We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mackinaw Mill Creek Campground

Overview
9730 US Hwy 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9722 See on map
AMENITIES
Internet
Free Parking
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Pets Allowed
2.5 Star accommodation
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Beachfront
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Heated pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Family Rooms
Number of rooms
675
Also Known As
Mackinaw Mill Creek Campground Hotel Mackinaw City
Location
United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 nearby hotels
The Shores At Mackinaw
22 reviews
1.34 miles away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
1,195 reviews
1.91 miles away
Sunrise Beach Motel
83 reviews
1.99 miles away
Bridge View Motel & Condos
53 reviews
2.04 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 56 nearby restaurants
Mackinaw Bakery & Coffeehouse
238 reviews
2.88 miles away
Key Hole Bar
1,035 reviews
2.89 miles away
Murdick's Fudge
139 reviews
2.76 miles away
Biere De Mac Brew Works
172 reviews
2.38 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 54 nearby attractions
Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry
2,449 reviews
2.75 miles away
Historic Mill Creek Discovery Park
336 reviews
1.02 miles away
Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry
1,386 reviews
2.49 miles away
Shepler's Lighthouse Cruises
106 reviews
2.85 miles away
Reviews & more
449Reviews
290Photos
8Q+A
73Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 204
  • 135
  • 53
  • 24
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
We had a full hook up site (lake side) of the Mackinaw Bridge which was wonderful to see even the lights on in the evening. Several sites has full row of tall narrow trees on both side of the camper which make like a private space. The weather was on the chilly side and windy whi
Read more
Came here last year and had a beautiful site with lake view and plenty of room. Came back this year because we had a great experience last year——well not so this time!
Asked to be back a little from the lake as they were predicted to have winds in the 20 mph and if you have bee
Read more
Response from Frank R, Owner at Mackinaw Mill Creek Campground
Responded Oct 13, 2018
We always want you to let us know if you don't like your site. I hope you asked the office for a different site if you were not happy. This time of year we have little time (not to mention it can be quite unpredictable) before it gets freezing -- to close down the camp. For this reason, we do it in sections. In full hookups, each trap at each site has to be pumped out and refilled with antifreeze, etc. Your complaint is not uncommon at this time of year, which makes me think we need to do a better job of explaining why we have to start shutting down sections of the camp in October. I understand it could be frustrating to see open sites (what you can't see is their water, electric, etc. turned off) when you are camped in a site you don't like.
Read more
This facility is very discriminatory and even though I was eleventh in line to get my Labor Day 2019 reservations, I was denied the first two selections (this is the 3rd year I have been denied...and I've been coming to Mac Mill Creek for over 20 years). This time I was told that
Read more
Response from Frank R, Owner at Mackinaw Mill Creek Campground
Responded Oct 4, 2018
We never want our guests, especially long-time customers disappointed. I can only imagine after getting there early and standing in line -- how disappointed you must have been. Unfortunately, you misunderstood a policy we have had since my mother and father started the park in 1964. Perhaps a staff member failed to mention or did not make a big enough point of the fact that along with time stamping, we also have other criteria (our staff are merely human - they work very hard and we do our best but there may be inefficiencies). It would be much easier to just make it a first come first serve basis for our busiest weekend (trust me we would all love that simplicity), however, my mother would give preference for long-time customers, and groups first and then assign on a first come first serve basis after they were situated. Everything we do here, from the computerization to modernization of facilities we do through the lens of the advice and methods that my parents handed down. In your case, you requested sites in the middle of a group that has been coming for decades. On Labor Day weekend this town of 600 people has an extra 60,000 folks - that is an extreme situation and everyone does their best to cooperate, work together and make it work. A lot of those Labor Day groups/families have been coming for generations. In your case, we were able to grant you your third choice of sites. That did not meet your expectations and upset you. Obviously, from our wonderful ratings and the amazing number of return campers, our campground is not the mess you describe. I understand your exaggeration as an aggressive expression of your anger and hurt feelings. We work very hard year round to improve what we do from the ground up and to avoid these kinds of situations. We had hoped to do it this year but realized it was not enough time to let everyone know -- but in 2019 we are working on ways to avoid the inconvenience of making our campers line up to reserve sites for Labor day 2020. Still working out the details. We want to make sure it will work for everyone, so no promises yet, but we are hopeful to have a new system in place by this Labor Day.
Read more
The camp is beautiful and for the most part well managed. It has a fantastic location with a nice view of the bridge. We have stayed here on and off for the past 8 years, some better than others. If you have a large RV, plan well in advance. Drive-through sites are very limited,
Read more
Response from Frank R, Owner at Mackinaw Mill Creek Campground
Responded Oct 4, 2018
Great advice! If you ever have a disruptive neighbor, be sure to let us know! Thanks for choosing us! We work hard every day to make our campground a great place for everyone.
Read more
+6
I made a mistake when I made my reservation online and reserved a spot for RVs. Which was ok becasue I had only a few neighbors spaced out. I was in the middle so it was a easy walk to the restrooms and store and the other way to the beach with the view of the bridge. Walked arou
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
kitchenette
The view right out our front door of the campsite! Amazing!
6 bed cabin
View from campsite
View from campsite
Previous
Are we able to purchase fire wood after labor day?
yes
0 votes
Are there any Barbeque pits? Or is it strictly fire pits offered at the campground?
Sorry for the late answer - not used to this new feature on TA. There are only BBQ grills at cabins. Firepits at most campsites. Those that don't have permanent firepit rings (mostly small sites) you can use a firepan or your own container. If you have a grill it could be set over a firepit.
0 votes
Show all answers
Which is better location, cabins with bridgeview or lakeview? Which has a better view of sunrise or sunset?I have 4 kids ranging from 5-12 yrs old....thanks!
The cabins that are bridge view if they are near the fire pit and water are great. I’d suggest a sunset tour on the water by boat too. Ugly Anne boat tour was great for this.
1 vote
Show all answers
We wanted to know about the WIFI in this campground. Did you like it was it adequate?
There is unlimited wifi at the campstore. Otherwise you have to pay. They will give you "free hour" before you pay to make sure you can even connect to the wifi at your campsite before you buy. We opted to not pay and used our data.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there room on the tent sites for a canopy/screen house in addition to a tent?
Sorry for my late reply. The sites vary in size, so make sure to let the staff know how much room you need. Supersaver sites generally are smaller and located a bit further from facilities (although some are quite spacious). We actually name the sites that are "Small" or "narrow" with those words in the description. The smallest sites are generally 25 by 50 foot. Some may be a bit smaller, many are larger. "Large" sites are generally 50 x 50 or 40 x 60 (somewhere in that range of square feet).
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
12
"Plan well in advance."
"Look for lake view for cabins. RV spots were plenty but quite close together"
"Get a site along teh beach - worth the extra cash!!"
"Make sure you look at the map when booking to get an idea of the area you will be staying in. This place is huge!"
"go for the bridge-view sites."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing