We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
9/4/2017 9/5/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Thunderbird Inn

    146 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    9/4/2017 9/5/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    $84
    View Deal
    Traveler (10)
    Room & Suite (7)
    Dining (2)
    Overview
    • Excellent22%
    • Very good37%
    • Average20%
    • Poor10%
    • Terrible11%
    Travelers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Airport Transportation
    Room Service
    Concierge
    Pets Allowed
    Business Center
    Self-Serve Laundry
    2.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Thunderbird Inn
    Deals (13)
    Sep 4Sep 5
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (with Sofa) (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      $84
      View Deal
    • Queen Room with Sofa
      $84
      View Deal
    • Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (with Sofa)
      $84
      View Deal
    View all 13 deals from $84
    Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
    846 reviews
    #3 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
    1,286 reviews
    #2 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Clarion Hotel Beachfront
    625 reviews
    #19 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
    567 reviews
    #9 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (204)
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 203 reviews

    Reviewed 3 days ago

    I really wanted to like the Thunderbird. I am a big fan of “mom and Pop” motels as long as they are well maintained. Unfortunately, it fell short in several areas. The mattresses need to be replaced… they sag and are way too springy. I...More

    Thank Z463RQchris
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    I had a problem in the room that was fixed right away. I asked for extra towels and they were in my room in five minutes. Alex was very helpful, The breakfast is a little better than some other places. They have an indoor pool...More

    1  Thank Colleen D
    Response from TBirdMackinaw, General Manager at Thunderbird InnResponded 5 days ago

    Thank you so much for leaving us a review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on the praise to Alex. I look forward to welcoming you back during any future visits to the area.

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    On the plus side, the office staff was friendly and helpful. Cons: towels felt like sandpaper. No mattress cover on the bed. Brkfst subpar, mold on bathroom wall, musty smell, wifi spotty, thin walls (could hear tv next door). Paid too much for the aforementioned!More

    Thank Skcollins6
    Response from TBirdMackinaw, General Manager at Thunderbird InnResponded 1 week ago

    Ms. Collins, I see you had some issues during your stay and want to apologize for that. We did notice the mold in the bathroom and have since put it out of order to properly remove and fix the problem. I wish you would have...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    All I ask is a clean room and no smell- they couldn't deliver either. Our first room was moldy and right next door a dog was whining and barking for its owner. The mold alone was enough, but listening to a barking dog all night?...More

    Thank MigiMigi
    Response from TBirdMackinaw, General Manager at Thunderbird InnResponded 1 week ago

    I'm sorry that you were dissatisfied with the rooms that you saw. Unfortunately, we were unable to accommodate you in a room to your liking and are happy you were able to find accommodations elsewhere that suited your needs.

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Stayed for 2 nights and was a little disappointed with the room. Good location and check in was easy. From the outside, I thought the place looked above average, then we went into our room (221). Even my kids (10 and 12) noticed that "this...More

    Thank scottmpd28
    Response from TBirdMackinaw, General Manager at Thunderbird InnResponded 1 week ago

    I'm sorry your experience did not exceed your expectations. I wish you had said something when you checked in as we could have done something then to rectify the situation. If we don't know something is wrong, we can't fix the problems.

    Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
    846 reviews
    #3 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
    1,286 reviews
    #2 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Clarion Hotel Beachfront
    625 reviews
    #19 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
    567 reviews
    #9 of 39 hotels in Mackinaw City
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Room Service
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Room Service
    • Airport Transportation
    • Business Center with Internet Access
    • Concierge
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • $62 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 48
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Michigan >
    • Cheboygan County >
    • Mackinaw City
    • Also Known As
    • Best Western Mackinaw City ,
    • Mackinaw City Best Western ,
    • Best Western Thunderbird Hotel
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (10)
    Room & Suite (7)
    Dining (2)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (13)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
    567 reviews
    .29 miles away
     
    Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
    846 reviews
    .48 miles away
     
    Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
    1,286 reviews
    .65 miles away
     
    Clarion Hotel Beachfront
    625 reviews
    .23 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Scalawag's Whitefish & Chips
    479 reviews
    .75 miles away
    Pizza Palace
    726 reviews
    .75 miles away
    Mackinaw Pastie & Cookie Co.
    249 reviews
    .45 miles away
    Nonna Lisa's Italian Ristorante
    1,029 reviews
    .56 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry
    1,102 reviews
    .21 miles away
    Shepler's Lighthouse Cruises
    94 reviews
    .77 miles away
    Animal Tracks
    86 reviews
    .61 miles away
    Mackinaw Crossings
    148 reviews
    .69 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Mary P
    May 5, 2017|
    Answer
    Response from TBirdMackinaw | Property representative |
    Yes, there is a one time, non-refundable pet fee of $25. Also, please call us directly at 231-436-5433 to book a pet friendly room.
    0
    Votes
    dlandrews28
    September 11, 2016|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Vmika | Reviewed this property |
    I don't know you would have to call the hotel
    0
    Votes
    Jazlynn H
    September 3, 2016|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Tracy G | Reviewed this property |
    5 minute drive to the ferry terminals in Mackinaw city. you could easily walk it.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Don't stay here"
    Read review
    "Ground level for motorcycle riders."
    Read review
    "There are only a few pet friendly rooms but ours was near the back and quiet."
    Read review
    "all rooms were accessible situated on the ground floor"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing