We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
Livonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The first room we were in smelled so bad of must or mildew that we could hardly breathe! They were able to move us to a different room that stunk also but was not as bad. The air conditioner is a small window type unit that comes no where near cooling the room off enough especially the farther beds. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank 544darceys
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off they went out of there way to help on arrival we needed a real early check in like 11 am so we could change to get to wedding on island so they made it happen by getting a room ready like now so that was a big plus room was clean had all we needed good hot free... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
Zachary C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Mike! We take pride in doing everything we can to accommodate our guests while they are with us. I'm glad you had a great experience with us and we look forward to having you stay again in the future! More 

Crestwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an old motel, that needs a good rehab. The rooms are clean but the carpeting is very worn and the shower in the tub is for little people! The location has a pool, but not a hot tub. Breakfast is adequate and the attendant is very friendly and helpful. The front office staff were fine. The location is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CrestwoodChuck
Zachary C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you for the review CrestwoodChuck. We are currently working on updating our rooms and the next step is the carpet. We acknowledge the fact that we are an older hotel but we strive to provide clean, accommodating rooms to our guests and we are thrilled that we were able to deliver that to you. If you are ever in... More 

Pelkie, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After staying in the motel from hell in Houghton Lake, we decided to drive a little further on our way home and booked this motel while driving. It is an older motel, but this is how a motel/hotel should be run. The woman at the front desk was efficient, explained everything (pool hours, wifi, breakfast in the morning, etc). It... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lynnem502016
Zachary C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Than you for the review! We are ecstatic that we were able to provide you with such a great experience! We pride ourselves in providing a clean room despite the updates that need to be done and are pleased that our housekeepers did their part to make your stay great! If you are ever in the area again please don't... More 

Holland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfortable, clean, and quite. The gentleman at the front desk phoned after my wife and I were in the room for a few minutes to make certain we had no problems and were happy with the room. Friendly people. Great bed. Excellent breakfast. Have a pool but didn't use it. The hotel is not downtown so the room is quiet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
Zachary C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Bill! We are so glad that you had a great stay with us. We work hard to provide great customer service and clean rooms to our guest and are pleased to hear your awesome experience. We look forward to seeing you again next year! More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was your typical up north hotel... The breakfast was not impressive. We were quite disappointed as the description sounded wonderful! The beds were hard and uncomfortable. The tv was an old box style and the channels came in pretty fuzzy. Due to the time of year this was one of the better deals near the island, so in that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie M
Zachary C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Katie! I'm glad to hear the budget prices were able to help you out. We are aware that the rooms do need to updating however we strive to provide clean rooms and great customer service to all of our guests. I'm sorry our breakfast wasn't to you liking this time around. It is always changing... More 

Bremen, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room smelled like mold so bad we had to go complain. They gave us another room which was slightly better, but we still only stayed 1 night and went somewhere else the rest of the weekend. The bed was like sleeping on a potato sack. Avoid.

Helpful?
Thank P1R8Traveler
Zachary C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel. We are currently working to change out our beds. Our goal is to accommodate each guests as much as we are able to. Please, if there is anything we can do for you in the future don't hesitate to give us a call. More 

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed two nights at "America's Best" Value Inn Mackinaw City. Paying well over $100 a night, we expected a clean room at the very least. What we ended up with was a moldy smelling, dirty room. Grimy carpet, dirty looking sheets, dust and grime everywhere, ants, afraid to leave anything on the floor. The free breakfast included rock... More 

Helpful?
Thank michelle257
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The price was right, along with the location. The hotel staff were very pleasant. We stayed here in a king size room with a spa tub. The tub is nice to use after walking around all day on the island. The shower was also nice. The room was a good size too. it was a quiet place to stay. However,... More 

Helpful?
Thank lakelover724
Zachary C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! I am glad that you had a great experience with our staff, we strive to provide each guest with great customer service and a clean room to stay in. I'm sorry some things fell short of your expectations, we are working to replace some of the beds and the carpet in some of the rooms.... More 

Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went for a quick 2 night visit to the Island and Mackinaw City. This hotel was clean and affordable. We did have a jacuzzi suite. It was very large and comfortable. They do need to replace the missing doors by the jacuzzi and also need blinds on the french entry doors otherwise too much of the room is visible... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil743
Zachary C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Phil! I am pleased to hear that you had an overall good experience at our hotel. It is our goal to provide each of our guests with great customer service and a clean room, and I see that we accomplished that! We do always take our guest recommendations very seriously and will look into making... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#15 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
#16 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parkside Inn -  Bridgeside
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
#20 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Great Lakes Inn
Great Lakes Inn
#21 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starlite Budget Inns
Starlite Budget Inns
#22 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bridge View Motel & Condos
Bridge View Motel & Condos
#31 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City

Address: 112 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9652
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range: $54 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay