We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Lakes Inn

Save
Share
150 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9652
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$100
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/19/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
$99
View Deal
Priceline
Expedia.com$100
Lol.travel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (23)
Room & Suite (8)
Bathroom (7)
78Reviews3Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 20
  • 14
  • 16
  • 9
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bulldad67 wrote a review Sep 2019
Sturgis, Michigan5 contributions
+1
My wife and I made the trip from Sturgis (bottom of the state) to bring our two boys. We were not expecting better than 2 or 3 star accommodations, but this was a complete let down... First off, I had to haggle with the front desk person about the price... they were charging $65 dollars more than I booked the room for, (let me point out the hot tub was also out of commission, which I was not told when I called the day before to check on amenities) although they did reduce it. I literally had to wipe the spiderwebs off of the doorway to enter the room. The room was just grubby (see pics, this was our first impression). Cob webs and dust thru out. Got up to get a cup of coffee in the room, only to find out that the coffee pot/maker was never cleaned. I walk out and go to the breakfast area for coffee, and could smell it when I walked in, but was disappointed to find yesterday's java in the decanter. Not even warm, and a sign that said "one plate per guest" McDonald's here we come! The worst part? When I went to the desk the next morning to lodge a complaint, there's a note taped to the counter telling you who call. I left my name, number, and list of issues, and I'm still trying to reach her... 2. weeks later...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol E, Manager at Great Lakes Inn
Responded Sep 18, 2019
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. If ever there is an issue please let the front desk know. There is always some one on property. We always have to charge what ever your reservation was for from booking and Expedia. We can not change what price you booked for online.
Read more
Brian S wrote a review Aug 2019
Escanaba293 contributions80 helpful votes
Stayed for two nites- upstairs room, two people. Beds very comfy but house keeping forgot to give us clean towels for our second day- the front desk upon check out just said Oh- when I questioned if rooms were inspected by a supervisor after cleaning I was told they don't check stay-overs- odd- these are the people paying the most as they are staying multiple nites why wouldn't you inspect their rooms. Breakfast was actually a hot breakfast though oddly set up with a young woman with no personality running it- no greeting, no acknowledgment, nothing. And she waited until all the sausage was empty to put more on the stove so several of us had to wait. Biscuits with gravy the usual motel stuff but at least it was hot. No selection for cold cereal of morning rolls. Place was big enough however and clean. Parking was adequate, no elevator. Indoor pool was nice, outdoor pool was empty first week in August?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Jenny M wrote a review Aug 2019
Michigan4 contributions2 helpful votes
This place is terrible! We basically had to kick the door to our room in to open it, it was stuck so bad. Then the WiFi didn't work, which the front desk person blamed on me, but I was typing in the password correctly - it was just an insanely bad connection. The next morning we hoped to use the outdoor pool, but it had no water in it, so we went to use the indoor pool and discovered that you can only get towels at the front desk (how does this even make sense?) and that the hot tub was actually essentially a cold tub. Finally, when we went to get breakfast, we were once again sorely disappointed. There was no milk for the cereal and they did not have cups for the juice/coffee. We were told by a staff member to use a bowl to drink out of. What?! I am definitely never coming back here again. I do not understand how this place is in business.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bring your own cup, since the hotel apparently does not have any
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Great Lakes Inn
Responded Aug 20, 2019
We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused. We are having the outdoor pool totally redone this summer and it takes time. As the lady at the desk explained to you, If you have a firewall up on your device it will not allow the WIFI signal to get to your device. As for the rest, this is not how we do business and that you for letting us know. We will diffidently have a conversation with the staff member in question. Sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Read more
Bella199494 wrote a review Jul 2019
3 contributions
My husband and I wanted a little get away so we started looking for places to stay. We found this hotel. Upon check-in we were greeted by friendly staff members. The front desk attendent was very nice and helpful answered all the questions we had. The room we booked was nice. I really loved that it had a heart shaped jaccuzi tub. Breakfast was really good. Each day was something new. The staff would stop and talk to us and ask if there is anything they could do for us or just have a conversation with us. that was really nice you don't see that very often. I would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol E, Owner at Great Lakes Inn
Responded Jul 12, 2019
Thank you for stating with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Karl E wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
This was by far the most expensive room $250+tax/fees and the worst room of our 10 adventure around lake superior. The rooms have exterior access doors and ours was unlocked and open when we approached it. The bed spread had the appearance that someone had sat on it. The carpet reeked of mildew. There were several signs of water damage. Furniture was old and cheap partical board veneer. Spider in the corner. Hole in the wall. No hand wash cloth. No shampoo. Disgusting. This is an old hotel that wasn't kept up and is run down and changed hands and renamed to trick people. The staff person said he must have left the door opened after he checked it. We desperately tried to locate another hotel room but it was too late on a holiday weekend and literally Expedia.com showed all hotels as booked. Even in nearby cities. We stayed are out as long as possible and the next morning got out as soon as possible. A terrible end to our trip.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol E, Front Office Manager at Great Lakes Inn
Responded Jul 8, 2019
I think you have the wrong hotel. Most of our rooms have newer carpet and furniture is new the past 2 years. The furniture in all of our rooms are solid wood. Our hotel has had the same name for over 12 years. Please let us know what room it was that you may have stayed.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$65 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganMackinaw City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Great Lakes Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Great Lakes Inn?
Nearby attractions include Icebreaker Mackinaw Maritime Museum Inc. (0.7 miles), Del Sol - Color-Change - Mackinaw Crossings (0.7 miles), and Great Lakes Lighthouse Keepers association (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Great Lakes Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Great Lakes Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Great Lakes Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Great Lakes Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Great Lakes Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Murdick's Fudge, Pizza Palace, and Scalawag's Whitefish & Chips.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Great Lakes Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Great Lakes Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Mackinaw City.
Are any cleaning services offered at Great Lakes Inn?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Great Lakes Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Great Lakes Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Historic Mill Creek Discovery Park (3.5 miles) and McGulpin Point Lighthouse & Historic Site (2.4 miles).