leave with one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Address: 146 Old US Hwy 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range: $57 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Best Western
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay