We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Riviera Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Riviera Motel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a great spot to spend a night or more. It is right by the bridge.. Great spot to see the bridge lit up at night. The pool was very nice. No breakfast just some coffee, no decaf. They did have decaf tea however. We walled every where. It was so close to all we wanted to do. Right... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Older motel, fantastic location, super clean, good rates. Owners are super friendly, as are housekeeping. Parks on either side, beach is right out front. I could see the bridge out one window, and Mackinac Island out the other. I will be back!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Marietta D, Owner at Riviera Motel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed our facilities and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Level Contributor
80 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's really nice having the bridge right out in front of you and a lighthouse sitting next-door but if it wasn't for that this motel might suffer without doing some upgrades. The owners are very nice and do a good job keeping this motel quiet and clean.

Helpful?
Thank Steve E
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect location. On the water with a beautiful view of the bridge; park and walking trail nearby. Close to shops and restaurants. Clean, adequate room. Poor wifi, but not a deal breaker for us. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank VADeels
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The front desk person was very nice and helpful with trip tips, restaurants, coupons, etc. The view and location were perfect. The room was like walking into the 1960's. Though it was clean, the decor hasn't been changed in decades. The beds were hard as a rock, they weren't even comfortable to sit on. The bedspread was clean, but old.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
Marietta D, Owner at Riviera Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didn't feel comfortable with your stay. However, we have brad new carpeting in all of our rooms and it is not indoor/outdoor carpeting. We have installed a commercial grade carpeting . The tv's are new and the hotel size found in several chain hotels. We are sorry that you found our facility lacking and wish... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We chose this hotel as the stop right before going on to Mackinac Island. Location is perfect, very close to downtown Mackinaw City and Shepler's Ferry. The owners were very kind and accommodating. I would stay here again if my travels take me to Mackinac again.

Helpful?
Thank BendaFamily
Marietta D, Owner at Riviera Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope to see you again. Thank-you for staying with us. More 

office
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Old motel, very small rooms. Room was very clean, small bed, the smallest shower I have ever seen. Indoor pool, outdoor hot tub, ourtdoor childrens play area. As we only spent one night, it was fine for us. The front desk person could have been more pleasant.

Helpful?
2 Thank 1cabin
Marietta D, Owner at Riviera Motel, responded to this review

You must have met this review for a different motel. We do not have cabins, an indoor pool, or hot tubs. As far as a play area for children, we have over 1200 feet of beech for children to run and enjoy nature. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

The people were great! But honestly the beds were very uncomfortable and every time someone turned the water on in the next room the shower went freezing cold. I could get past the old furnishings because the room was very clean, and the linens smelled very fresh. A good budget motel but needs a few upgrades in my opinion.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016

I stayed here on a recent weekend trip. The room was simple, nothing fancy, but was perfect for us--impeccably clean, quiet at night, comfortable bed etc. And moreover, the location of the motel is awesome. It has an amazing view of the straits and the bridge, and is right next to little Alexander Henry Park (very nice if you want... More 

Helpful?
Thank EA906
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

Spectacular view of the bridge. Rooms were small and outdated, but clean. The couple running the motel were very friendly and helpful. They gave us tips on visiting Mackinaw Island, directions for a scenic tour and called a shuttle for us to get to the ferry. I would highly recommend the shuttle to Shepplers ferry, too convenient not to take... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shayne D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.3 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the shadow of the Mackinaw Bridge, the Riviera Motel has comfortable, clean, affordable rooms with a one-in-a-million view of the Mackinac Bridge. And with everything Mackinaw City and Mackinac Island have to offer just steps from your room, a lazy stroll will get you to all the major attractions. The Riviera is also surrounded by state parks, so going on a picnic is as easy as saying, "Peanut butter and jelly!" You can enjoy all kinds of outdoor activities including flying kites, skipping rocks, walking on the beach or just enjoying the view. Family-owned and operated, your friendly hosts and their staff are always willing to recommend a good restaurant, call a shuttle or just chat while you enjoy your complimentary cup of morning coffee, tea or hot chocolate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riviera Motel

Address: 520 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range: $74 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Riviera Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay