We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 191: English reviews
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is terrible. Significantly understaffed at the front desk. We had five people staying and were given two towels. When we asked for more we were told we would have to come get them. It was very rude. Beach and surrounding of hotel was littered with trash and most lounge chairs were broken. Our screen door to the balcony... More 

Helpful?
Thank wendyendres
Management response:

Dear Guest, We must apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying. These issues in no way truly represents our top notch customer service and accommodations we provide. We take your views seriously and will be working on the issues you experienced. We hope sometime in the future you will give us a chance to correct the perception you have... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Worst experience in Macinaw thus far. Poorly run hotel. Had nothing but issues that the front desk couldn't and wouldn't address. First time ever staying at a hotel when you remove the do not disturb sign at 10 am and room never got cleaned. Try the super 8 lakefront as a budget alternative and it's pet friendly as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
Management response:

Dear guest, We must apologize for the inconvenience experienced while staying with us. Unfortunately, no matter which hotel you stay with animal friendly rooms no room attendant will enter with an unattended animal inside that will pose a grave risk to that individuals safety . We at the Fairview respect and value our staff. Thus, we could not in good... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place was terrible !! The pools were filthy the hot tub was cold and didn't work !! We had to beg for towels as the housekeeper did not leave any! All I can say positive is the rooms were clean and the beach was nice the water was so clear !! The breakfast was decent !

Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
Management response:

Dear guest, We thank you for reviewing our property. We loved the fact that you said our rooms were clean and beach was well maintained. We apologize for the issues you had with pool and the hot tub our hardworking maintenance personnel do their best to ensure the pool and hot tub is working your complaint will be forwarded to... More 

Mackinaw City, Michigan
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Before you stay here, ask yourself one simple question: How absolutely low can my standards get? We booked a beachside room, and upon arrival found that we were staying in the single level row of rooms running perpendicular to the beachside one. The room (108) absolutely reeked of some strange, untraceable scent, that permeated every facet of the room. Everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank magjung
Management response:

Dear guest, We are so shocked and sorry to read your review. Unfortunately, we are seeing where did in fact not book a lakefront room you instead booked a room on the courtside. We will definitely pass on your experiences to our housekeepers. We at the Fairview have a promise of clean rooms for an affordable rate having said that... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had to load and unload 3 strollers every time we walked somewhere. The rooms were old, the carpet was soaked from a leaky A/C and the breakfast was at another hotel. They have no laundry area but told us to walk over to the neighboring hotel to use theirs. Inconvenient all around! I would pay double for a newer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Schmeltz84
Management response:

Dear guest, We must apologize for inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. Our rooms have been newly refurbished and thus we have no leaky air conditioners. If you had brought to the attention of the front desk your difficulties they would try their best to assist you in getting you a lakefront on a lower floor. Again we have... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I dont know whats wrong with these naysayers I think some ppl want to pay rock bottom prices for the ritz this hotel is a clean cost affordable hotel. I would like to thank lance, melisa, heather, krissy at the front desk. Also thanks to helen,and nadia and denisha my housekeepers. You guys made my stay see you soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank tommalexander
Management response:

Dear guest, Its a breath of fresh air to read your review. We will ensure all employees mentioned gets your kind regards. We at the Fairview provide clean rooms for rock bottom prices and thus we appreciate your understanding of this fact. See you soon More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Don't stay here! Our room was outdated and gross! Upon opening the door my husband noted the flea powder on the nasty carpets. They say they have breakfast, but you have to walk next door hotel. Apparently, the "water park" is really a few hotels down and the splash pad is here. The pool is also disgusting. It hasn't been... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyOf4Wsctt
Management response:

Dear guest, We are quite shocked by your review and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. As most households do and hotel as well we do use carpet cleaner when cleaning rooms we apologize that you saw a little bit on the carpet. We at the Fairview do not have fleas thus we have no reason to be using flea... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

Looks nice on the outside but trust that it's not...water in room barely warm enough to shower, carpet turns feet black on bottom because they sweep the rooms with a broom and never vacuum, beds seem like economy matresses, wallpaper peeling badly in bathroom, pool steps are round like a mushroom top almost killed myself getting in. I don't know... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam S
Management response:

Dear guest, We must apologize for the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. We take pride in presenting to guest clean rooms however we must bring your comments to housekeeping so improvements can be made. We did wish you would have reported the issues you experienced to the front desk for them to remedy this. In regards to you... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

As I'm reading reviews, I can't believe this is the same Fairview. My family and I stayed for five nights and were very pleased. Krissy and Heather at the front desk were very friendly ! The hotel is very clean and taken care of very nicely. Breakfast was great every morning, eggs and waffles were filling. This seemed to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank dontte
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for the great review. We do appreciate that the hotel met your expectation of value for the price. We try as best possible to provide clean and affordable accommodation. We will pass your sentiments to the staff members mentioned. Thank you again for choosing Fairview we hope to host you again in the future. More 

Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

I was shocked and appalled by the sarcasm and inflammatory manner of a front desk representative by the name of Terry. He claimed that the general manager's name was "a secret", refused to share information so that I could express a concern to them, kept referring me out to a customer service third-party Hotline, multiple times in the conversation when... More 

Helpful?
Thank HollyLig
Management response:

Dear guest, We must apologize for the inconvenience of being charged for a past cancel. Unfortunately, as per company protocol you have before noon 72 hours to cancel. If you are past cancel there is nothing we can do to assist you any refunds as we were holding the room for several days turning away business in preparation for your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#25 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark

Address: 907 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500 (Formerly Aqua Grand Inn & Waterpark)
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range: $63 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Beachfront Inn And Waterpark
Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark Hotel Mackinaw City
Aqua Grand Hotel Waterpark
Aqua Grand Motel Waterpark
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay