We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pontiac Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Pontiac Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in room #21. The location was literally steps away from Shepler's Ferry. The staff was welcoming and professional - held our bags and text us when the room was ready. The room was updated and clean, view was great. Loved Pontiac Lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moex0001
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Pontiac Lodge, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Pontiac Lodge. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again on your next trip to Mackinac Island!

Albany, Oregon
Reviewed July 17, 2016

We stayed here one night while waiting for our room elsewhere! We were so impressed by the crisp and clean feel of our room! I LOVED the décor and my gosh for the money!?! We would absolutely stay here again! There was a large counter top area, fridge, microwave, nice size bathroom. Just a perfect room!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silverchick_96
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Pontiac Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Pontiac Lodge! We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit. Please come back and see us again on your next trip to Mackinac Island!

South Bend, Indiana
Reviewed June 18, 2016

We got to the island before check in but the office held our luggage and than called us when our rooms were ready. The rooms were not only beautiful they were very comfortable and spacious. If we ever get back to the island will definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janie H
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Pontiac Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Pontiac Lodge! We are so happy to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the island!

Wisconsin
Reviewed June 9, 2016

Stayed in Room 20 directly above shop that blasted awful "head banging" noise. Staff addressed and it was turned down a little. Thankfully it wasn't playing all night or early morning. We visit the Island to hear horses hooves clomping by or just some peace and quiet. Room was otherwise nice with comfy beds and very clean. Toilet area and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravelingTerry50
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Pontiac Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations, the comfort and cleanliness, etc., however we are sorry to hear that music disturbed your vacation. Our goal is for every guest to have the very best experience. We are in contact with other tenants in the building - working in cooperation to...

Hamburg, New York
Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

So disappointed! Our room (24), is apparently directly above one of the souvenir stores that blasts thumping, bass-driven music from opening until close. So much for peace and quiet. Came back to room yesterday for a siesta and the constant booming "music" made that impossible. Room would be perfect if it weren't for this window-rattling noise that is disrupting an...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LynnW2
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Pontiac Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your room. We are unhappy to hear that your vacation was disrupted. Our goal is for every guest to have the very best experience. We are in contact with other tenants in the building - working in cooperation to resolve this issue.

Reviewed February 23, 2016

My wife and I had planned to stay for three nights, but we were having such a wonderful time, we ended up staying for a fourth night. The hotel was clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. Winter is a great time to be on Mackinac Island; the scenery was beautiful, the pace was slower than in summer and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Alan S, Guest Relations Manager at Pontiac Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us at the Pontiac Lodge! Winter is a special time of the year to visit Mackinac Island - it's almost like having the island all to yourself. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we...

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed January 20, 2016

It's pretty much the only place open in the winter to stay, but that's okay. We got on the island pretty early and they let us leave our bags while we hiked around in the snow. We were also catching a late boat and they were very accommodating. The only down side is the room was kind of noisy from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amyadamy
Alan S, Guest Relations Manager at Pontiac Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Pontiac Lodge! Wintertime on Mackinac is very peaceful and it's fun to hike around in the snow and explore the island! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and we hope to see you again on your next visit!

Port Allen, Louisiana
Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and were pleased with the experience. I had read the reviews about noise so was a little nervous, but we had no issues. We stayed in room 29 which doesn't have a window but does have a skylight that lets in plenty of light. The furnishings aren't exotic or extravagant, but we don't spend a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duane S
Alan S, Guest Relations Manager at Pontiac Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the location of the Pontiac Lodge and your accommodations. Mackinac Island has a magic all it's own in the wintertime - glad that you made the trip over and enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again on your next visit!

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed November 11, 2015

We stayed at the Pontiac Lodge on Mackinac Island on October 30, 2016. Almost every other hotel and shop on the island had closed for the season already. We were not sure what to expect, but the Pontiac Lodge was a nice little surprise! The rooms look like they have been recently redone, and are spotless. Location was great, overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irishayes
Alan S, Guest Relations Manager at Pontiac Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and liked the location of the Pontiac Lodge - in the heart of downtown close to shops, restaurants, ferry docks and attractions. Our goal is for our guests to have a wonderful time while visiting the island by providing great service and clean...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed October 29, 2015

There are 11 very nice rooms in this hotel. The result is that it is more like your home than a hotel room, since there isn't really a reception area. You collect your key from an office on the street right below the stairs to the rooms, which are all on the second floor and above shops on main street....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean P
Alan S, Guest Relations Manager at Pontiac Lodge, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the convenient location of the Pontiac Lodge - in the heart of downtown close to shops, restaurants, ferry docks and attractions! We do like our guests to feel right at home while staying with us and we look forward to seeing them on return visits to the island. Thank...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
2,380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pontiac Lodge is a an intimate boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Mackinac Island. Offering suites, king rooms with Jacuzzi tubs, and rooms with one or two queen beds. Most of our rooms feature wet-bars,small refrigerators and microwave ovens. We are located above the specialty shops on Main Street and are only accessible by stairway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pontiac Lodge

Address: 1376 Hoban St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5151
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Price Range: $50 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Pontiac Hotel Mackinac Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Pontiac Lodge staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pontiac Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The website gives descriptions of each room. #24 is great for a couple.”
 of 5 bubbles joy70x7, Jan 19, 2017 | Read review
“They offer WiFi but doesn't work so well.”
 of 5 bubbles LovingLife210, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“Look at the room allocations in the building on line to decide the room best suited for you.”
 of 5 bubbles lbrackell, Sep 15, 2016 | Read review
“Each room is different--including price--so look them over in choosing”
 of 5 bubbles Oakparker300, Sep 7, 2016 | Read review
“Room 21 had a nice view of main street.”
 of 5 bubbles RunSeattle, Sep 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question