We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Island House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Island House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Island House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 532: English reviews
Westcentral Indiana
Reviewed October 6, 2016

Bought a Groupon for my two day stay. When I got there and found mouse droppings between the pillows I tried to get my money back. Rudely told that I couldn't get my money back without a 5 day notice. We left anyway. Air conditioner was so loud you couldn't hear the TV. Broken lamp, Keys wouldn't open the door,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iqlr
alansehoyan, General Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Your issue is with Groupon, not this hotel, your deposit money was with Groupon, therefore I could not refund your money because we didn’t have it. I tried to explain this to you over the phone, and I suggested that you contact Groupon for your refund. You stated that you booked two hotels for the same two nights by accident,...

Round Rock, Texas
Reviewed October 5, 2016

We were part of a group in September during the low season. All of the rooms on the back (3rd floor) are dumpy, not charming and need refurbishing! The Maitre D of the restaurant is great; wonderful white fish on a plank and pumpkin ice cream. The staff is excellent! My suggestion is to upgrade to a premium room and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marina R
alansehoyan, General Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Island House Hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and your meal in the 1852 Grill Room. We are committed to continuous improvement are and actually have several of our premium guest rooms scheduled for renovation this winter. We hope you will come stay with us again soon.

Greencastle, Indiana
Reviewed September 29, 2016

The Island House Hotel is an historic landmark with a great location overlooking the bay. It's an attractive hotel with rocking chairs on the porch and fire pits on the front lawn. The rooms are clean but small. Ours had a full size bed and a couch that needed replaced. We stayed on the 4th floor which is accessed by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve t
alansehoyan, General Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Island House Hotel, I am pleased you enjoyed our historic hotel. I am concerned that your departure did meet your expectations. The first ferry boat of the day leaves Mackinac Island at 8:00a.m., and our porter arrives at 7:00a.m to assist guests with their luggage. Our front desk clerk should informed you that...

Marshfield, Wisconsin
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Spent 3 days at the Island House. This was our third visit to the hotel. The room was very pretty and cozy. The hotel is just across from the marina. Views from the front lawn and porch are wonderful. The porch was a great place to sit and enjoy a drink, read a book or just people watch. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
alansehoyan, General Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Island House Hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is unfortunate that your experience in the dining room did not meet your expectations. We continually strive to maintain impeccable customer service and in a rare occasion we fail to meet that goal. We will use you feedback to help...

Livonia, Michigan
Reviewed September 25, 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights in late September. Service at the Reception Desk and Bell Captain were excellent. Our room was on the first floor with a king bed and was rather small but cozy and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was quiet. Shower was hot and water pressure was good. As everyone else...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank luckysandy21
alansehoyan, General Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Island House Hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible "Mackinac Island" experience during their stay. We hope you will return and stay with us again next season.

Mt. Athos Peninsula, Greece
Reviewed September 23, 2016

Island House is a beautiful old hotel on Mackinac Island. I had a single room that was small and cozy and very clean. The furniture was kind of old as well as the bathroom. The lobby is very charming and the front porch is lined with rocking chairs with an outstanding view. The dining room is lovely with great views....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amisselli
alansehoyan, General Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the island House Hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Colorado
Reviewed September 19, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Service was always on the spot, room was amazing for an older building. The front porch was so relaxing and the smores each evening was a very cool touch. The breakfast each morning was always on the spot, very delicious and served with a view to behold. We didnt want to leave. The bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roadtripcrazy
alansehoyan, General Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Island House Hotel we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel provides the perfect island vacation experience and we hope you will return soon.

Pittsburgh
Reviewed September 16, 2016

We had the room on the second floor, front left of hotel as your facing it. The room had 3 front windows which gave a water view even when laying in bed. Beautifully decorated with yellow and white coordinating drapes, bedspreads, and wallpaper. Large room with table and chairs, 2 queen beds, armoire with coffee maker inside. Very nice. Dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Froggy2
alansehoyan, General Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Island House Hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon.

Fenton, Michigan
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

Maybe it's because I've stayed elsewhere in the island, but I wouldn't stay here if other options were available. Paint and wallpaper was peeling off of the walls. Could hear everything going on in the hallways, talking and walking. Food was subpar and more like cafeteria food. Walkway to the pool was questionable - smelt like rotting food in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelby1284
alansehoyan, General Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Island House Hotel, we are concerned that your stay was not the best that you had on the island in the past. We have noted your concerns and have taken steps to address each one. We hope that you will return and give us another chance to make your stay a memorable one.

Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

Not worth the price to stay. Everything in this hotel is old. It need a lot of improvement. It look good in front and on the advertisement.Noise all over. You could even hear the next room's snoring all night long. What a nightmare.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosalie S
alansehoyan, General Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your review of the Island House Hotel, we are concerned that you did not enjoy your stay. Many hotels on Mackinac Island are over 100 years old and the Island House is actually on the Nation Register of Historic Places. Mackinac Island is a historic destination, and may not appeal to all travelers.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

247 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (227)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
2,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With over 150 years of experience offering exquisite hospitality, the Island House Hotel welcomes visitors and guests to this State of Michigan Historic Landmark. Overlooking the shores of beautiful Lake Huron, the Island House Hotel offers guests comfortable and modern accommodations. Recommended by AAA, Island House is the only hotel on Mackinac Island that is located within the pristine boundaries of the Mackinac Island State Park. All of our rooms have air-conditioning available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 1410, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-1410
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Price Range: $139 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Island House Hotel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Island House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Call ahead to make sure you get the room you think you booked...”
 of 5 bubbles JallyGal, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Front facing rooms have great views, but we had a suite in the back...larger, great for families.”
  • View of Mackinac Harbor from Fort Mackinac - beautiful, idyllic.
 of 5 bubbles nmtravelinggal, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Turret rooms seem to be the largest and have great views of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles BellaBenoni, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
“Our room had a view of the harbor....well worth the extra cost!”
 of 5 bubbles _gary_kilgard, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“Pick a premium room facing the water and pay more.”
 of 5 bubbles MarinaR768, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay